We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel to Tarragona!”
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Travel to Tarragona!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel was located by the Bus station the train station it's about 20minutes walk, however you will be meters away from the Ramblas, the beach isn't nearby, but at about 25minutes walk. It will be convenient for a short stay in the city, visiting and exploring the local attractions. Salou is a drive away or one stop away if you are to take the train, which do not operate regularly.
The hotel, has a rooftop terrace if you want to have seat and relax and a separate small gym and two sauna rooms. the rooms are rather small but confortable,

The hotel staff very helpful and friendly, i would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    286
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
73
270
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

- small parking
- in the morning had large car couldn't get out
- no hot water in the shower (was broken all morning until after check-out)
- front staff not too pleasant
- comfortable bed, less so pillows
- difficulty getting marriott rewards

of all hotels in a dozen days in Spain, this was easily the worst

Room Tip: Better views in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Have been here several times over the last 2 years nice clean rooms, satellite tv and comfortable beds. The hotel is in a god location and the staff are very friendly. No wifi in the rooms, however, you can get access in the lobby or the in the business centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived in Tarragona via train so had to get a taxi to and from the hotel. These are a real rip off! the hotel isnt far from the seafront yet our taxi's cost 12 euros each! The old town is about 15-20 minutes walk away but its not too bad.

However the hotel was nice and the room that we were allocated was fantastic. However there was a problem with the air-conditioning leaking on to the wooden floor and it was annoying so we informed the reception. They did resolve the issue and we moved to another room however this room was smaller and we werent offered anything in compensation for this move.

We didnt have breakfast because it was quiet expensive, but it was a nice extra to have our fridge filled with drinks every day that we were there, which included soft drinks and both still and sparkling water.

The gym on the top floor is small, and the bikes werent working, but its somewhere to do a bit of exercise if you need to. There's also a hamam spa on the top floor but you need to inform the reception first for them to put it on if you want to use it. There's free bottled water and extra towels in the gym.

There's a nice terrace just outside the gym and we took a bottle of red wine up there and some food one night.

I would go back again but get one of the bigger kingsize rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Driving in Tarragona is interesting at the best of times. However, this hotel on Avrnida Roma is really a challenge since the road ot the hotel is on a parrellel road which is extremely difficult to find the turnoff for-so ask the hotel. then you have to navigate a laberynth called a garage which Houdini himself would be pleased to park into! Having survided that test you then check in to find that you do not get Marriott points (funny no mention of this on web page).
That said its comfortable and the food in the near empt restaurant was excellentHowever, its only 5 mins walk from the coach station and much less hassle. note the ratingis for the hotel not Marriott!

Room Tip: No knowledge of better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cactus03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

It's a bit of a hike to the old town but otherwise no complaints. You get a free minibar of non alcoholic drinks and Wifi is free (but only in lobby). Hotel is clean and sound insulation is good but it lacks character, you could be anywhere. The Istanbul restaurant in the old town is worth a visit but be careful of the 10euro menus in the placa de la Font such as Sellabel, pisco labis (meat was awful).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel in April and from reading other reviews that had problems with parking we must say we had no such problem probably because of the time of the year.
The car park was not full. The hotel itself is exceptional for the price. Large spacious rooms with good facilities. There were three of us travelling and the room was spacious. Great sized towels with all the amenities. Did not have breakfast in the hotel. There is no restaurant but staff told us of a few great restaurants one being Chinese. The hotel is a fair walk to the beach but again if you are not in a hurry then a great walk. Staff members were very polite and attentive. Many other hotels in Tarragona suffer from the same problem regarding car parking. Spain is not ideal to travel with a car but we found it essential to get around. Tarragona is a great stopping off point between Valencia and Barcelona. Too good to miss.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Property: AC Hotel Tarragona
Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing