We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really luxurious hotel”
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
london
2 reviews
“Really luxurious hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2009

A brilliant hotel, very centrally located about 60 metres from the bust station.Our room was really big, free minibar,really modern decor and the bathroom was amazing with a glass sink, all for 47 euros a night. Tip do not get the train from Reus to Tarragona unless you want see the horrible area around the train station, very scary at night time.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonsvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    283
    107
    23
    13
See reviews for
71
269
27
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This was a great hotel to stay, so I'll start off by explaining with why I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 and then go on to all the good points..

- internet access is only free if you have your own laptop; use of the public access computer in the lobby is charged at 6euros per 1hr or 12euros for a consecutive 24hrs. The internet cafes I saw charged only 1euro per hour.

- the buffet breakfast is charged at 6euros per person if booked in advance or 12euros if booked after check-in, this is quite expensive compared to food prices in the local cafes. Also, for that price I would expect a cooked breakfast but the buffet is mostly continental; it serves fruits, youghurts, cereals, breads, cheeses, juices and tea/coffee.

- the room service menu is very limited and very expensive. a single dish can cost about 12euros which is the price of a full meal out in a local restaurant! the full menu, which is only about 12 items, is only available until 11pm, after 11pm there are only about 5 items available.

- the gym on the top floor is small, but the equipment was in very good condition. It consists of 1 running machine, 2 cycling machines, 1 multi-purpose weights machine, and free weights. There are 2 sauna rooms and free water, both still and sparkling.

- I found the TV in the room rather small for watching movies, about 20inches.

Now on to all the good points...

- the hotel is very clean, the rooms and linens were clean and the bathroom sparkling :)

- the bath was nice and Big and the shower was very good

- our room was on the 6th floor and the window had a view of the park which was nice

- the rooms have a free mini bar, no alcohol but we got 4 sodas, 2 still waters, 1 sparkling water, and these were replaced every day.

- the hotel is very well located, a few minutes walk to the right and you're at the Rambla, and a couple of minutes walk to the left and you're at the 'Parc Central' mall where all the modern shopping facilities and cinema are to be found.
20mins walk and you're at the train station where you can catch a train to Barcelona for 11euros, which takes just under 1h30.
2mins walk at the end of the road is the bus depot, and you can get a bus from/to the airport for only 3euros per person... if you get a taxi they charge 25euros even though it's only 15mins away from the airport!

- the service at the hotel is very good and the staff are very friendly. there is someone at reception 24hrs.

- you can have access to a safe behind the reception by leaving a 20euro cash deposit; they give you a key and you can access the safe whenever you want without having to ask the staff to do it for you. when you return the key they return your deposit.

- free daily Spanish (El Pais & El Mundo) and Catalan newspapers are available in the lobby and on each floor

My spouse and I stayed here for 4 days and we really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend it but wouldn't recommend paying in advance for the breakfast option unless you're there on business. If you're there for pleasure then I'd recommend going out for brunch to a local cafe.

Oh, and there's a good selection of cafes/bar/restaurants by the Ayuntamiento. The restaurants at the end of the Rambla right by the seafront are more touristy and therefore more pricey and the quality of food is not as good.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tourist_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We're just back from here, we stayed 3 nights over the Easter Weknd.
The Hotel was very easy to find, checkin staff very fast and friendly. We were on the 7th Floor over looking the park with a glimpse of the sea!
The location is ok, with about 15mins walk to all sites in each direction....altho we spent most time in the beautiful Old Town.
The room is standard and clean, the free drinks are a welcome and they are refilled daily.
There is 1 treadmill and 1 bike in the gym. The door to the sun terrace was locked the whole weekend, perhaps only open high summer.
My husband used the Turkish Baths each day and said they were great, you had to book at least 15mins in advance and they were booked just for your use...a nice touch.
We did have a bit of a journey getting to Tarragona itself when we landed in Reus Airport. Given that it was Good Friday it was a bank holiday and there was no direct bus to Tarragona.
A taxi costs €28, a bit steep for the 10 mins journey or you have to take the bus to Salou (€5.20 each) and get off at the train station and get the train back to Tarragona (€1.70 each) in hindsight we would have paid for the taxi as the bus leaves when there are no more passengers so we missed the train by 5mins and had an unexpected stop in Salou for 2 hrs until the next one....needless to say we got a taxi back to the airport €27!
Overall a great weekend but unless you get the weather to spend your days on the beach, 2 days is enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

What can I say, from the moment we arrived the Hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or polite, we were given a detailed map of the area and given our bearings by the lady checking us in, and (because we arrived at 10am) she took our bags into a secure room so that we could explore before check-in. The hotel itself is lovely, clean and modern, it could definitely rival a 4* London hotel! The location of the hotel is also great, it is a short walk from the centre and the old town (about 15mins down the Ramblas Nova). We also loved it because it was the same distance from the old town as it was from the port, so we could choose where to go to eat at night. The breakfast offered by the hotel was superb quality and a real feast was offered every day, cereals, toast, different hams, cheese, fruit…and cake…it was just delicious! We felt very safe walking round, and really liked how much of a family feel it had and what a social place Tarragona was. We stayed in room 312 for 3 nights, it was on the third floor overlooking the park behind the hotel, which was very pretty. The hotel also gave us free access to the gym and Turkish baths and with a free soft drinks mini-bar in the room we really couldn't have asked for more from a hotel.

We had a guide book which contained lots of useful phrases, which was really helpful, most Catalan’s speak English but we really liked the fact that we could make a small effort to converse. The guide book also made us aware of the “menu del dia” or “menu of the day” which is essentially a set menu of between 3 and 4 courses, with two or three choices for each course, all for a price of around 14 euros per person including bread and wine – which we thought was great. We did struggle to find places serving food on the Sunday night and ended up paying £70 for a meal (the total we’d paid for the two previous nights together!). All in all a great break.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Husa Imperial Tarraco
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sant Jordi
Hotel Sant Jordi
#2 of 20 in Tarragona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Property: AC Hotel Tarragona
Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing