We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, big rooms with extremely large comfortable beds”
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Tarragona was a blast. The ruins are spectacular, the restaurants are wonderful, and the port is quite nice. The hotel is outside of the "old" city, which is either a plus or a minus. but we like to walk so it was perfect for us. My boyfriend is 6'4, so the king size (not double) comfy beds were very much appreciated. The staff all spoke great english and were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

Spent a few nights at the AC Hotel Tarragona, booked it after the positive reviews on tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed! The rooms, were nice, clean and the free mineral water and soft drinks in the minibar were really a nice touch in the afternoons. Housekeeping was efficient. The front desk most helpful and friendly: we were actually provided with a small complimentary breakfast opportunity (coffee, juice and croissants) on the occasion of having to leave the hotel prior to breakfast time. The full breakfast, although not included in the room price, left nothing to be desired - great coffee, fresh juice, fruits, cuts, cheese, pastries and bread. The general location of the hotel, although urban and not-too eye-appealing, was safe and clean. The rooms lack a personal safe, but I did not feel worried any moment. The rooms on the side of the avenue suffer from some traffic noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awesome_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Have just stayed five nights here, very close to bus station and shopping mall, but a bit out for the old town and seafront. check in very good, room excellent, had sofa and coffee table, huge bed (I think we must have been upgraded judging by other peoples remarks!!) mini bar nice touch, a safe would have been appreciated in a hotel of this standard, cold buffet breakfast was fine, although a bit pricey at 12E. I agreed with another comment, very difficult to find any restaurants locally and ALL were shut till 8-8.30 when they reopened, but we found it a bit late to eat, time you finished it was gone 10. (beware most menu's are not in English) otherwise we enjoyed the city and the hotel, although the room rates seem to vary enormously from day to day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wafarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here for one night after getting a flight into Reus with Ryanair. Its reasonably central, you can get into the mix in 10-15 mins walk, and the rooms were clean and well equipped. Free mini-bar is a nice touch. If you're parking, don't take a stretch limo......its tight!..so tight they've put foam on the walls!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights for my partner`s birthday. The hotel was excellent. Modern and spacious with good quality fittings. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly. Free soft drinks minibar in the room was a big plus. Very good location for exploring Tarragona on foot. Also, 2 minutes from the bus station for catching the bus back to the airport. 3 euros as opposed to 30 for a taxi! The Santa Tecla festival was on while we were there, so lots of partying going on. Lots of fun.

Only downside to the trip was that the bus didn`t turn up from the airport (Reus) to Tarragona so had to catch a bus to Reus bus station then wait an hour for a bus to Tarragona.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Just arrived back from a three day trip to Tarragona.
Hotel was reasonably priced with a good breakfast. Room was of a good size with a nice bathroom. However we were in a twin room , five floors up but even with the window closed, I could hear traffic all night. Also the location of the hotel is such that you have to walk about 20 minutes to get into the old town. There are no restaurants close by and in fact Tarragona itself is sadly lacking in restaurants. Staff at hotel are very pleasant but would not return to Tarragon again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Once again, excellent value at an AC hotel. Rooms a little small but for £60 pn (via internet) really good value, inc. (limited) free mini-bar! 10 min walk into centre of city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing