We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalunya Express”
Review of Catalunya Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalunya Express
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is situated close to the train station and 5-10 minutes walk to the beach. We spent one night in this hotel in July, the room was very small and clean. The breakfast was very good. It was very noisy that night but this is absolutely normal for Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilicaDejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is close to the train station. Be aware that there is no elevator, and all rooms are on the second level. So if you have mobility issues or may have trouble carrying heavy suitcases up the stairs, find a different hotel. The room I had was very basic. It has been reported that the hotel has been recently remodeled. It seems they focused more on showing things like the "wavy" mirrors you see in some pics than on fixing basic functional problems. The bathrooms are small, and awkwardly configured. As has been reported by another, the shower stall involves a very high step up from the floor level. In my shower, the bracket that holds the "handheld" shower nozzle was broken, so you really did have to keep the shower nozzle in your hand the whole time. The floor included a poorly placed door stop right in your way in front of the toilet. Another reviewer complained about a lack of heat in cold weather. Well it seems that there is no modern thermostat for the heating system. You must adjust a knob on the old-style radiator to turn on the heat (wish they had mentioned that to me at the front desk!) If your goal is to enjoy sights in Tarragona (which is a GREAT town!) I would not recommend this hotel at all, as it is very inconvenient with regard to attractions. If you are just passing through and need close access to the train... well... there are drawbacks to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Three nights at the Catalunya Express allowed us enough time to explore Tarragona and Salou. As others have said, the hotel is two blocks from the train station and a short walk to city centre, but people with mobility problems may have difficulty navigating to Las Ramblas due to the steady climb and narrow sidewalks. The hotel was undergoing a paint upgrade during our stay so the lobby and corridor walls were fresh and clean. Reception was expecting us, a good sign, and quickly checked us into a small room with an extremely tiny bathroom. A polite request for a larger room, one that better resembled those shown on the internet, was granted. The small television worked fine but there were no English channels - just a comment, not a complaint. Bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The shower stood off the floor about twelve inches and was completely enclosed by two narrow sliding doors - no problem for us but elderly or handicapped folks might have a hard time stepping up into and down from the shower because there was no handrail. We chose the Easy Breakfast plan and were glad we did. Plenty of fresh bread and buns, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee - a good start to the day and available until 11:30am. Internet in our room was down one day but they may have been working on the router; in any case internet was always available in the lounge. The first night we left our window open a couple of inches and admit that the street noise kept us awake. After that we slept with the window closed. Even though the hotel is so close to the station, we never heard any noise from trains. The Catalunya Express is a solid two star hotel in a beautiful city - Tarragona, with its Roman and medieval history, incredible sea views, great transportation links, delightful side streets, quaint outdoor cafes and dozens of restaurants - it's the destination dreams are made of!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and maybe they will have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Reading the description one would expect a rather well placed, rather close both to the center and beach, reasonable hotel.
Reality is : in a poor, rather worn down area, to say it nicely, far from the center and far from the beach - there is a railway in between, and the center one has to climb stairs for 15 minutes.
"Garage" is public garage of the feria building, expensive and far, specially to go there by car from the hotel. The city Tarragona is a miracle, beautifull and full of history, just discover it from a different hotel for your own sake. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_Schwyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are on the road the location close to the train station is helpful. Basic, standard accommodation, clean, everything worked. Staff was competent. I thought it was priced too high for what you get but other than that I was satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here in February for a night. The receptionist was fantastic, she was really helpful. The breakfast was good too.
The room however was really not good. We were cold (even with extra blankets), we seemed to have a shower curtain for our window curtain and there wasn't any sound proofing, we could hear them sleeping/chatting/watching TV til 3am next door. For 1 night, it wasn't worth complaining for us - they may have been able to give us a better room if we needed, I can't say.
Its cheap and if you need a place to sleep for the night, its easy to find. If you're on vacation though, there are a few nicer places around for not very much more money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerFromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2012, rooms were clean but small and basic, staff were very friendly & helpful, beech is about a 10 min walk away city centre is 6 min walk away up hill which in 38 deg heat can be a challenge, there are some escalators which when working cut out all the hard work. The hotel seems to occupy the 1st floor of an apartment block breakfast was ok usual selection of sliced cheese ham and salami cerial and pastrys. Would I stay here again yes if it was just a few days. Would struggle in the small rooms if it was a 2 week holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalunya Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalunya Express

Address: General Contreras 16, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tarragona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalunya Express 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalunya Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalunya Express Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing