We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Placa de la Font
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great little hotel with room on top floor overlooking the square. Stayed for 3 nights - 2 adults and a 12yr old. Would have preferred room to be slightly larger, but was ok for the time we were there and I would recommend getting a top floor room with a view of the square as other reviewers have commented. We were concerned that the noise from the Placa would keep us awake, but despite me being a light sleeper the double glazing works really well and I didn't have any trouble sleeping - maybe some of the other reviewers kept the windows open all night, which is not necessary with the air con.

We spent 2 days at Port Aventura (water & theme park) using Tarragona as a base as it is only approx a 20min drive to the Park (or there is a train directly to the park). Tarragona itself is a lovely place to stay with all of the main historical sites within easy walking distance from the hotel (including the beach).

We found ourselves eating in one of the numerous restaurants directly under our window each night. Parking is approx Euro 13/day with the hotel discount and the parking garage is directly under the square... be aware that the streets are VERY narrow getting to the square and the car park is VERY tight... don't rent a large car!! We had a Ford C-Max and managed to avoid any scrapes... but it was close a few times!

Room Tip: Top floor with view of square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFamilyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel Placa de la Font was the ideal location for our 3 night visit to Tarragona. Its on the corner of one of the most atmosphric, bustling and entertaining squares in the City. We requested a double room with a view as high up as possible [reduces noise when eventually you do want to sleep] and were given 503; perfect. Very clean, reasonably sized and with en-suite bath and shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout and although we didn't eat here - too many other choices - coffee was good. Room Only bill for three nights in July booked a fortnight in advance was 228 euros all in.
You can wander to most parts of the old town and Roman sites from here in 10 - 15 minutes and we didn't need much more to entertain us on our short visit. Be sure to visit Pretori Circ which was the highlight of our wander around the Roman sights. [You can buy a 6 site ticket for about 12 euros].
The port is worth a trip [30 minute walk]. We had a long late lunch there at La Puda which has a selection of fixed menu's and is highly recommended for atmosphere, value and authenticity. In the adjacent restaurants you can check out the kitchens.

Room Tip: Front overlooking square; higher floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarnPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Tricky to find - look up the route to Placa del la Font underground parking on StreetView and it's straightforward enough and you surface literally outside the hotel door. First impression pleasant small hotel in nice location overlooking the square and very central in this attractive, compact and historic city for our one night stopover. We upgraded to get the view of the square but this was a mistake - After we went to bed the loud chatter and laughter from the many restaurants in the square went on until 4am, following which the guy who collects glass for recycling (you know the one - he visits every hotel you stay in at around 5am and wakes you with the sound of crashing glass!) did his thing, then various delivery lorries all came along, so we got virtually no sleep at all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location and the hotel itself is beautiful. We had an amazing view of the square from our balcony window. I was surprised by the convenience of the parking. The entry to the garage located below the square was just in front of the hotel's front door. We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Placa de la Font!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hard to find but worth it. This hotel has not got all the frills that other hotels might offer but the position of it is excellent. We had a room with a balcony over looking the square. Everything was within walking distance and you didn't have far to stagger back after dinner and a few drinks. We found the staff pleasant, and although they didn't speak much English (after all we are in Spain) this did not cause a problem. Tarragona is lovely and the Roman ruins the best I have seen outside of Italy. Would highly recommend this no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyperkins268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

As described by many the location of this hotel is excellent and with parking at a 50% discount in front of the hotel I have no complaints. The downside was that check in was at best cursory and a "lets see how little effort I can get away with" approach. We were checked in but had to ask about the deal on parking when it was clear we had arrived by car, no information about breakfast, no offer to provide local information basically passport here's the key and that was about it. Sadly checkout, by the same person, was equally electrifying. the room was fine if a little compact for three of us and WiFi did not extend to the 4th floor. Air Con appeared to be on some sort of timer and although available for the afternoon of our arrival could not be used in the morning.
The hotel could have easily had a 5 rating for a few words and better customer service, sadly it was not to be and just shows what a difference one member of staff can make.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I'll echo the positive reviews below. Clean, well run, great location and cheap. I can't fault it. We had a quiet room facing the back, which had the unexpected pleasantness of music wafting in from the nearby academy nearby (during school hours). Steps to the central sights. We walked to and from the train and bus stations. We had a nice breakfast downstairs on several mornings, and the terrace out front was ideal for a pre-dinner glass of wine. If there's a better hotel in Tarragona, I doubt it's in the city centre.

Room Tip: Back facing room was quiet. Top floor meant we were able to see over the other rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElusiveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 20 in Tarragona
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Placa de la Font? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Placa de la Font

Address: Placa de la Font, 26, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Placa de la Font 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Placa de la Font reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placa De La Font Hotel
Hotel Placa De La Font Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing