We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly staff, location, and nice restaurant make average room worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Placa de la Font

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Placa de la Font
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff, location, and nice restaurant make average room worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

First some problems (but this review will get positive pretty soon!): the room was quite small and the view (we were non square facing at the cheaper rate) was of a back alley and some scaffolding. Three of the four major national Spanish channels (the equivalent of BBC1, BBC2 and ITV) were missing from the TV and had been replaced by fortune telling premium phoneline channels, which was bizarre and disappointing as we enjoy watching Spanish TV when we are in Spain and even for English speakers, these are the channels where you are most likely to find something familiar to watch. Finally the air con only worked for four hours at a time so if we went to sleep with it on we would wake up sweating and have to get up and reset it.

However these were our only complaints. The room was not only cleaned and made up perfectly every day by very friendly cleaning staff but our things were tidied up! The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

The hotel is located right in one of the most busy and happening squares in Tarragona, with the imposing Ayuntamiento (town hall) at one end. It's a beautiful square, entirely pedestrianised, and the whole square is packed with restaurants with large terraces extending across the square. The square is packed with visitors, including families and children, long past midnight, so feels very safe. I've never stayed in a hotel so conveniently located for where I was.

The best thing is that the hotel's own restaurant is one of those with a terrace on the square. They do a reasonably priced and nice-tasting set menu although better, home-made food can be had elsewhere for the same price all around the square and beyond (the hotel's menu was exactly the same as one we found elsewhere in a Coca Cola sponsored café type place leading us to think they buy it in frozen/chilled and re-heat). We usually ate elsewhere, but after that it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel terrace for a drink (there was a selection of very nice wines served at the perfect temperature which was not a guarantee in Spain where we kept getting served ice cold red wine!) and not have to worry about having cash as everything could be added to the hotel tab - without the disadvantage of paying hotel prices (a glass of wine was around €2). The hotel would also give us a large bottle of water for €2 on our way out for the day and add that to our tab.

The free wifi does not extend to the rooms - this was stated in our booking confirmation so we had been warned, but we had been hoping to pick up a faint signal. However, in our room we could pick up a faint signal from the Tarragona tourist wifi and used that quite effectively in our room and out and about to google local restaurants, points of interest, etc.

In short even though there were definitely some ways in which the hotel could be improved, the location made it for us. Having our base in the placa de la font was not only convenient but a delight.

A note on choosing your room: we were given the impression that all rooms had a balcony and you paid the premium for one that was square-facing. However this was not the case. The cheaper rooms do NOT have a balcony at all. In the square facing rooms, the 'balcony' is actually just a railing with the ability to open the door and look out onto the square. It is not a balcony in the traditional sense on which you can sit out and have a drink. If you are drawn to the hotel by the balcony, bear these points in mind.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank goingplaces171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    123
    49
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
140
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great little hotel with room on top floor overlooking the square. Stayed for 3 nights - 2 adults and a 12yr old. Would have preferred room to be slightly larger, but was ok for the time we were there and I would recommend getting a top floor room with a view of the square as other reviewers have commented. We were concerned that the noise from the Placa would keep us awake, but despite me being a light sleeper the double glazing works really well and I didn't have any trouble sleeping - maybe some of the other reviewers kept the windows open all night, which is not necessary with the air con.

We spent 2 days at Port Aventura (water & theme park) using Tarragona as a base as it is only approx a 20min drive to the Park (or there is a train directly to the park). Tarragona itself is a lovely place to stay with all of the main historical sites within easy walking distance from the hotel (including the beach).

We found ourselves eating in one of the numerous restaurants directly under our window each night. Parking is approx Euro 13/day with the hotel discount and the parking garage is directly under the square... be aware that the streets are VERY narrow getting to the square and the car park is VERY tight... don't rent a large car!! We had a Ford C-Max and managed to avoid any scrapes... but it was close a few times!

Room Tip: Top floor with view of square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFamilyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel Placa de la Font was the ideal location for our 3 night visit to Tarragona. Its on the corner of one of the most atmosphric, bustling and entertaining squares in the City. We requested a double room with a view as high up as possible [reduces noise when eventually you do want to sleep] and were given 503; perfect. Very clean, reasonably sized and with en-suite bath and shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout and although we didn't eat here - too many other choices - coffee was good. Room Only bill for three nights in July booked a fortnight in advance was 228 euros all in.
You can wander to most parts of the old town and Roman sites from here in 10 - 15 minutes and we didn't need much more to entertain us on our short visit. Be sure to visit Pretori Circ which was the highlight of our wander around the Roman sights. [You can buy a 6 site ticket for about 12 euros].
The port is worth a trip [30 minute walk]. We had a long late lunch there at La Puda which has a selection of fixed menu's and is highly recommended for atmosphere, value and authenticity. In the adjacent restaurants you can check out the kitchens.

Room Tip: Front overlooking square; higher floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VarnPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Tricky to find - look up the route to Placa del la Font underground parking on StreetView and it's straightforward enough and you surface literally outside the hotel door. First impression pleasant small hotel in nice location overlooking the square and very central in this attractive, compact and historic city for our one night stopover. We upgraded to get the view of the square but this was a mistake - After we went to bed the loud chatter and laughter from the many restaurants in the square went on until 4am, following which the guy who collects glass for recycling (you know the one - he visits every hotel you stay in at around 5am and wakes you with the sound of crashing glass!) did his thing, then various delivery lorries all came along, so we got virtually no sleep at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location and the hotel itself is beautiful. We had an amazing view of the square from our balcony window. I was surprised by the convenience of the parking. The entry to the garage located below the square was just in front of the hotel's front door. We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Placa de la Font!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hard to find but worth it. This hotel has not got all the frills that other hotels might offer but the position of it is excellent. We had a room with a balcony over looking the square. Everything was within walking distance and you didn't have far to stagger back after dinner and a few drinks. We found the staff pleasant, and although they didn't speak much English (after all we are in Spain) this did not cause a problem. Tarragona is lovely and the Roman ruins the best I have seen outside of Italy. Would highly recommend this no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyperkins268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manciet, france
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

As described by many the location of this hotel is excellent and with parking at a 50% discount in front of the hotel I have no complaints. The downside was that check in was at best cursory and a "lets see how little effort I can get away with" approach. We were checked in but had to ask about the deal on parking when it was clear we had arrived by car, no information about breakfast, no offer to provide local information basically passport here's the key and that was about it. Sadly checkout, by the same person, was equally electrifying. the room was fine if a little compact for three of us and WiFi did not extend to the 4th floor. Air Con appeared to be on some sort of timer and although available for the afternoon of our arrival could not be used in the morning.
The hotel could have easily had a 5 rating for a few words and better customer service, sadly it was not to be and just shows what a difference one member of staff can make.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Aparthotel
Alexandra Aparthotel
#12 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Placa de la Font? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Placa de la Font

Property: Hotel Placa de la Font
Address: Placa de la Font, 26, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Placa de la Font 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Placa de la Font reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placa De La Font Hotel
Hotel Placa De La Font Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing