We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient; no frills”
Review of Hostal Plaza Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Plaza Ruiz
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ceuta
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient; no frills”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was headed to Spain from Morocco, and decided to check out Ceuta. Most people bypass a visit here and go right to the ferry, but I found it quite interesting for a few days. As Ceuta lacks any central area, and some sections feel rather bleak, all I needed was some place that was safe and convenient. Hostal Plaza Ruiz was just fine. Note: it is on the second floor of an old building and has no lift. The staff speaks little English, so learn some Spanish. My room was small but nice, and the big bed was very comfortable. Big windows. The bathroom was small but clean. The WIFI was good. There are no dining options, but there is a nice plaza in front of the hostal with a cafe for breakfast, a bar for drinks, and down the stairs right across the street was a cafe with very good food and flat screen TVs for soccer in season! The staff was helpful in calling me a cab to the ferry. Good luck crossing the border! Take a cab after you cross into Ceuta, because you are still a fair distance from there, to the main city areas.

Room Tip: My room overlooking the plaza was not too noisy and had big windows with heavy curtains. I like a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifteenMinutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    25
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
19
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Location is good but Ceuta center is so small that all locations are good ... hostal is extremely noisy from bars in the area specially during summer when bars are open till early morning - stay elsewhere if yu want to sleep for that money

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank EVOLeuvenBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel/hostel is good for a couple of nights. We were there three nights staying on first floor next to reception. Very noisy, from reception, main door and cafe bars. Best to ask for rooms higher up, however no lift so if to tend to pack heavy not a good option as there is 4 flights of stairs to reception. Location is great in the centre of town with easy walk to bars cafes and attractions. Rooms are small but for the price.... and you get your room serviced every day!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Clean and modern, definitely more of a hotel than a hostel (my husband and I had a private double room, maybe other rooms are different). The shower was a bit oddly shaped, the back of it sloped upwards which didn’t leave a lot of space to stand in, but the water stayed hot and the pressure was fine. If stairs are an issue for you, the hostel is a few flights up (on what Americans would call the 3rd floor but others would say the 2nd) and there didn’t seem to be an elevator. We had a good wireless connection in the room. It’s in a good location, but it’s a small town, so most hotels are probably in the same area. A good, more reasonably priced option in a town where hotels seem to be fairly expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I had a reservation at HPR's sister hotel Hostal Central, made through hostelworld.

Upon arrival they told me there had been some problem with the booking but I had a room at the above which was just down the pedestrianised central street.

Once at my destination I was initially told the problem was that my card was invalid (no lo creo.) Then it transpired that it was something to do with hostelworld. They wanted me to pay the whole amount for the room even though I had paid a deposit though the site. I argued my case and they saw my point.

The man on reception most of the time was not super friendly but was pleasant and helpful.

Room was smallish. Nicely furnished. There was a tv and a fridge (no shelves and wet inside.) Doors open to a small balcony with view of the plaza below and across the strait to Gibraltar. Wifi worked ok. What has been mentioned in other reviews about paper thin walls and hearing every conversation is sadly true. This didn't bother me too much owing to sleeping with ear plugs.

Bathroom was small but modern. Shower took a while to get going but was then hot as you like.

There seemed to be some renovation work going on. It wasn't much of an inconvenience but the banging started earlier than I would have liked.

Overall I think this hotel offers good value for money (I paid €38 a night) and a good location right in the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here two nights in October. Central, handy, and clean-ish.

Because we had booked a twin, and given a double....had to have a mattress on the floor. Sleeping was problematic, not because of late night Spanish revellers, but because the thin walls allowed us to listen to a selection of TV channels without ours being on.

Claustrophobic, bare wires showing, very poor. Even the hardworking staff couldn't save it. Once the parador had a room, I was off!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceuta
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ceuta Puerta de Africa
0.0 mi away
Ulises Hotel
Ulises Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ceuta
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador de Ceuta
Parador de Ceuta
#4 of 5 in Ceuta
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Central
Hostal Central
#3 of 5 in Ceuta
45 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Fnideq
11.5 mi away
Hotel Tamuda Beach
Hotel Tamuda Beach
#5 of 15 in Tetouan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Ruiz

Property: Hostal Plaza Ruiz
Address: Plaza Teniente Ruiz 3, 51001 Ceuta, Spain
Region: Spain > Ceuta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ceuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Ruiz 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Plaza Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing