We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
20
41
13
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
41
13
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pedestrian street maria pita great location old town garage plaza marina receptionist euros city parking
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the Alboran with my wife and daughter. The price was unbelievably good value and the location is perfect, 30 seconds from the main Maria Pita Square and in the 'wine district' full of restaurants, bars etc. It's right in the centre of A Coruna with everything a walk away; the old town 5 minutes, the docks/marina 5 minutes / Riazor & Orzan beaches (amazing!) 5 mins... The train station is a bus or taxi ride away (taxi fare less than 5€ - less than 10mins by car). No eating/breakfast facilities in the hotel apart from a drinks machine - but then there are countless places close by (breakfast in most bars/cafes costs about €2.50 - €3.50).
Really spotlessly clean inside hotel & rooms.
Being in the heart of the bar area & on a narrow street does mean that some late night noise is inevitable - our room faced the street, but it was only now & then and quite tolerable! (And the street view/small balcony was worth the slight noisier location..)
My daughter's single room was a little cell-like with a window facing a tiny internal courtyard, fine for sleeping in but I wouldn't like to stay in that room too long..
My only complaint is that the hotel could do with a bit more atmosphere, it was a little soul-less. But I've got to say from my wanderings around town I couldn't see any other hostals with any more charm! So I would stay at the Alboran again! And I will definitely return to A Coruna!
Overall - a great place to stay in a fantastic city!

Room Tip: depends on what you want! if you want quiet don't take a lower level street facing room!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ok so this is not 5 stars but...the rooms are very cheap and they are clean. I think my nightly rate in July was 38 Euros...I had my own bathroom and a TV. The receptionists are very kind and helpful and allowed us to have our own breakfast in the foyer. I had no complaints really. My cousin had a room overlooking the backstreet which she said was a bit noisy. Some of the rooms have been refurbished.....check them out...the newly refurbed ones are pretty good in my opinion especially with respect to price/quality.

Room Tip: try to get a room not overlooking the street for quietness. The room on the first floor opposite the lift is great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Do you need a comfy, luxurious, spacious room with fluffy pillows and 500 thread count sheets? If so this is NOT your hotel.

If, however, you really don't care about the room itself, but are looking for a cheap room in a great, central location, then BAM! You've found it! This hostal is perfect for those who don't stay in the room for anything other than sleeping. It's about as perfect a location as you can find, right on the main pedestrian path. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful. Probably the best attribute to this hotel is the price. An individual room with private bathroom was 25 Euros. Yep, you read that right. Twenty five smackers for an individual room with private bathroom. Seriously, the best deal I've ever seen for an individual room. Is it fancy? HELL NO. It's a room, with a bed and a window and a full bathroom. What more do you need? BUT IT's CHEAP! And in a perfect location. OH! And it was pretty darned quiet, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisiroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is located right in the center of town on a street that is pedestrian only. It is just a few steps from the Plaza María Pita. On street parking anywhere in this area seems non existent. There are many underground garages all over the center but, unfortunately, they are pricey and I am pretty sure that the parking is going to cost more than the room. My single room is small, but has everything I need. The twin bed was very comfortable. The flat screen TV is quite large with a good selection of channels. There is a built in closet as well as a desk, a chair, and a mirror. The window opens into an interior shaft, so there is little noise. The bathroom is small, but the shower was satisfactory with good pressure and sufficient hot water. Wifi is free and works well. The downstairs lounge area is very modern and nicely furnished. Room cost was 22€,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alboran-direccion, Director General at Hostal Alboran, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews