We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
19
40
12
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
40
12
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian streetmaria pitagreat locationold towngarageplazamarinaeuroscityparking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Very centrally located on a lovely pedestrian street, friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms. We were very pleased, until the night came. Then it turned out to be in a very noisy street, with people shouting all night. After a night with little sleep, it didn't feel like such good value for money any more... It was a friday night, and maybe the back rooms are quieter, so maybe we were simply unlucky...

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alboran-direccion, Director General at Hostal Alboran, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much your comments, and we regret that you has had to endure the street noise during your stay. We have spoken with the Manager of the bar in front us, where came the most of the noise, and we have not received any other complaints of that thopic. Anyway, we hope that you will return soon, and this time you can fully enjoy their stay. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Not expecting too much, was suprise by the entrance and the staff's sympathy and knowledge of the city. Good accommodation to have a rest while exploring and enjoying Coruña.
Planning to come back already. Congratulations for the great environment.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank João M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

stayed here for eight nights in May. The Alboran is steps away from Plaza de Maria Pita, with its many alfresco restaurants and is situated at the end of Calle Real which is a pedestrian street full of shops and café bars. Our room was at the rear, so there was no noise, however there was no outlook only a window that opened to the small internal courtyard. The room was quiet big with an enormous bathroom with walk in shower. They supplied clean towels everyday along with shower gel and soap. There is a flat screen tv in the room, but only one English channel. The hotel was spotless. It would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room, rather than a vending machine at reception, which was not working when we stayed. The reception staff were very nice as was the night porter. Special mention to Isobella who always had a big smile. If you want to stay in close proximity to the many bars, restaurants, and the wonderful beaches and the harbour, that La Coruna has to offer, then I would recommend staying here. A Coruna is a wonderful place with wonderful people!

Room Tip: rooms on the front overlook the street, rooms on the back are quieter, but with little daylight
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannycath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Stayed here four nights at Easter and was delighted. The price is amazingly low and the location couldn´t be more central. The hotel is clean and tidy and the staff helpful and friendly. The rooms are adequate in size and the triples on the front are big! Basically room only right in the town centre 1 minute from Maria Pita Square.

Choose a room away from the façade and the main street if you are sensitive to town centre noise. The main street is pedestrianised and busy late into the night. The rear rooms are quiet. Bathrooms are small but spotless, and shower gel, soap and towels are provided.

The hotel has recently been renovated and a lift installed.

Breakfast can be had just a few doors down on the right, on leaving the hotel, the little café/coffee shop on the next corner. The guy who runs it is tetchy, but with a great sense of humour - you can wind him up no end! Or if you don´t, he will you!

Great tascas and resaturants nearby and several unmissable clubs for the night owls (especially for any chaps looking for a fun night out).

Room Tip: Rear rooms quieter but smaller.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patersontenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the Alboran with my wife and daughter. The price was unbelievably good value and the location is perfect, 30 seconds from the main Maria Pita Square and in the 'wine district' full of restaurants, bars etc. It's right in the centre of A Coruna with everything a walk away; the old town 5 minutes, the docks/marina 5 minutes / Riazor & Orzan beaches (amazing!) 5 mins... The train station is a bus or taxi ride away (taxi fare less than 5€ - less than 10mins by car). No eating/breakfast facilities in the hotel apart from a drinks machine - but then there are countless places close by (breakfast in most bars/cafes costs about €2.50 - €3.50).
Really spotlessly clean inside hotel & rooms.
Being in the heart of the bar area & on a narrow street does mean that some late night noise is inevitable - our room faced the street, but it was only now & then and quite tolerable! (And the street view/small balcony was worth the slight noisier location..)
My daughter's single room was a little cell-like with a window facing a tiny internal courtyard, fine for sleeping in but I wouldn't like to stay in that room too long..
My only complaint is that the hotel could do with a bit more atmosphere, it was a little soul-less. But I've got to say from my wanderings around town I couldn't see any other hostals with any more charm! So I would stay at the Alboran again! And I will definitely return to A Coruna!
Overall - a great place to stay in a fantastic city!

Room Tip: depends on what you want! if you want quiet don't take a lower level street facing room!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews