We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
19
42
13
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
42
13
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pedestrian street maria pita great location old town garage plaza marina receptionist euros city parking
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

This is a modern pension (seems like recently redone) that boasts clean, efficient rooms for a bargain price. Our room was smallish with no view, but had everything we needed. And had no backpacker vibe whatsoever. The location is fantastic, on the main pedestrian street which is packed with fun and creative stores and restaurants. It’s not even a block from elegant Maria Pita Plaza, with lots of glasses-in cafes.

As we arrived about 6:30 in the evening, traffic in the city was brutal. We were only stopping for the night and we didn’t realize how big this city is. The downtown is some blocks square between the huge beach with wild waves rolling in, and the port/marina where we would see the Sapphire Princess cruise ship up close in the morning. It was so busy we had trouble even finding an empty space to pull over to figure out what to do. We had to book a hotel room on the fly, as we hadn’t been certain where we would stop that night. I booked online, then called to ask where to park. I put the “marina parking parrote” location in my gps, and it came right up. The charge for 24 hours is a whopping 25 euros but the hotel will give you a discounted ticket for 20 euros. I think the hotel price was only 47 euros! If you’re driving, my advice would be to check out the various parking options of different hotels in advance, LOL. This pension is about two blocks from the garage, very doable. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke some English (guaranteed nowhere in northern Spain). We loved the octopus/seafood restaurant they recommended (called Melide).

I wish we could have stayed a few days, especially at that pension price. The city was a wonderful surprise to us. It has the longest waterfront in Europe, worthy of a hike! And an awesome lighthouse that we only drove by. It seemed like something different and stylish or historic was around every corner. On our pedestrian street, 3-piece bands were playing on various corners. The port area was fun — check out the glassed-in apartments facing the water, which apparently have been featured in millions of ads.

This, by the way, is a great cruise ship stop. No need to pay for an excursion. Just get off the ship and wander around the beautiful old town.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alboran-direccion, Director General at Hostal Alboran, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We appreciate your kind opinion about our hostel and the city. A Coruña is a beautiful city very unknown, which deserves to be visited with calm and walk through its streets and the large promenade. We hope he comes back, and that we speak better English at that time! Thank you very much and best regards from our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The front desk and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. My room was small, but clean and comfortable. I stayed there while attending summer school at the Paideia Fundacion in the Plaza Maria Pita and it was just a short walk to classes. I would definitely stay there again, and I hope to visit soon!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Very centrally located on a lovely pedestrian street, friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms. We were very pleased, until the night came. Then it turned out to be in a very noisy street, with people shouting all night. After a night with little sleep, it didn't feel like such good value for money any more... It was a friday night, and maybe the back rooms are quieter, so maybe we were simply unlucky...

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alboran-direccion, Director General at Hostal Alboran, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you very much your comments, and we regret that you has had to endure the street noise during your stay. We have spoken with the Manager of the bar in front us, where came the most of the noise, and we have not received any other complaints of that thopic. Anyway, we hope that you will return soon, and this time you can fully enjoy their stay. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Not expecting too much, was suprise by the entrance and the staff's sympathy and knowledge of the city. Good accommodation to have a rest while exploring and enjoying Coruña.
Planning to come back already. Congratulations for the great environment.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank João M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

stayed here for eight nights in May. The Alboran is steps away from Plaza de Maria Pita, with its many alfresco restaurants and is situated at the end of Calle Real which is a pedestrian street full of shops and café bars. Our room was at the rear, so there was no noise, however there was no outlook only a window that opened to the small internal courtyard. The room was quiet big with an enormous bathroom with walk in shower. They supplied clean towels everyday along with shower gel and soap. There is a flat screen tv in the room, but only one English channel. The hotel was spotless. It would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room, rather than a vending machine at reception, which was not working when we stayed. The reception staff were very nice as was the night porter. Special mention to Isobella who always had a big smile. If you want to stay in close proximity to the many bars, restaurants, and the wonderful beaches and the harbour, that La Coruna has to offer, then I would recommend staying here. A Coruna is a wonderful place with wonderful people!

Room tip: rooms on the front overlook the street, rooms on the back are quieter, but with little daylight
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannycath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews