We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good air conditioning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hesperia Finisterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hesperia Finisterre
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good air conditioning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our reservation was for Melia Maria Pita but there the air conditioning doesn't work. So, changed for more stars. Was a junior suit, with ocean view. Only problem were the sheets, like envelope when to sleep, taken time and needed to be fit. Question: all hotels are on cost savings? The bathroom has toiletries only for one; used together. Also in other hotels in Spain, this travel.
Hotel to a short walk to old town center, an for good galician cuisin.
Good water in pools. No kids admitted on spa zone, good decision, because of health.
Beautiful garden in neighbourhood. Close to bus station for Torre del Hercules.
Good breakfast, but missing tomatoes and peppers. Delicious pastry and a wide variety of tea. Not the best coffee...
They were excused for the night the wedding party we can't sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mire U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    222
    96
    25
    16
See reviews for
183
313
18
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed two nights on business in January 2014.

Situated right on the coast near the harbour of La Coruna, I was greeted with a glass of champagne on arrival. There seems to be a bottle on tap in the reception area for self-service.

Check-in was a little disappointing, as I realised too late I'd been given a room on the smoking floor - make sure you check this; I should have thought, but it was late, I was tired...and most hotels I stay in these days don't allow smoking in rooms anyway.

The room itself was a very good size, with a decent-size minibar, flat-screen TV and large bathroom. The bathroom had a range of good quality toiletries and so on; slippers and a bath robe were supplied, too, handy for the spa and (heated!) outdoor swimming pool. The room was clean, as were the public areas of the hotel.

I did not try the breakfast, as the trip was too short.

The hotel uses "credit card" style keys that must be swiped to open the doors - twice during my (two night) stay the keys stopped working - this should really be looked into, as it does let the hotel down.

As the rate (in January...) I booked was very low, I think I got very good value by staying at this hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BulbousSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This is the only 5* hotel in coruna, and it is expensive. It is often used for weddings, so make sure you ask for one of the higher floors.
Having said all that, the hotel is pleasant and well situated for the port, shopping, and restaurants.
It is often used by the visiting football teams palying depotivo


Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

this is a nice hotel in a good location but its faded and has no lobby to sit and have a drink or meal only an empty restaurant. we tried to use the pools but they were too cold and shared with a very busy sports club so its a bit of a rort to say they have a swimming pool.

also the kids cant use the jets and massage beds in the pool - over 16 only.

its ok but not 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a one week trip to Northern Spain. Hotel in excellent location overlooking the harbour and just across the road from the Old Town. Parking is valet parking which is quite reasonable and you only have to wait a few minutes when you want your car so I don't know why some of your reviewers had a problem. We eat in the restaurant on the first night where the food was very good but the service a bit amateurish. The bar area looked lovely but nobody there as service has to be called for so the only thing we got there was ice for the room. Coruna itself has no tourist bus unlike other cities and also the 15th September seems to be the end of the season as boat trips around the harbour finished then. Anyway, we enjoyed the hotel's location, our room with a great view, the best value blow-dry in the hairdressers there [10 euro] and the free sparkling wine and sweets provided in the lobby at lunchtime!!

Room Tip: High floor for the wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proud to be British
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

It has been already been noted that this hotel is not 5 star (although the prices are) and I fully agree with that, however it does not make it a bad hotel. We stayed in August 2013 and enjoyed our stay, yes there are a couple of negatives eg Car parking is non existent , there are no in room tea/coffee making facilities which I found quite surprising, No Ice machines, Ice was only available via room service which, it has to be said, was not quick. But these were not life threatening negatives, we found just about everything else to our satisfaction.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with a more than adequate command of English although they obviously preferred their native tongue and were more than pleased if you made the effort to speak Spanish. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, as we stayed for 12 days we found the storage space to be at a premium, (It would have nice to have had more drawer space) but otherwise it was fine. Housekeeping was excellent, very efficient. and the hotel overall was very clean.
Breakfast was well worth the extra outlay, an excellent buffet to suit all tastes in a lovely setting over looking the harbour. We did not use the restaurant in the evenings preferring to take in some of the local dining experiences which abound close by.
The pool facilities are shared with a club ("La Solana") whose members come from the local area, it can get very busy on occasions, It does however have four pools together with a large sun terrace, gymnasium, tennis courts etc. There is also a catering area on site where good value snacks and soft drinks can be purchased.
There is a lot of work taking place around the hotel at this moment in time, under ground parking is being developed on top of which an esplanade like area will finish it off nicely. We did not find the works in progress to be a problem, no noise issues to speak off. It is due to take around 3 years in total to complete how far they are into that I do not know but it can only enhance the area on its completion. This is a hotel which we would have no hesitation in re-visiting, in fact we intend returning to see the outcome of the building work..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here recently and we all said we would not return. We were a family of four adults and three young children. The service was far from five star I am afraid. The reception staff knew in advance we taking the children but yet didnt provide beds for them in our rooms. We eventually, after having moved rooms and floors got them to put z beds in the rooms to accomodate the children. This took hours to organise. After that fiasco we decided to have a drink to forget about it and just relax.
I have yet to go to a five star hotel where you can't get served at a bar. There was a buzzer thing that you rang and a bar person would come to the bar to take your order. We stood around for ten mins and nobody appeared.
On checkout one of the kids needed water as she something stuck in her throat. Reception said they had no water but we could go to the bar and buy bottled water..!!!
On the positive the breakfast was very good and the room sizes were large (even though mine smelled of stale tobacco). I hope we just got this hotel on a bad day as the city is great and the hotel is in a great location.
I am booked into the Barcelona Hesperia in September so fingers crossed i get them on a good day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applesrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.7 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita
#4 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Attica 21
Hotel Attica 21
#2 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH La Coruna Atlantico
NH La Coruna Atlantico
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#6 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hesperia A Coruna
Hesperia A Coruna
#7 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Finisterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Finisterre

Property: Hesperia Finisterre
Address: Paseo Parrote 2-4 | Parrote, Old Town, 15001 La Coruna, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Coruna
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
#2 Family Hotel in La Coruna
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Finisterre 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hesperia Finisterre is located right in the heart of La Coruna, just a short walk from the Palexco Congress Center and the port and less than a five-minute stroll from the town's smart shopping streets, historic center, renowned restaurants and attractive cafe terraces, where you can sit and watch the world go by while eating delicious tapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia and NHHotels so you can book your Hesperia Finisterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Finisterre Hotel La Coruna
Hesperia Finisterre La Coruña
Hesperia Finisterre Hotel La Coruña
Hesperia Finisterre La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing