We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Beach View and Comfy Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riazor Coruna
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach View and Comfy Feel”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We wanted a beach hotel in A Coruña and this was a perfect choice for the location and view. We were there in August for 5 days and 4 nights. Staying there helped me fall in love with the city on this first visit. We were on the 9th floor which was great because at night it was cool and during the day comfortable without air conditioning. Summer in this city is nice with warm days and breezy nights. The beach was a quick walk across the street and my daughter could even watch me and my boy playing on the beach from our hotel room window.

We had two single beds and I slept with my 3 year old grandson, not spacious but okay as neither of us are big people. My adult daughter slept in the other bed. The hotel is not modern but had a comfortable homelike feel to it. My daughter loved it better than the AC and Renaissance hotels we stayed at in Spain, for her the big advantage of free wfi in the room unlike those others clinched it. The room was also bigger than those 4 star hotels we stayed at so my boy did enjoy the freedom of running around in it when playing with his toys.

If you are picky about hotels being fancy or modernized, this is not the hotel for you. The elevators are small but they come quickly and work well. Like most Spanish hotels they provide ironing and laundry service for a fee. You get a refrigerator stocked with drinks to purchase. For a 3 star rated hotel, I found the hotel room and staff service had a 4 star feel for cleanliness, value and service.

The lobby had a homey feel to it and people were doing wifi there too. We do speak Spanish but did hear the staff speak english to others who didn't. The hotel staff was professional, courteous and helpful at all times with suggestions for eating, towels for the beach, use of their safe, directions to stores, banks, drawing on the maps, etc. There was even a train strike one day and the staff looked it up in the paper and the internet to make sure we would not have a problem the next day of our travel. Luckily the strike was over.

We only ate the breakfast buffet one day and I am sorry we didn't try it earlier as it was reasonably priced. It was delicious, had a lot of fresh fruit choices, meats and cheeses (typical Spanish breakfast) and good juice/coffee, essentials for us.

Taxi service was easy, they are in front of the hotel at all times, lined up there. This made it was easy to get around because you cannot just hail a cab from any street but must go to designated taxi stands. We went to Santiago a Compostela for a day and it was an easy cab ride to the train station and then an hour or so train ride to that historic and pilgrimage city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for family travel and also if you are in the city because of a college visit.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room to get a good beach view and have a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CezWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    176
    179
    44
    13
See reviews for
85
194
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked into the hotel specifically because there was a large group of us going and they has triple rooms.
The room was on the 9th floor. There were two lifts which looked as though they could have used a facelift themselves. The room itself was a large room, down a corridor with an en-suite. The outlook was a bit dreary as we were at the back of the hotel, and looking into the middle of the hotel itself.
My daughters had a triple room also, on the second floor, and before flying my daughter emailed them and was upgraded to a sea view for no extra cost, but her room did not have air conditioning, and ours did.
The beds were lovely, and it was spotless clean, the maid service was excellent. There was always bottles of shampoo and shower gel, along with shower caps and soap. There was always plenty of toilet rolls and sterilised glasses to drink from on the shelf too.
In the room itself, there was a wardrobe and three beds, with a television and a fridge. The fridge was stocked with drinks, you could probably have brought, and the only problem with the TV was that there were no English channels at all.
The bathroom had a toilet, bidet, and shower, which was really nice. There was a vanity unit type mirror with three spotlight lights and a built in hairdryer.
The location was okay, very close to the sea, but the place was full of graffitti and not pretty at all. There were lots of cranes and building works, but it was a family wedding we were there for so we didn't worry about the surroundings too much.
There was a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away and some shops to look around.
The hotel buffet breakfast was a bit of a steep price at 9 euros per morning.
The breakfast was a continental style breakfast, with a machine for coffee and strange tasting milk which most of us refused to drink. The Orange juice was nice, and they had a small selection of cereals in 28g boxes.
On the first morning we went down only to be faced with an enormous fly sitting on and feasting on a doughnut. It really put us off, and it would be a good idea to cover the foods, especially in fly season. Subsequently we didn't eat too much.
Down the road, you turn right as you come out of the side road is the Manhattan Cafe, what a little gold mine. It was so welcoming and even though the waiters do not speak much English at all they were friendly and smiled at our very basic and broken Spanish. They brought the menus to us in English and memorised 7 meals and drinks and brought them out perfectly. The food was great, and we frequented this place for the whole time we were there. The Spanish omelette was gorgeous, and the fish in La Coruna is the best I have ever tasted (well it is a fishing port!)
Riazor was basic, clean and comfortable, but I would not choose to go back there unless it was for a reason eg the wedding, as it was not really a holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

While the hotel is nothing special (though the beach and harbor view rooms have a great view), Riazor is a safe choice if you find yourself in A Coruna. The rooms are reasonably sized and have all the basic things a traveler needs (comfortable beds, AC, soap and shampoo, and room service) and are spotlessly maintained by the housekeeping staff. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and do speak English. The reasonably priced cafe has a decent menu (and good coffee). A short walk from the hotel (near calle Neuva) are excellent tabernas and tapas places frequented by locals.

The down side is that the old town, the Plaza Maria Pita and the Tower of Hercules, the main tourist attractions in A Coruna are all some distance away. Taxis outside the hotel can take you there quickly and inexpensively though. The beach across the street from the hotel looks lovely, but, since it rained every day that we were there and since the temperature never went over 65 (in July!) we never managed to test it out.

Someone below found it expensive but, at the price we paid, I think it was well priced. Perhaps the economic crisis has made Spain cheaper for travelers but I found all of Spain a bargain on my recent trip (July 2012).

Bottom line. You can't go wrong with this place unless you're looking for charm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A little old fashioned hotel, but with charm and good old pride. Good breakfast, but a Norwegian, will always miss wholemeal bread ... :) The best thing about hotel is location. Down by the beach with stunning views. And close to everything. The city is also very nice. Small city, easy to find your way around and lots of good food! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A bit old-fashion hotel. The corridors and lifts need renovation. Rooms clean and wonderful view from 10th floor. Meals in restaurant expensive and not too tasty. Only few staff members speak English. The advantage of this hotel is its location. To sum up, too high price for the offered standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podroznik_z_Polski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was a good large hotel experience. Our room did not have an ocean view (one with a view wasn't available), and was in an odd back corner, so it may have been larger than usual, but it seemed very spacious. Everything was clean and competently put together. The location is a little outside of the main action--maybe a 5-10 minute walk. Once we got ourselves oriented though, we found good access to restaurants, people watching, and parks. Overall, we'd stay again, hopefully in a room with a view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We were recommended this hotel by locals. Although a bit dated , its location and stunning views of the Atlantic made it a must. They were 100% right and we would add the hotel is extremely well kept, rooms are comfortable ( must get ocean view ) and it is fantastic value.
La Coruna itself is a gem . Wild ocean and calm ports, diverse seafood beatifully cooked by such places as O Bebedeiro , amazing acquarium ( the Jules Verne room ) , beaches and all very inexpensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IKE06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita
#4 of 32 in La Coruna
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#6 of 32 in La Coruna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zenit Coruna Hotel
Zenit Coruna Hotel
#14 of 32 in La Coruna
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna
0.4 mi away
NH A Coruna Atlantico
NH A Coruna Atlantico
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riazor Coruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riazor Coruna

Property: Hotel Riazor Coruna
Address: Avenida Pedro Barrie de La Maza 29, 15004 La Coruna, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riazor Coruna 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riazor Coruna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riazor Hotel La Coruña
Hotel Riazor Coruna La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing