We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant”
Review of Pension Girasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Girasol
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

On Rua da Atalaia, ( a quiet street 5 mins from the cathedral ) is Pension Girasol. It has a small bar on the ground floor. It has a simple modern interior with equally simple well prepared traditional foods. Every day has a new menu and every thing is fresh and prepared without fuss. The owner is wonderful and the place attracts a lot of locals.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaminoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
29
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I didn't stay here, but ate here a few times over my week in Santiago because it was so good and so cheap! There were two set menus every day (usually 8.50 or 12.50 euro), these included three courses, bread, wine and coffee!! and when I say including wine, they just brought you a bottle! The food was excellent, the roast lamb and roast chicken were gorgeous (getting hungry just thinking about it)! The staff were really friendly too. Great place for food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Didn't stay here, but had 3 very good and reasonably priced meals in its cafe. A breakfast, lunch and dinner. All well cooked and presented; great plates of fresh langoustine particularly stand out. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Best burgers eaten in 3 weeks travelling in spain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markehowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I found this to be an economical restaurant with really good food and helpful staff. I had a fixed two course meal including a salad and burger and chips for 12 euros. In addition to this, I had a desert, a couple of bottles of water and half a bottler of white wine. On paying the bill, I was pleasantly suprised to find that desert and drinks were included in the 12 Euros

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Pension Girasol was the third place we stayed during our Spain trip, and it was such a welcomed respite from our first two lodgings. The place is perfectly situated - with the Cathedral and all of Santiago's other major sights within a short walk. The staff (who are also working for the restaurant downstairs) were friendly and spoke English. The room was just great. First it actually looks like it's been decorated within this century and it was well kept and clean. The bathroom was huge by our standards (we had teeny tiny stalls in our previous hotels) and had a full tub and a large sink. There was even a large wardrobe in the room with hangers.

This is only one of a few places (we stayed at 11 different hotels in Spain/Portugal) that I would actually recommend to a friend and would probably stay at again if I ever have the opportunity to return to Santiago.

A little tip: head across the street to Hotel Costa Villa's patio/garden for a drink. It's the prefect place to linger.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had the good fortune of spending 3 nights at the Pension Girasol after completing the Camino de Santiago. It was a most welcoming refuge. The location is fantastic, perhaps a 5 minute walk to the main Cathedral. They served a wonderful breakfast every morning.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. My husband arrived late at night, hours after they were to be closed, and there was a friendly staff person waiting up to greet him. We needed to print out some boarding passes, and they let us use their computer and printer at no extra charge.
We had a private bath, and the rooms were very clean. I can not think of one thing that wasn't excellent here. I would highly recommend this Pension to anyone visiting old town Santiago, but especially to pilgrims.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traillady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Pension Girasole (Sunflower) is a very charming pension. It is a couple of blocks from the Cathedral Santiago. It is ideally located in Santiago. We checked in with the woman who ran the restuarant downstairs from the room. She was quite sweet. She gave us our key. She explained that we walk up the 1.5 flight of stairs to our room. The key opened the door to the hallway and to our room. The stairs were clean and light colored marble. We made our way to our floor to find 2 apartments on opposite sides of the hallway. Knowing that we had just completed walking the Camino de Santiago, she was friendly and generous and provided us with extra towels. The door to the apartment was beautifully old and charming. The room had 3 comfortable beds, a window with white curtains and a beautiful scalloped laiden wooden closet with ample space for anything. The bathroom had a partially enclosed tub, window which opened for breeze and light, a light blue toilet and a suitable sink with storage above it for our things. Everything functioned well in the bathroom. The water was hot and powerfully lovely. Just what our muscles and feet needed. We all took our time basking in the glory of the bathroom~seems silly but privacy and really good water pressure was at a minimum at the municipal albuergues we had stayed at prior to reaching Santiago. After we were all bathed, we ventured out into Santiago to discover a deligtful specialty bakery just down the street not to mention a bar that served a cheese plate that was plenty to stuff all three of us and it was not a dinner. The cheese plate, french bread and wine and we were all good...our bellies full, we adventured further to the main street that is along the Cathedral to the plaza. We walked and walked to see many shops and saw many other pilgrim friends. After awhile we found a place that had glorious tapas that were very many and different. The risotto with mushroom and pineapple was OMG! The wine was good there too. I wish I knew the name of that place, as I would review it. Santiago is a great place. Opposite the Cathedral, across the plaza, there was a group of very talented musicians and singers with operatic voices who sang traditional songs and got many of us to dance with them and it was free. They had a CD if you wanted to buy it.
We returned to our room and collapsed to joyful comfortable bedding. When we awoke in the morning, we had coffee and tostada downstairs and started out our day again exploring Santiago. Realy recommend this lovely Pension. It felt like we had our own apartment and I could have stayed there happily for a long time.

Room Tip: We were in the room on the 2nd floor to the right, away from the street, but truly, it was not a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran_beca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Felisa
Casa Felisa
#29 of 60 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension da Estrela
Pension da Estrela
#41 of 75 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Linares
Hostal Linares
#36 of 75 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Con Encanto San Martino Pinario
Pension Con Encanto San Martino ...
#27 of 60 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Girasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Girasol

Property: Pension Girasol
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 4, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Girasol 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a familiar hostel with a excellent localization in the old town, only 3 minutes walking to the Cathedral.The rooms have TV, bath, central health and free wi-fi. We offer some breakfast but the best is the “ complet" , it costs 4.50€ per person and includes toast, natural orange juice, coffe or tea, fruit, yogur and jam and tetilla cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Pension Girasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing