We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pilgrims!”
Review of Hostal La Salle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal La Salle
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at this hostal in October after having walked the camino for 37 days. Very reasonably priced and well situated in a quiet area near the old city (about a 10 minute walk from the cathedral, bars and restaurants). There is a very nice "pasteleria" nearby on calle San Roque where we had our breakfast. We had a large double bed room with a complete bathroom that even included a towel warmer! (very comforting and useful after 3 days of walking under the rain!). The room was very clean and had a great temperature control system. Excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hostal La Salle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

An excellent hotel, we have been here before. It has been refurbished since our last visit last year and the staff and facilities are just what you need after walking the Camino. The hotel is not too far from the cathedral and good bars and restaurants. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

this propery combines some of the amenities of a hotel w those of a hostel. different comfort levels are available. it is located quite near the heart of the village, but is just far enough removed to be quiet at night.

Room Tip: ask questions
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladydi814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

6 weary, wet pilgrims arrived at Hostal La Salle to a warm welcome, warm showers and great facilities for drying off!. Very reasonably priced, great location to the beautiful old city and cathederal. 6 girls would thoroughly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Friendly staff, clean room, nice lounge on top floor with views of cathedral. 5 min walk to edge of old town and easy access in and out of santiago if driving.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelMariaandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this hostal. The decor was old fashion but not tacky. There is a small elevator and snack machines. There was a bike shed for pilgrims but I am not sure if anyone else can store bikes there. I saw that there was some parking but we didn't drive so I do not know what the agreement is for parking there. The room was comfortable and bathroom was large. The reception was very nice; they were happy to store our passports in their strong box as there is no safe in the room. The hotel is located about a 10 min. walk from the bus station (we got the bus from the airport 3 euros each) and about a 10 min walk to the cathedral. We had breakfast at a cafe about a 2 min walk down the road which was adequate for a european breakfast. The center of town was lovely and there are lot of piligrinos around.

I would recommend this hostal as it was very nice accommdation for a fair price. The only thing I might warn against is that it is near a building that has a bell. It chimes quite loudly and could keep light sleepers awake when it performs.

Had a wonderful time and would return to this hostal again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frijolitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I regularly stay at Hostal La Salle, mainly because it is situated in a quiet spot, close to the old town centre of Santiago. A walk to the cathedral takes about 7-10 minutes, not more! The hotel also houses a very good Albergue de Peregrinos, with a dining room which overlooks the city, inlcluding the towers of the cathedral. All rooms are very clean, equipped with a plasma tv-set and bathroom. Some rooms even overlook the towers of the cathedral. Book ahead if you can. This is quickly becoming a very popular spot for tourists ánd business persons!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackcamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.4 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#19 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santiago Apostol
Hotel Santiago Apostol
#57 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Area Central
Hotel Exe Area Central
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Salle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Salle

Address: Traseira Santa Clara s/n, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £15 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Salle 1*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal La Salle is located in Santiago de Compostela’s beautiful Old Town, just 8 minutes’ walk from the cathedral. It offers a 24-hour reception and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV.The rooms at the La Salle feature tiled floors and simple, classic-style décor. Each one has a private bathroom with a hairdryer.The guest house has vending machines for snacks and drinks. There is a variety of good restaurants within a 10-minute walk.The La Salle is just 5 minutes’ walk from the university and Monte da Almáciga Park. You can drive to Santiago Airport in 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Salle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing