We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely furnished room”
Review of Hostal Mafer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Mafer
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The room was nicely furnished. There's a tiny lift up to the floor it is on. A very short walk to the city centre and near the bus stop to the airport. A little far on foot from the train station. Stocked with nice cakes and muffins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hot_devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Lovely little pension very close to the centre. The place was really clean, the bathroom compact and there is a nice common area with tea, coffee, cake and fruit that overlooks the street. The woman who runs the pension is really lovely and made me feel very welcome. I stayed in a single room for 35 euros.

Room Tip: The only drawback is that it is on a busy street, so best to ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_mid30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

this hotel/pesion is very very central... decoreted with very nice taste. Is more like a 'boutique hotel'. In fact this is a normal apartment turned in to a pension. The size of the room is ok, the bathroom is very small but very clean. the rooms also have heating. If u go by car there's no free spots to parking. One in parking lot will cost u around 9/11€ day.
U have all day in the lounge cookies and tea. But in the moorning its a poor breakfast.
Overall its a good place to stay... the owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saharalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed in Mafer for a couple of days while i was attending a conference in Santiago. Rita and Carmen, the girls that run it, are fantastic, made me feel very welcome and comfortable all the way through. Help me out lots finding my way around Santiago, can't thank them enough.
The place has been newly redecorated (August 2011) and looks great. Located by Plaza Galicia, very close from the train station and within 2-3 walking minutes of Santiago's Old City. The place is very clean and tidy, breakfast was good and as I said before, the girls that run it make the whole difference. I will definitively go back, I loved the place and the people there. I have already recommended to my brother!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanere_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank L0233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalMafer22, Propietario at Hostal Mafer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8bono8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mónica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalMafer22, Gerente at Hostal Mafer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mapoula
Hostal Mapoula
#2 of 80 in Santiago de Compostela
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Anosa Casa
Hostal Anosa Casa
#22 of 80 in Santiago de Compostela
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel O Desvio
Hotel O Desvio
#1 of 1 in Roxos
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mafer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mafer

Address: Rua do Horreo, n 22 | 2 Planta, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain (Formerly Pension Mafer)
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £25 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mafer 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This establishment is located in one of the best and most central area of ​​the beautiful and cosmopolitan city of Santiago de Compostela. Perfectly communicated with the main means of transport (airplane, train, coach) and located 5 minutes walk from the famous Santiago cathedral apostol and therefore next to the main leisure and gastronomy points of the ancient city of Santiago. A few meters from the hostel you can also find the main shopping area of ​​the city where you can find the main boutiques and fashion brands where you can shop. Hostal Mafer has 8 rooms (2 single, 5 double and 1 triple) all with private bathroom and city views. The staff of the hostel will help you with everything you need to make your stay in Compostela unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Mafer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing