We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We walked the last one hundred kilometers (about seventy five miles) of the Camino de Santiago in five days and were exhausted. This hotel was perfect. It is new and was originally a factory. EVerything about the place was done impeccably: the rooms, the lobby, the restaurant (great food). The spa was professional and the massages were delightful. It is a very short inexpensive taxi ride into the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AQDA, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Charleypwd,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We often receive congratulations for our natural bamboo forest, but we never heard the comparison with an oasis. It is a pleasure for us to hear that we will be part of your happy memories after a hard “Camino”.

We welcome a lot of pilgrims who want to have a reward after hard days walking a lot of kilometers, and we are very grateful that they find the peace among us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in your new home in Santiago,



Luisa Lorenzo, Directora
Hotel Spa Relais & Châteaux A Quinta da Auga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    123
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
108
448
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Me and my husband love Relais&Chateaux chains, and this Hotel for me has been the best of all! We had the honor to spend some time with the owners (which are always there) and they are amazing people! they make you feel like you are in home! The food is amazing, the decoration is perfection and the place is magical! I will tray to go back to Santiago de Compostela just to go back to this Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AQDA, General Manager at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear LorraineBQ,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also tried and liked our restaurant, for us offering high quality Galician delights in a warm atmosphere is a priority. As you might know, the owner’s presence is a very usual aspect of the Relais & Châteaux hotels, thank you very much for your kind mention. We really hope you can come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Without any information to the contrary we had expected the Hotel Spa booking to be just that, a combination offer, especially given a room rate and promo material consistent with a plunge and sauna being inclusive or perhaps at a nominal extra. But on arrival we were told that any use of the spa facilities would cost an eyewatering 84 euros per day (wife and I plus son) in addition to the 200+ euro room booking. This seemed to be very questionable practice as well as extraordinarily expensive so we sought to curtail our stay. The Hotel Spa management would not meet with us but via reception we were told a 100% cancellation fee would apply. After further representations, but still no sign of management, we were able to get agreement to leaving a day early without penalty. So be warned.

Other negatives.... the complimentary mini-bar comprised bottled water and a couple of sugary fizz drinks huddled in an otherwise empty fridge; surely a few natural juices, a beer or two and some local wine would show that the hotel was more serious about hospitality?

A hotel of this price and calibre should not have guests queuing up to fiddle around with a nespresso machine to get their breakfast coffee; good coffee should be provided to the table by a waiter, or at the very least from a properly staffed quality coffee station.

When a function is taking place finding and accessing a spot in the hotel car park can be something of a nightmare, chaos seems to prevail in the absence of any supervision. Only one English TV channel .... wouldn't normally complain but at this price!

On the positives .... the bed and bedding is very comfortable and whilst the rooms tend to the bland and unoriginal they are of a good standard. The morning buffet offered a good range of meats, cheeses, fruits, and breads etc and but for the dire situation with the coffee the breakfast would rate quite highly. The hotel bar and cafe was surprisingly good value with friendly staff (and a special thanks for the generous measure of Laphroaig). Although we didn't sample the restaurant, other guests told us it was very good.

The various water courses and paper-mill references make for an interesting setting. And although the hotel is on the outskirts of Compostela, the no 8 bus service just up the road was on the hour and often the half hour as well and at only 1 euro to the historic centre in about 15 mins it was a very good service. A taxi comes in at well under 10 euro to or from any central destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonBigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. The room was spacious and v quiet. I didn't get to eat in the restaurant as I did not book in advance but the food in the cafe was very good. The setting was lovely. If you don't have a car a taxi to the city will be about 15 euros otherwise it is about an hours walk from the city or a 5 minute bus ride plus a 20 minute walk.
The spa services were mediocre but the spa itself was amazing!!
I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A beautifull old building rebuilt as a luxurios retreat. Galicia was a wonderfull surprise (greener than green and the most freindly and hospital people).
Expert service from all the staff ( Bar staff have an art in prepairing any drink, ask for the Gin list !! ).Food in the restaurant again quality from start to finish,Not a large selection BUT enough.
Rooms are spacious both modern and traditional in the same breath,with sumptious en-suite facilities. As for the Spa I only got as far as the massage rooms (were I stopped).
I am happy to recomend this hotel for couples,freinds,solo or business

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Arriving from the Santiago ring road I did not expect this. A lovely, old and beatiutifully restored paper mill with a lovely garden, wonderful breakfast, very friendly staff and top rooms.Big spa area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ARILux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice and cozy hotel, close enough to the city to go back and forth but far enough to relax and enjoy a restful stay. Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The spa is great. The food is very good. Hotel staff very nice except for the lady in charge of turning tables at breakfast time. We enjoyed very much the peaceful back yard and the hidro massage therapy.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.0 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,646 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,406 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#1 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
590 reviews
7.2 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga

Property: Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Address: Paseo Amaia 23b | Urbanización Brandia. Vidán, 15706, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel A Quinta da Auga is the first eco luxury boutique hotel with spa in Santiago de Compostela. An 18th-century paper mill restored following the principles of environmental sustainability and aimed to create an unique place in which guests could stay surrounded by greenery, but with all the luxuries that a hedonist traveller tries to find in a four-star hotel: high gastronomy, impeccable service and high-quality spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing