We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent a week in this beautiful hotel and really enjoyed and really did not want to leave!

If I were to choose the 3 best things about this hotel, these would be:
- The friendliness of the staff: always available and always willing to help out
- The silence of the rooms. You could here nothing from other rooms or the hallway, which meant we slept really well
- The hotel was pretty much full during our stay, yet we never had the feeling that it was the case. Normally when a hotel is full one notices how the quality, service, etc...gets somewhat worse. But that was not the case here

For those looking for something in the city centre, I would go with an other option because here you need a car to move anywhere (city centre is a 7 min car ride).

In summary, I would say that it is one of the better hotels I have stayed at, and would definelty go back. I would also add that the value for money is very good. Similar hotels would easily cost twice as much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, 6th and 7th August. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and spoke good English. Our room was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. We chose to stay here as we didn't want to drive into Santiago. A taxi cost less than 7 euros, each way. As the Hotel is on the outskirts of town, we chose to eat here in the evenings. Unfortunately the restaurant doesn't open until 9.30pm, a bit too late for us, but we had a decent meal in the café bar. Breakfast is a typical buffet, which was fine with a good choice. We didn't use the spa facilities but understand they are very good if not a little expensive. The location of the Hotel is through a small housing estate but you forget about this once inside and in the pleasant gardens.
We would stay here again if we travel to this part of Spain in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TillynJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a total of 5 nights in Santiago de Compostela. Thinking we would be quite busy while staying at the AC Palacio del Carmen (see review) we decided to spend the last two relaxing a bit outside of the city at the A Quinta da Auga, Relais & Chateaux. This was our second Relais & Chateaux property. Based on only good experiences with Le St. Paul at St. Paul de Vence, France, we thought it was time to check out another one, this time in Spain.

The A Quinta da Auga dates back to 1792. Originally it was built by Jacobo Perez Villamarin as a paper factory, but it was also used to produce wool clothing, ice and beer. It fell into disrepair until Lorenzo Garcia and his family bought the estate. The architect carrying out the restoration and renovation project was Luisa Garcia Gil.

We took a taxi from the AC to the A Quinta da Auga and paid around 8 Euro (ca. 10.70 USD). The journey took maybe 10 minutes.

It was around 12.30 hours when we arrived. Unfortunately we weren't able to check in early and were advised to come back at 15.00 hours, when the official check in time was and our room would be ready.

We explored the area and checked out where the bus stop for the Number 8 bus into town was. It wasn't easy to spot, because it was at the end of the road and only a no parking sign indicated it. We later saw a bus stopping there.

Having done that we decided to go back to the hotel and have lunch.

We had Ice tea, hot chocolate, cappuccino, ham and cheese sandwiches and watermelon gazpacho.

When we had settled the bill (ca. 25 Euro or ca. 33.40 USD) our room was ready. We were offered an upgrade for 90 Euro (ca. 120 USD) per night to a suite. We didn't take it up, because we were quite happy with our room. It was 10 square meters larger than the standard room at the AC Palacio del Carmen. We received a room at the top floor (5th). It was a mansard room with a window built into the roof and views over the garden and neighborhood. The room was sparsely furnished with a traditional writing desk, two chairs and comfortable twin beds. It was large, but didn't look too empty. We felt immediately at home.

There were wooden floors; the mini bar was free with local water, two bottles of Coca Cola, one orange Fanta and one lemon Fanta. It was restocked daily.

The flat screen TV was small, but moving the chairs from under the window nearer to the TV solved the problem. The only English speaking channel was BBC World.

Storage space in the wardrobe was good. There was also a safe unlike at the AC.

The air condition was centrally operated and sometimes made the room slightly too hot. It didn't bother us too much or we simply opened the window.

The tapestry was interesting. It depicted what life was like in earlier days.

The bathroom was large with a bathtub/shower combination, Relais & Chateaux Ylang Ylang amenities, a bidet, toilet and sink. The bath tub was comfortable and the water pressure was good.

The hotel has a restaurant called Filigrana, a social lounge and the Q Cafe. There is also a new wing with fitness center, hydrothermal facilities including swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, ice fountain and steam bath. There is also a spa, offering facials, massages, body treatments, manicure, pedicure, hair care and yoga lessons. Massage treatments start from 30 minutes and cost 40 Euro (ca. 53.40 USD) to 90 minutes for 115 Euro (ca. 153.35 USD).

There are also packages available ranging from 110 minutes to 5 days.

Use of the Flotarium costs 22 Euro for 20 minutes (ca. 29.40 USD); yoga lessons start at 90 Euro (ca. 120 USD) for 90 minutes.

We enjoyed spending time on our room, going to the Q Cafe or walking in the grounds.

The gardens were very beautiful. There were different flowers, fountains tinkling and a waterfall. The hotel recommends also walks ranging from twenty to forty five minutes.

The hotel was detailed. The social lounge had old photographs of what the hotel looked like before the renovation, which famous guests had visited and other artwork. Each seating area was different with plush sofas, comfortable armchairs and an open fire.

Another detail were flowers and plants in the bedroom and bathroom or that the flowers and the outdoor chairs were in matching colors - an intense red.

There were nooks and crannies to explore on every floor and art work everywhere.

Even the elevators look not functional. They have prints depicting the paper making process.

Since we had time I choose a 30 minutes deep tissue massage.

The spa was airy and light. The original building and the new wing are connected indoors, so there is no reason to go outside. The staff was very friendly and concerned if the treatment had been to my liking. The changing room was empty and I had my own locker, containing a bath robe, panty and slippers. There were also showers and toilets.

The treatment was relaxing and eased my tensions. This massage didn't make me as sore as previous ones. It was as good, though.

At the Q Cafe we tried different smoothies and juices, local wine and coffee liquor, pasta salad, peppers filled with cod, frozen yogurt and raspberries, Santiago Cake and much more.

Breakfast was served buffet style every day at the Filigrana Restaurant. It was small, but had everything one could need from cold cuts and smoked salmon to cheese to yogurt, fruit salad, scrambled eggs - other egg dishes could be made a la carte -, pastries and much more. The space was a bit small and when it was busy, it could get tight. Restocking wasn't an issue. There was only one juice - orange. The flavor was outstanding and everyone had at least two glasses. The salmon was the softest I've ever had.

We had a funny incident with Housekeeping. It was afternoon. We had returned from our walk and saw that the maids were on our floor making up rooms. They hadn't arrived at our room, so we were prepared for their visit. The maid knocked, shouted something in Spanish and opened the door immediately. If we had been in an indiscriminating situation it could have gotten embarrassing, so the young lady was a bit surprised somebody was on the room. She asked a colleague to help her. The room was cleaned and the bed was made very quickly.

All the staff encountered was friendly, efficient and warm.

Way too soon we had to leave for our next destination Barcelona.

Check out was done quickly, a taxi was ordered for us and the "bible" - the 2013 Relais & Chateaux catalogue in English was given to us as a good bye present. On the room we only had the actual version in Spanish, so this was a nice touch.
Donations to UNICEF are also encouraged.

We can recommend the A Quinta da Auga to couples and families with older children, who are looking for a quirky property that is romantic and off the beaten track with personalized services and attentive staff.

We are missing the property already and are definitely going to return, when we are in the area.

Would we recommend this hotel to a friend? YES!
Would we stay again in this hotel? YES!

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor with beautiful views over the gardens, all rooms are gorgeous here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the 1st weekend of August and had a marvelous time. Passing an old industry on your right and a nice neighborhood called Brandia with a very nice public garden, you arrive at the hotel. The outsides of the hotel are very nice, bit reminding of France. It's almost walking distance from the center of Santiago, but as most of the visitors of this city are walkers, it shouldn't be a problem. We had spa experience, which was very nice and dinner at the filigrana restaurant (here I recommend to share dishes, starters incl) which was delicious. The next day we started with a hearty breakfast and discovered the city. End of the day again Spa with only the two of us. Dinner we decided to try somewhere else. With our check out as we enjoyed so much we booked for the weekend after and asked for the same room. When we came back few days later, we didn't get our room and got another room, bigger yes but with the window opening directly from the wall and roof of the adjacent building. As we didn't accept, we got a nice room on last level with Velux windows and are much warmer in the summer. Here we also had some hiccups because in the end the A/C didn't work and we had a very bad night of sleep. Though an excellent and beautiful room for colder months. The spa was wonderful again. 1st half hour maybe too many people still in it but then we were again just the 2 of us. Dinner again at the hotel, excellent food and wine. Next morning many excuses and moved us to another room, beautiful and nice though cleaning was done (too) quickly. After walking a whole day we went back to the spa, clearly too many people in it. Now I don't know if they put too many at the same hour or customers just don't respect the hours. And because it was so busy it could have some more cleaning and tiding up in between. The girls at the reception tried their best with solving the hiccups and gonna look into the cleaning. These were just small problems and easy to solve and they will because they were very eager to listen and solve the issues. I am definitely coming back because overall this hotel is beautiful, decoration with so much taste, dedicated attention and kindness, excellent Spa and Restaurant and located in a very special city

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malveiradaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just came back from a weekend in Santiago, we found this incredible hotel, small, cozy, friendly and just perfect for us for what we were looking for!

Upon arriving we found a different ambiance from most hotels, reception looks more like a living room than a hotel! same for all the other facilities, the bar very nice, the spa really good for a hotel spa, prices reasonable, room excellent both on amenities as on decor.

Only possible snag is the location, a bit far from the center of the village, hence the need for a car, we did have one; even parking was no problem being complimentary.

Overall an excellent venue, we will certainly go back there next year or whenever we go again to Santiago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AQDA, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Carlos V,

It is a pleasure for all the members of A Quinta da Auga’s team to hear this words that make us improve daily,
As you know, A Quinta belongs to Relais & Chateaux. Each Maîson is a warm and welcoming place, where you feel at home; also a place with its own roots, history and attachment to a particular terroir.
Four years ago, when we open the our Maîson we tried to reach them. It is a greeting for us to hear that you have felt them and we be part of your happy memories.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your new home in Santiago,

Luisa Lorenzo, General Manager
Hotel Spa Relais & Châteaux A Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a one night stopover here at the end of our holiday. Wonderful, wonderful hotel. Reception staff were all lovely. Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. We had a superb dinner in the restaurant. Had to leave early the next morning to catch our flight and they made special arrangements for us to have breakfast before we went, and it turned out to be a special buffet for two, more than we could have hoped for.
The total is set in beautiful grounds, just a short taxi ride from the city centre. The building is an old paper mill, with thick stone walls and a feeling of ancient permanence. We only had a standard room as we were there for just one night, but it was spacious and felt very luxurious.
Would highly recommend this hotel for a luxury, romantic break.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor overlooking the garden. 402 to 407 are all good. 401 is a substant...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AQDA, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear 1C2,

All the members of A Quinta da Auga’s team are very pleased for you comments. It is a pleasure for us to heard this words.
We hope that you give us another opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you personally,

Luisa Lorenzo, General Manager
Hotel Spa Relais & Châteaux A Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Whilst relaxing in one of the deep, comforting and enveloping sofas in the Hotel’s drawing room, it’s hard to believe that not so long ago this building was in ruins, just a shell, overgrown and forgotten.
This former 18th century paper mill and factory was closed in the 1940s and its decline began.
Now it’s a very comfortable 4 star hotel. We’d just completed a week on the Camino de Santiago, so were eager to find a place to relax, recharge and of course, treat ourselves; this place did not disappoint. I was travelling with a friend and we managed to get a really excellent single occupancy rate for two double rooms, including breakfast.
The welcome was genuine and professional. Our luggage was already waiting for us is our prepared rooms, and on the antique bureau was a hand written welcome note. The hotel’s rooms and suites are decorated in a classic, elegant style, combining antiques with some contemporary touches. Our double rooms overlooked the peaceful gardens and the river below. The exposed stone walls add a striking feature, and the double windows assured a peaceful night. The turn down service treat, a little cake with handmade chocolate was a nice touch.
There is a minibar in the room, sparsely stocked with water and refreshments, but they are included in the room rate.
Breakfast was included in the competitive internet rate, and didn’t disappoint. There is a self-service Nespresso coffee machine, so I was able to get my multiple caffeine fix, and there were also a la carte hot breakfast dishes included.
On the downside, the property is out of town in a residential area, so you need to take a taxi, but they arrive within minutes and there are plenty in Santiago.
The spa looked amazing but the pool and water circuit is not included in the rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AQDA, Director General at Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Andrew F,

We would like to thank you for your comments and greetings about our staff. It is a pleasure for us to know that we are part of your happy memories.
For sure, the situation of A Quinta da Auga is privileged because we are 3 kilometers far the city centre of Santiago and only 20 minutes far the nearest beach. Our guests can arrive to the city centre by taxi, taking the urban bus (we have a bus stop close to the Hotel) or walking.
If you decided to come back to our Hotel, we would like to inform you that we have also at the disposal of our guests rate with Spa included, and it will be better for you if you decide to use it.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel, and thank you again for your comments.

Luisa Lorenzo, General Manager
Hotel Spa Relais & Châteaux A Quinta da Auga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,484 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,749 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
617 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
593 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#19 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga

Address: Paseo Amaia 23b | Urbanización Brandia. Vidán, 15706, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £118 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel A Quinta da Auga is the first eco luxury boutique hotel with spa in Santiago de Compostela. An 18th-century paper mill restored following the principles of environmental sustainability and aimed to create an unique place in which guests could stay surrounded by greenery, but with all the luxuries that a hedonist traveller tries to find in a four-star hotel: high gastronomy, impeccable service and high-quality spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing