We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a prison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergue Seminario Menor
Reviewed 27 August 2012

the place looked awsome from the outside, but inside it's more or less like a prison. Sleeping in former cells, without sheets, over crowded, showers were boiling hot and the button needed to be pressed for water all the time. You should leave the hostel at 9.30 every day and should be in at midnight. So..a lot of rules..no breakfast.. It's far too much for the requested money rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CornelisNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berenguela P, Manager at Albergue Seminario Menor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Mr. Cornelis,
We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. The building of the Seminario Menor was built in 1955 , first was used like a seminary, then as a school and now as a school and hostel for pilgrims.
We provide for pilgrims disposable sheets at the time of check inn, which are included in the the price. Our pilgrim hostel is for pilgrims, this reason we need to set a timetable to guarantee good conditions in our hostel.
We welcome your comments because they help us to improve every day.
Thank you very much,
Sincerely,
Department of Management
Albergue Seminario Menor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent three days here before and after walking to Finisterra on the camino. On the plus side there was no problem leaving our bags there for the five days that we walked for free. There is a very generous buffet breakfast but not enough tables to cater for the huge amount of people staying there. They also need a second lift! The rooms are clean and basic,(former monks cells): we paid €65 for a double room, and then a pilgrim room was €40. The pilgrim rooms are in the rafters, very small and with mildew on the ceiling, it seems to compromise the overall quality of the hotel to see this. What stays in my memory though is the coldness and rudeness of the staff: since I was last here 4 years ago the place seems to have been taken over by a company called 'Martin Pinario' who obviously share nothing with the spirituality of a former monk's seminary, I have to say this affected ourenjoyment of what is a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Pilgrim rooms are shabbier but cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We decided to walk the Camino from Sarria to Santiago and needed to stay one night in Santiago before taking a train to our starting point. We stayed here the first night and discovered a nice surprise.....for 2 Euros, you can leave your other bags in a locker for a long duration (we left our for 5 days). This is a much cheaper option than the bus station and you can stay here once you arrive. The facility has plenty of showers, bathrooms and other things to accommodate many travelers. The rooms are quite large with many people sleeping in there, so if you have ear plugs, I'd bring them. Don't forget that a sleeper sheet is necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM010543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I’ve slept one night in Albergue Seminario Menor and paid 17 euros for an individual room (no more than 1 person per room allowed in this accommodation) because at 13:00 all the other beds were reserved or occupied.

It’s a beautiful and large building that should be your last shelter if you have done one of the St. James' Way (O Camiño de Santiago)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berenguela P, Manager at Albergue Seminario Menor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are very pleased that your stay in our hostel has been satisfactory.
We know that the way is sometimes very hard for the pilgrims and our aim is to give a warm welcome to all pilgrims.
We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your comments.
The whole team Albergue Seminario Menor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Girovago56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Yanet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berenguela P, Gerente at Albergue Seminario Menor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.3 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#20 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue Seminario Menor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Seminario Menor

Address: Avenida Quiroga Palacios 2A, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £9 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergue Seminario Menor 1*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Asuncion Minor Seminary Lodge provides the following services:Reception 177 single beds Social rooms with TV Toilets and showers Laundry Internet Vending machines Outdoor parking for bikes Bottom sheet & pillow case included in the accommodation price It is essential to have sleeping bag at one´s disposalTimetableFor the lodge´s correct functioning and maintenance we recommend our gueststo:Leave the facilities before 9:30 h. A.M., since cleaning takes place between 9:30h. and 13:30h Access the facilities after 13:30 P.M. Reception serviceThe reception is open from 13:30 h. to 23:00 h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergue Seminario Menor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing