We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality as it should be!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rural Os Vilares
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hospitality as it should be!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We wanted to stay in a Casa Rural having had a couple of nights in very non-descript hotels / pensions, so having spent the day checking out Santiago this was only a short drive away - I am guessing you would need a car to stay here as it is at the end of a small track!

Maika was there to meet us on arrival and neither of us had met a more welcoming and pleasant host for we can't remember how long! Between my very basic Spanish and Maika's equally basic English we managed to communicate okay but it was her enthusiastically warm welcome that made much of the difference, something so often sadly lacking in hospitality these days

The building itself is full of character with a nice lounge area and open fire to enjoy in the evenings with the spoils of the Rioja region if you have come from that way (thank you Charlie for an entertaining evening!). The beds were clean and comfortable, good bathrooms and the breakfast was equally great with local cheeses, eggs, meats and fruits to enjoy.

Can't recommend this place enough and while we have not tried the other places listed, it would be difficult to improve on the experience we had; although the dog barking at 3am might be one aspect to consider it was apparently only keeping us safe from the wolves!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spooky_Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If your are looking for a headqurters while in Galicia to explore all around with just 90 minutes maximum drive then Santiago de Compostela is the right place. And if you are also looking for a countryside house enjoying rural atmosphere plenty of nice and warm attention then Casa Os Vilares is really the right choice.
We are a family of four that rented the three rooms villa and every single detail was great: the rooms, the bathrooms, the huge kitchen, the fire place, the bbq and garden ... Everything absolutely clean and beautiful.
What to say about the owner Maika? She makes your stay like being at home, more than that, like at your grandma's home !
Breakfast is awesome, she always surprises you with a new cake or any other Spanish deli like tortilla de Patata, serrano ham, etc.
Case Os Vilares is definitively worth the money and the time. Enjoy Santiago and whole Galicia, just ask Maika to give you some hints about the places to go.
I hope I can repeat here and bring also more friends with us. Gracias Maika !

Room Tip: We rented the three rooms villa, that they call "el apartamento". Very big with beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After the Comino de Santiago, our spouses join us. Stayed at Casa Rural Os Vilares just on the outside of Santiago. A quiet and peaceful location, 10 to 12 minutes into the city and a great place to walk in the country side.
Clean, clean and tidy in a brilliantly restored farm house.
Maika, Casa's owner was helpful, warm and generous. She was a delight to talk to and always made you feel comfortable and welcomed. When we left Maika insisted on taking us to the station.
Her fresh food was above what was expected. The kitchen was available to made dinner and snacks.
Out of the many places I have stayed over the years..... It was hard to leave. I recommend Casa Rural Os Vilares without reservation.
The only concern is finding it the first time..... it isn't the location, it is the Spanish road signs...
Finally I agree with the posted ratings. If I am back in the area, I will go out of my way to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMT-SALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A real gem. The owner, Maika, is a wonderful host and made us feel at home right away. The property is a beautifully restored farmhouse with spacious rooms that are spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

Our group of four stayed for 4 days and had a fantastic time. After walking the Camino this was the perfect place to unwind: we had large, delicious breakfasts each day (great espresso and cakes too) and lots of room to sit around and relax after a day of sight seeing. In the evening we cooked our own meals and sat around the fire chatting with the other guests. 

Maika gave us great directions and advice on things to see and do. She also drove us to an early a.m. bus in the city, after another marvellous breakfast. It was difficult to say goodbye because it felt like we were saying goodbye to an old friend.  My wife and I have stayed in dozens of B&B's over the years and this was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed at Os Vilares for a week with a group of friends and had the place to ourselves. The rooms are very comfortable and the place is very quiet. Nothing was ever too much for Maica: she prepared a different savory dish every day for breakfast, cooked her own fresh eggs, provided helpful hints, drove us into town and had a fire going in the lounge fire place every evening.when we came home. Definitively a place to go back to, even though the week was a bit wet and cold.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A perfect base to explore Santiago and the stunning Galician countryside. Only a short drive from the city centre where there is ample parking, this lovely converted farmhouse is homely, comfortable and well furnished. Maica is the perfect host, full of smiles and passion for the local area and she makes a mean breakfast too. Eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and home made cakes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTomWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avellino, Italy
Level Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Maica, the owner, is a great host, helpful, fully informed about what's happening in the area and what to see and visit.
The place is quiet, located in the countryside but just outside Santiago: you can afford to walk to the Cathedral, or you'll be there in 5 minutes car ride. There is a pleasant garden and the whole buiolding is very comfortable, absolutely tidy, quiet and warm. We had a great experience there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photos_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
5.0 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
3.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
730 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,335 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
768 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
#27 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural Os Vilares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural Os Vilares

Property: Casa Rural Os Vilares
Address: Os Vilares n08 (Meixonfrio) | Lugar Osvilares 8, 15890, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing