We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Large and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed for 2 nights. Our apartment was huge and very well equipped; good linen and a nice kitchenette (although given the numerous restaurants in Santiago you'll probably only use it for breakfast or snacks). Great shower. We have VERY limited Spanish and so communicating with the manger was difficult, but he was very nice and eager to please, he was lovely towards our kids. The apartment is in a great location, very close to the historic centre. Parking is pretty much impossible nearby, but the manager recommended a good carpark about 1km away. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I read the reviews of the other people who stayed in this place and everything they said were right on point. We stayed here for 8 days. My step daughter was getting married to a nice Spanish guy and she actually found the place. Since she speaks perfect Spanish she was able to talk to Manuel(the owner) about my special need. I am handicap and needed a place where I can park my rented electric schooter and indeed you have a little spot inside that I can park it. The bedroom and bathroom are clean and just a perfect size. The cleaning lady comes everyday to do her daily cleaning and change towels and sheets. Since we don't speak spanish we downloaded (translator app) and that was really helpful. This place is a walking distance to the shops, restaurants and the cathedral. We really liked Manuel because he is a nice and accommodating. Amazing that even though he doesn't speak English his place is fully booked. The rate is very reasonable. The only problem is the wi-fi. Since the walls are concrete signal is not very good but if you stay outside you will have a signal. Another down side is that there is nobody to talk to if you have any questions or concerns. Since we really didn't have any issues this wasn't a problem for us because we are usually out the wholeday. We definitely will stay here again in the future since we know that we will be back in Santiago.

Room Tip: We had a room that had a mini kitchen and another room for my step son and a veranda going out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaksi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I booked the top apartment with two bedrooms (flat 5) to share with two friends of mine. Jose Manuel received us when we arrived and he was an excellent host. He showed us around explained everything in detail. We loved the apartment. I was a pitty we could stay one night only. The place is very spacious, bright, clean and the beds are really comfortable. It was very quiet as well, so we slept like babies. I recomend this place to anyone who wants to visit Santiago. It has a lot of character and there is a back garden that screams "please enjoy your evening wine in my grounds". Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the garden. Perhaps next time i visit Santiago i will spend some time in that lovely garden.

Room Tip: Flat 5 is very good for 5 people and it is very spacious as well. From the kitchenette sky window yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belen187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Unfortunately, we had the same experience as Daniel and Teresa. When we arrived (=we booked through booking.com an apartment for 4 adults), we were offered apartment number 2, on the ground floor. This apartment is completely interior, dark and does not match at all with pictures shown on the website. Kitchen and bathroom are basic, dark and small. Furniture and decoration is different from pictures shown on web, there is no livingroom (='legally, the kitchen can be regarded as livingroom/kitchen, because it contains a seat', as per owner's comment???) and size is definitely no 60 square metres, although our reservation clearly said. When we complained and demanded for a room for 4 adults as shown on the pictures, we were told there were no other rooms available. As we made clear we were not happy at all with the treatment and would leave negative comments with Booking.com, we were ASKED TO LEAVE THE APARTMENT (=imagine, a family of 2 with a baby of 8 months, luggage and baby’s stuff!!!!), based on their rights to cancel reservations. Lucky enough, we found a magnificent room for the same price in the 4* hotel Pousadas de Compostela Virxe da Cerca within the hour with the kind help of a receptionist of a hotel 2 streets down the road. I have posted a picture of what is referenced at as the "livingroom/kitchen", so you can judge.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank SteveRosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This apartment feels like a luxury hotel. The bedrooms are beautiful, with vaulted ceiling and comfortable beds, great views. There was free parking in dirt lots across the street. We did have trouble communicating with the staff, even though he was very nice and tried to please. The kitchen functions, but is set up more like a deluxe minibar- the fridge is full of drinks and snacks for sale. It was a tight squeeze for three in the kitchen, but we managed. Nice coffee machine. There is no living room, but there's enough room in the bedrooms to gather. Check in is only for a few hours in the afternoon- that's when the door is unlocked so you can get in.
Its only two blocks to the old town, with a large park nearby, and shopping just beyond. I would definitely stay here again- well priced and perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincinnatifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#38 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
637 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exe Area Central
Hotel Exe Area Central
#35 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Suites Santiago
Catedral Suites Santiago
#4 of 61 in Santiago de Compostela
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Salle
Hostal La Salle
#8 of 61 in Santiago de Compostela
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo

Property: Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo
Address: Travesia Cruceiro do Gaio No 5, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Cruceiro Do Galo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing