We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hospederia San Martin Pinario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my favourite place to stay on the Camino. To arrive in Santiago and be able to stay in a converted monastery is amazing. However the rooms are quite small as well as the bathrooms. Some rooms appear to be smaller than others. I didn't eat supper here because the menu each night, (I stayed for two nights followed by another night after returning from Muxia) was quite basic so I preferred to go into the old quarter and eat with other pilgrims some of the wonderful Tapas!
Breakfast was excellent with a buffet. A good selection to satisfy most tastes.
The reception staff were incredibly busy but helpful as well. I was glad to have some laundry done and returned in record time. The bar area was very pleasant but you couldn't get any snacks with your drink which was disappointing. There is a daily tour of the monastery and church. The location is opposite the Cathedral and it is also within walking distance of a large car park. There are some pilgrim rooms available on the top floor. They are an unmodernised version of the hotel bedrooms and cheaper. I would definitely stay here again if I got the chance as the staff and monastery were memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We treated ourselves to,staying at San Martin Pinario after completing two weeks on The Camino de Santiago. The location is just across the square from the Cathedral of Santiago.

The building is incredible. It is like stepping back in history staying here.
The rooms are not large, however, the bathrooms are completely modernized. Since we spent most of our visit wandering around town, the rooms more than met our needs. Compared to staying in hostels or albergues, this was luxury.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

location , location and location !
the best location on Santiago !
the room and bath room very clean and the mattress are excellent
a very pleasant sleep after a long way !
and the best of all , the service on the front desk - the are so nice and helpful !
is always a pleasure to come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drukmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good accommodations, but it is an upscale hostel. Can not beat the location, across from the cathedral. The breakfast was continental, but with unlimited coffee and tea. Rooms were small but very clean, all views were limited because do its city center location. The convenience wins out

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deacondawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a monastery converted into a hotel. It is a beautiful building and if you have just completed a camino trail hike you should stay here once. The shared good spirit between the pilgrims is uplifting after the hard work of walking one of the camino paths. However, it reminded me of living in student residential halls at university when I was an undergraduate. The rooms are tiny, there are none of the usual hotel trimmings, like soap or shampoo, the food in the dining hall is so basic and poorly prepared that I thought I was definitely back in student accommodation and the wifi only works in a few parts of the building, mainly the common room downstairs...and it only works intermittently. The laundry service on the otherhand is very inexpensive - 7.50Euros for uo to 5 kg. However, they lost half our washing and gave us somebody else's laundry. This would not be a problem if the laundry staff had been able to speak any English...it took several hours to hunt down the missing bits of everybody's washing, which can be stressful if you have a plane to catch. Despite all that, the staff were lovely and we enjoyed the experience of having stayed there...but next visit, we'll stay in one of the nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the end of the Camino pilgrimage. Location ia wonderful, righr behind the cathedral and surrounded by many bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. But the room was very small, the twin beds too tiny to sleep comfortably, shower room unit so small I could hardly move my arms. And I am just a medium size Asian man.

There was no wi-fi in the room--you need to go to 1F restaurant to get connection, which was inconvenient.

Staff at reception desk could be friendlier, considering many (or most) of the guests were tired pilgrims who had just finished walking for more than a hundred kilometers and who could use a little smile. Staff at the restaurant, however, were very nice.

The hotel was part of my pilgrimage package arranged by a travel agent. Given how much I paid the agent, the quality of the hotel fell way short of my expectation. For experience, it was okay to stay here, but it wasn't worth staying for more than one night. You may also want to book directly with the hotel, which I found out cheaper than via booking.com etc.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank DPrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Even if you don't walk the Camino de Santiago, just staying in this hotel seems in character with a visit to the city and the cathedral. The rooms are basic, small, and almost austere, but spotlessly clean with modern bathrooms. The building and public areas maintain the feel of a monastery. Both food and lodging are surprisingly inexpensive.

Although right next to the cathedral, we found the hotel entrance a little hard to find. If you arrive by car, driving to the hotel is restricted and the nearest public parking is a long walk to the front door, especially in the rain. There is a much shorter path through a back door as you leave, but the door bell doesn't work so it can't be used as an entrance. And don't expect any help with your bags. We found the staff to be very good, but there just aren't very many of them.

Overall, we loved the feel of the place and think it was a definite addition to our experience in Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 878RichardF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rua Villar
Hotel Rua Villar
#23 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia San Martin Pinario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia San Martin Pinario

Address: Plaza de la Inmaculada 3, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £37 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia San Martin Pinario 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hospederia San Martin Pinario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia San Martin Pinario Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing