We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place To stay in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

It was our second time in Santiago and in San Miguel. It has a great location , 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral, but in a very quite place, near great restaurants around the corner. As we were starting the Camino, they received our luggage and kept it until we arrived. Excellent views from most rooms. Modern and elegant. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valitabuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a week's walking the final section of El Camino. It's an excellent small boutique hotel in a great location in the Old Town close to the Cathedral and the main square. We had a superior room on the top floor with views out to the rear over the hotel's terrace. Everything was top quality, our room was very spacious and the staff very helpful. We didn't eat an evening meal either night as we were out with friends but the breakfasts were excellent. The only problem was that 2 nights just weren't long enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stronty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here just for one night and was impressed by the quality and character of the room and the location since its just a small walk to the Cathedral and has lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Its situated on an old square that is surrounded by churches and historic buildings so if you are in one of the rooms (as we were) at the front of the hotel the view is great. The complementary wifi worked well all over the hotel and was fast. We can't comment on the hotel breakfast since we chose to eat in the town where the price was about 4 euros for a continental breakfast. The only negatives I could see with the hotel is that for parking you have to use the public car park which is ok and costs 10 euros per night but is a bit of a trek to the hotel if you have large suitcases. The only other niggle was that we were on the top floor and found the shower to be a bit weak, apart from these though we were very pleased with this hotel and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Most rooms to the front have small seating areas overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

the hotel was in a great location to get around the old town. the staff were very friendly & most helpful. we had a great bedroom overlooking the terrace. bedroom was very spacious & very comfortable. wifi was available all over the hotel. there was a lovely restaurant serving great meals. the bar was a good place to have a drink before dinner. there were lots of bars very near the hotel also serving great tapas. we would stay at that hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A lovely Hotel with a brilliant location, close to all the Historical buildings. A very picturesque area, quaint and lots of character. Finding the Hotel took a little time however when we arrived the Reception staff '' Louisa'' was very welcoming and friendly.The rooms were spacious with a Terrace overlooking the small rear Garden. They are very well maintained and a very good supply of toiletries were available in the Bathroom. We were 2 couples booked on B&B basis. The breakfast was to say the least very disappointing for the price it cost. Minimum amount of fruit and cereal was available, the Melon and Pineapple was cut so thin it actually appeared transparent( how they achieved this is still mind baffling). In a country where fresh fruit is abundant and very cheap we found this amazing. On the 2nd morning the cereal dispenser was empty ( this was less than 30 mins into Breakfast serving time) we showed and informed the member of staff who shrugged and left. Later we spoke to another member of staff who said no cereal had been purchased and they were very busy ( Hotel has a total of 17 rooms) but it would be available for the next morning. As we are not lovers of Spanish Serrano ham or natural yogurts, cereal and fruit was the basis of our breakfast. For 8.50 euro per person for breakfast we expected a lot better. There are plenty of small Cafes and Restaurants very close by and that is where we had breakfast on the 3rd morning at half the price and ample amounts available. The Hotel itself is well run but whoever is responsible for Dining Room is certainly not up to speed on catering.

Room Tip: Should you wish to have a nice quiet room ask for one overlooking Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is in the centre of the old town and is in a good area. There is no parking but nearby are undercover public carparks and a discount is offered from the hotel. It serves really good breakfasts and the evening meal is also lovely and worth having dinner. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and quiet. Staff are the most obliging we have met anywhere. Luisa is very good at reception. Our experience was most enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMiguelSantiago, Gerente at Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

thank you very much for sharing your comments and for choosing our hotel during your trip around Galicia. We are so glad to read your good experience at our place.
Best regards
San Miguel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Clean, modern, comfortable, well run. The neighborhood is charming with many places to eat and drink right at hand. I paid 50 euros for a double room used as a single, a topnotch value. No problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel

Address: 9, San Miguel dos Agros Square, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £46 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing