We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where I would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Correggio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A place where I would definitely return”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Charming small hotel in the old town at short walk distance from the Cathedral.
Entrance is shared with a gourmand restaurant named Tragaluz, but it is absolutely not harming.
I spent one night with my wife and booked a superior room with balcony.
Room was tidy, very quiet, wide and decorated with character.
Beautiful terrace at the second floor where you can enjoy some relax or just a glass of wine.
Remember the place is not accessible by car and you have to walk some 400 yards to the nearest (public) guarded parking (la Salle).
If I had to return to Santiago de Compostela I would definitely return to this same place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giuliano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    84
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
150
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

17 of us spent several nights here in June. Excellent rooms, wonderful food, brilliant wine list and hard-working friendly staff. Have stayed in Santiago several times and this was the best yet. It really was a foodie place to stay.

Room Tip: lift only goes to 4th floor but the 5th floor has a lovely view out over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SascalDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We didnt know what to expect from San Miguel, the price was not far off other 1 and 2 star hotels in the old town, but it thoroughly deserves its 3 start status.

The hotel and rooms were immaculate, light and airy, with beautiful views and the sunshine streaming in from a balcony style window. Bathroom was a good size with powerful shower and plenty of towels.
The staff very welcoming from the minute we arrived, they couldnt do enough to help us. Breakfast was great, continental and all very fresh. Plenty of tea and coffee, juice etc on offer as well.
The rooms have black out curtains that really really do work, and air conditioning so you can close the windows (the streets below were a little noisey at night) and still get a good nights sleep.
The rest of the hotel is a beautiful as the rooms, with a lovely garden and terrace at the side to relax and enjoy the sunshine in.
For the price we paid, it was the best value for money hotel we have ever stayed in! We will be recommending it and going back ourselves again!

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor for the best views and some corner rooms have dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme_R36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was nicely decorated. Very good (though rather expensive) restaurant in the hotel. Convenient location for touristic attractions. There were two issues. PARKING issue: We travel in Europe with car a lot. I used to park in narrow streets of medieval cities and never considered it hard. Here 1) you cannot park near hotel at all. There is a public parking nearby (about 1/4-1/2 of a mile) but you cannot easily walk from it to the hotel if you have rolling luggage because of the stone roads. You can drive to the hotel to drop the luggage. But this is where the advantage starts. The entrance to the old city is physically blocked. You have to call police to beg to unlock it (there is a small speaker near the entrance to the city that you can use to communicate with the police). Imaging they do not speak English at all.. We left our car on a pedestrian road side (praying for no fine) and walked to the hotel. They explained that we have to say key words: name of the hotel and luggage. They also added that the police may reject our request.. But what they forgot to mention that there was only one entrance to the city which we could use.. After trying the key word with the police, we listened a long speech in Spanish with the gates stayed locked.. We had to return to the hotel and learned that we probably tried a wrong entrance.. When we asked them to show us that entrance physically (GPS failed to do so) they initially refused. But after we said we have to cancel our reservation, one of the ladies agreed to show us the way.. HEATING issue: it is funny but they said they switched off the heat of the rooms after May 1. You can only use air-conditioning.. It was rather cold in the mid of May we stayed there. And it was rainy, we were wet. Air in the room was very cold.. I got soar throat in the morning.. As an advice, there are hotels outside the old city.

Room Tip: My advice to use taxi between the parking and the hotel (it is about 4-5 Euro). I feel it makes se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor2014Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This 3 star hotel is situated close to all the major tourist attractions (and there are many!), with the cathedral being a 2 minute walk away. The staff were charming and very helpful. We chose to pay extra for a larger room with an enclosed balcony overlooking the terrace restaurant, it was of ample size with a good-sized bathroom with a bath and very clean. A slight quibble here, even though we were on the fourth floor we could hear the constant piped music coming from the garden during the day, we had to close the windows and turn on the air conditioning to eliminate it.
There is an extra charge for breakfast and it starts at 8.30am which is a bit late if you want to take a tour or have an early flight. We did not have breakfast, but it looked fine from what we saw. However we did have dinner in the garden restaurant which was very reasonably priced, and although not outstanding, was perfectly enjoyable with no issues. Our Columbian waiter was helpful and polite.
All in all we would highly recommend the hotel for room size, cleanliness, staff and location.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely hotel, next to the San Miguel church, close to the cathedral. Fantastic room, beautiful window balcony facing out to a lovely view of the street. Really comfortable beds & pillows, staff very helpful, great breakfast, highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: One with window balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location. Large very comfy rooms. Restaurant is first class. We enjoyed the five course tapas. Friendly, helpful staff. Only issue is the name of hotel ... We searched for Hotel Gastronomico with no luck... Name outside in large letters is San Miguel and in very small lettering Hotel Gastronomico. We asked for directions a couple of times and nobody knew it as Gastronomico. Walked right past it a few times.
Will definitely return here in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel

Property: Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Address: 9, San Miguel dos Agros Square, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing