We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Casas Reais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas Reais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very close to all that you want to see in the old city. Rooms are very clean and have a wonderful theme. Breakfast is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. Definiterly a place to stay at Santiago.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very tasteful ambiance, very good staff. Clean and quiet. We were staying at the upper floors. Beats some of the 4 stars out there. Perfect location. Wireless internet works :) (we had some issues related to that in some of our other stays in Spain).
One caveat: the 'continental' breakfast might be a bit frugal and lacking for some. Natural orange juice or coffee, some sliced ham, slices of cheese, jam, butter and galician bread toast. Not bad by any means, but some might expect a bit more for what you pay there.
Cannot praise enough the helpfulness of the staff. Helped us pick some restaurants used by the locals and we were very happy with their pick.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesDesotointesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

...and wonderful staff! We had a corner-room on the 3rd floor with a gallery to both sides. The galleries are narrow, but sitting and reading in the sunlight is not a problem. You can see the pilgrims entering the city below. Spanish breakfast, café, something sweet, yoghurt, fruit, very attentive. Take earplugs.
Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place advertises itself as a boutique hotel but boutique B&B might be more accurate. It has about 14 rooms whimsically named after royalty, including Elvis (king of rock, I suppose) and Scheherazade. The pluses are the very friendly staff (of whom there are too few) and the location on the edge of the old city. The minuses are the noise from the adjoining street which makes it impossible to sleep with the window open and the rooms. Of our two one was small with nowhere to put the case while the other. one of two on the fourth floor, was larger but under the eaves and suitable only for a person of very restricted height. Breakfast is included but perfunctory; juice,tea/coffee, yoghurt, toast and jam. No foreign channels on TV. Empty fridge. We had lunch there which took forever as only one member of staff was on duty to deal with everything. It was one of the most expensive of the seven hotels stayed in during a tour of Spain and frankly not worth the money.

Room Tip: Refuse 41 and 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Elegant rooms with attention to lighting, finishes and comfort. Excellent, genial and warm service from the staff - Yokine, Irene and Irene distinguishes this small boutique hotel. Location just inside one of the main gateways into the old town so very convenient and well lit access for walking around late at night in the old town, the disadvantage being ad hoc late night noise. The loft room has views from the skylights out over the roof tops and more peace and quiet. Thanks for my lovely stay!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel's location is both it's strength and weakness. It is very central but the noise in the street went on until past 5am every night. Even with the windows closed it was a bit much, ear plugs helped! We were given a room on the 4th floor with lethal sloping roof. We managed to change to the 1st floor but then had the noise problem. Breakfast was truly just a snack but the coffee was great. Hotel is located in pedestrian precinct and parking was nearby. There are some great restaurants within 2 minutes walk and it was interesting to see the constant flow of pilgrims on their way to the cathedral. Price was reasonable but we wouldn't choose here again.

Room Tip: Not 4th floor. Get room with balcony on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Casa Reais is very easy to overlook only because its exterior is simple and unassuming, and the sign is small. HOWEVER...the Casa Reais is chic, accommodating, and affordable for what it offers...in general, a GREAT FIND!!!

This boutique hotel is smallish/intimate, around four floors, with stairs and an elevator for convenience. Upon entering you are immediately greeted by one of the two very nice women who manage the hotel. The entrance area is small, and there is no lounge to hangout in, but we didn't see this as a problem as our room and its amenities more
than made up for that.

The room was so well decorated and the exposed stone walls and natural wood doors are so beautiful. I don't know who decorated this place but he/she did a great job. The lighting is indirect and soft...the beds are comfortable. The bathroom in dark tiles is very hip, and includes hairdryer, towel heater, and a great shower head.

The hotel is RIGHT on the Camino de Santiago, and is located just as you enter the old town. It has a very good tapas bar, and is steps away from an ATM and a very reasonable bakery. The bottled water and the spinach empanadas at the bakery are as cheap as they come in that city.

Our room was on a corner so we had enclosed balconies on two sides which made it fun to watch people passing below. We were able to see pilgrims arriving to Santiago with the excitement and reverence on their faces of having finally arrived.

At first my sister and I were disappointed that this hotel does not have a computer that we could use to check train and bus schedules, however, the managers were so gracious to research everything for us and make reservations for us online. I can't stress enough how much this helped make our stay so positive!

I want to mention also that from this location you can walk to the nearby bus stop and easily catch a bus to the bus or train stations...MUCH CHEAPER than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Herradura
Hotel Herradura
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#14 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Praza Quintana
Hotel Praza Quintana
#6 of 78 in Santiago de Compostela
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Nicolas
San Nicolas
#7 of 78 in Santiago de Compostela
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas Reais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas Reais

Address: Casas das Reais 29, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £42 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas Reais 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical name of Casas Reais has served as an argument to design a theme hotel with 11 exclusive rooms and different, inspired all in real houses - some historical and others from pop culture - designed to discover the favorite fictional character each. This boutique hotel is located 150 meters from the cathedral of Santiago at the entrance of the old city from the French route of the Camino de Santiago. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the facility. All rooms at the Casas Reais P.R. are equipped with air conditioning, flat screen TV and private balcony. Just 50 meters from the Casas Reais parking is available. The hotel is located next to the Puerta del Camino, near the Centro Gallego de Arte and the Museo do Pobo Gallego (village museum). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casas Reais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing