We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signage could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is an ancient hostel, renovated to make a hotel. As such, the rooms look old ('cause they are) and the limitations of granite walls make it hard to alter. It does have elevators (mostly), but, if you want breakfast, or to go to the auditorium, you need to climb stairs.

It looks like it was built to handle two classes of clients, the rich, and the rest. By now, most of those floors are really interconnected. But,if you take the wrong elevator, the signs don't direct you to all the rooms. Room 417 was not in the range of any of the signs from the front elevator. Better signage would be appreciated.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Propietario at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We note your comments that will help us to improve. We are glad that the rest of your stay was successful.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The building is fantastic, courts, fountains. Could easily be a museum. Very calm too, those old thick walls isolate you from the noise.

Location could not be better, in the square with the cathedral.

It is an elegant hotel, wished I had something nicer to wear than camino clothes but the hotel seems used to having guests that look a bit "shabby" from finishing the Camino. Perhaps it would be a good idea to start the camino with a night there, leave some clothes and then come back.

Great breakfast too with plenty of options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike_fedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and if you do the Camino again, we hope you trust on us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is supposedly the oldest hotel in the world and it is certainly an imposing building with high standards of food and accommodation in an amazing location. However, it seems to be too large for its own good as the service left something to be desired. We received conflicting advice from different members of staff. Also, the entrance for guests is through a rather sinister gate which seems to be there to stop ordinary pilgrims from entering the building if they are not actually staying at the Parador. The staff at the entrance to the building seem to have a role as "Bouncers" which does not give a good initial impression. We did, however, enjoy some really good food in the beautiful restaurant.

Room Tip: Ensure that the room is around one of the courtyards,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. We note your comments that help us to improve.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well, it would be so easy to say how great this lovely Hotel is, but most of it has already been said! So, I will concentrate on the quality of service you will receive from the Hotel Staff during your stay. From the moment our Taxi stopped just outside the door, yes literally just outside the door, it was evident that we were going to be treated like you would love to be treated! The concierge, the lovely ladies on the reception desk were so welcoming! The porter was very engaging and informed us of all of the facilities in our wonderful room. Staff in the Breakfast restaurant was just wonderful, nothing too much trouble and were very quick to replenish any item which was beginning to run low. You were encouraged to sit and enjoy the best meal of the day in your own quiet way and no rush at all. We ate in the Hotel’s restaurant on our last evening, we had booked and a table was reserved for us in an area where later a large party booked, upon our arrival we were asked if we would like to sit a little distance from a possible noisy party, we chose to take up this option. As it turned out there was no noise just a lovely large party enjoying their meal. The food and the choice on the menu we found to be fabulous and the wine recommendations were brilliant too! If you choose to take a night cap on the bar at the end of the evening, you will be spoilt by the bar staff and their knowledge of their trade is exceptional. We were lucky to experience the professionalism and charm displayed by “Albert” who guided us through the choice of cocktails and liquor’s, which we enjoyed thoroughly! So, thank you to the Management of this beautiful Hotel for providing us with the service that enabled us to have a fantastic stay in a fantastic Hotel. Oh yes, the Hotel is beautiful too, but then you know that by reading other reviews!
If you arrive at the Airport a fleet of good quality Taxis are there to greet you and the fixed price taxi fare of 21 Euro’s is a very reasonable price to pay for door to door service.
Enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: I am not sure it matters but we stayed in room 401 and it was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to return to trust us

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Paradores are in spain important buildings that have been transformed as hotels preserving the monuments. This parador is the best in spain as the king and queen use to como to Santiago de Compostela. The building is incredible and the rooms are big and with nice furniture that resembles the time of the kings. Food is superb, attention also and people are friendly. A must go!!! Expensive though.

Room Tip: rooms in floors 2 or 3. avoid 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceciliablume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to return to trust on us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A luxurious hotel in a great location. A historic old building,very old and historic.
It is located in the huge square across the cathedral of St. James.The building used to be an old hospice converted ino a hotel.A building of stone.
There are at least 2 huge courtyards inside the premises.The courtyards have a fountain
in the middle.The courtyard is sorrounded by 3 floors of hotel rooms.The parador is the
best hotel in Santiago de Compostela.The hotel rates are high but includes free breakfast.
The breakfast is excellent.Hotel is very near shopping and dining areas near the cathedral.
Hotel service and amenities are excellent.Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredlacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Manager at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you have loved our breakfast and hope to have the chance to serve you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked two nights at this fabulous Hotel to reward ourselves for walking the Camino. This Hotel is grand and elegant, it sits in the town square adjacent to Santiago Cathedral. The rooms are tastefully furnished and beds super comfy. A generous and delicious breakfast is included in nightly rate as is perfect WiFi reception (rare on Camino). My only complaint would be that some of the reception staff are "aloof", perhaps caught up with the grandeur of their working surrounds! Notwithstanding snooty employees, I would highly recommend this wonderful Hotel in a city bursting with beauty, history and culture.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Manager at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to have the chance to have you with us again. Excuse us if at any time, the reception staff has been "aloof". I will indicate your impressions to the reception staff. Your feedback helps us to improve
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,575 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing