We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must lower your standards when considering Paradors in Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Certificate of Excellence
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must lower your standards when considering Paradors in Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

as they are usually historical buildings that have been changed into a hotel. This is the second visit to this Parador, and it did not disappoint me. Rooms are filled with antiques (or a good facsimile of) and the bathrooms are large and modern. You cannot beat the location of this Parador as it is on the main square of the old part of Santiago; the main church a few hundred yards away. Good breakfast buffet. Beware, Parador will quote a price for room and fullboard (three meals) a day, which is very expensive. Just get breakfast.
Employees can be snooty, ignore and go for the experience. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xelajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    362
    107
    45
    18
See reviews for
302
777
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Treat yourself to a piece of living history. Commissioned by Ferdinand & Isabella in the 1490's as a hospital this Parador is magnificent & updated to a fine hotel & dining experience. Right on Cathedral Square in Santiago de Compostela you're right in the heart of the old city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Unless you are prepared for unsmiling service, poor English skills, creaking and hard to lock doors. I guess being state owned , management of it is not quite up to the standards of 5 star hotels and the staff are not so incentivised. The position is great being next to the cathedral but just behind it is a convent hotel which is cheaper and better as it's quieter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff.
Sorry, and I apologize for it, if you had the feeling of attention of our staff. We usually have positive comments on that aspect, but will pass on your comments to all staff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicheno, Tas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We drove from gijon to santiago de compostella and as we entered the centre of town we thought, this can't be right, the GPS is taking us into the main square and the pedestrian zone. What a location, it was right, ground zero! Then you check-in, the hotel is somewhat overwhelming in grandeur but it has been beautifully modernised and the rooms are fabulous. We had room 401 which faces away from the afternoon sun so we didn't have the aircon issues. The room is long and spacious. We spent 3 nights at this paradore and loved it! Dinner in the restaurant is also a must, just for being in that room alone, vaulted ceilings and grand piano.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KylewithaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is a little like a ship in a bottle......completely contained within the limits of 15th century Spain. Yes, if you look closely you can see the effects of modernization but the overwhelming impression is one of being transported back in time and that impression stays with you as you explore the Plaza and especially the Cathedral of St James, just steps away. What you observe is, for the most part, exactly what people have been seeing for hundreds of years.

Our experience staying one night in this Parador was overall positive (i.e. efficient check-in, clean and bright room, enjoyable meals and friendly housekeeping) however there were a couple of issues, nothing major, that left us a bit nonplused. 1. navigating this complex building layout requires good signage. The scant signage we observed here is confusing and incomplete. 2. Building cooling air was available but not turned on which made for a few uncomfortable early evening hours.

The location of the Parador seems to be in the exact center of everything the historic district has to offer so you can take in all the major sites at least in a relatively brief stroll around. A highlight for us, especially as Catholics, was attending Mass on a Sunday when the Plaza, and the church itself were filled with pilgrims. It was a very moving experience.

Room Tip: With the erratically supplied cool air situation I would recommend requesting a room without afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. Currently, we are improving our AC installation.

I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an extraordinary Parador hotel for many reasons: historic hotel with wonderful ambience right next door to the cathedral, large spacious rooms with gracious decor with all modern amenities and overall outstanding services. Our experiences at the hotel were memorable.

We drove to Santiago de Compostela from Asturia and used GPS to navigate to the hotel. We were a little worried when we drove into the historical Praza do Obriadoiro in front of the Cathedral while dodging throngs of tourists in the square -- there were no signs, no visible parking spaces and only old historical buildings around us. However, as we pulled up our car in front of the hotel, we were relieved to see the hotel staff promptly coming out to greet us, collected the luggage and valet parked the car (underground). The front desk was very friendly and check-in very efficient. A hotel staff took us through two beautiful historical courtyards to our room -- very large and nicely furnished with modern bathroom. In the evening, we had a superb dinner at the hotel restaurant -- excellent food in a beautiful dining room with a live classical piano music. At night, the ringing of the cathedral bells made us feel like pilgrims of medieval times.

While this Parador hotel is more expensive than other Paradors, we highly recommend this hotel because the hotel is itself a destination. We have stayed at five Paradors on two trips in Spain. Our overall experiences with Parador hotels are very positive -- good ambience, room, service and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Although I didn't get my luggage on my same Iberia flight coming from Madrid (which came later in the evening on the next flight) and what accompanies that with a sore feeling yet once you step outside of the airport into Santiago do Compostela you feel amazed. A very nice small city that makes you feel you are walking around a museum. I loved it the second i stepped a foot in it. The hotel is an amazing building of a royal hospital which was built in 1499 to accommodate pilgrims coming to Santiago and trust me you can still smell the essence of history. It is very well kept and the chapel inside is a piece of the art.

The rooms are average though and needs renovation. The amenities is very poor and the squeaking floors can drive you crazy. There are no ventilation in the room and God knows when do they turn the central A/C on because you can not do that from your own room. Accordingly the room, when windows are closed, is somehow suffocating. The mattress and pillows are really painful they are totally uncomfortable. Not all the staff are friendly yet some of them are really very helpful.

In general I had a very nice experience and would love to go to Santiago again soon.

Room Tip: They have limited number of king size beds so if you are in favour of one you better ask for it long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinoLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. Actually, we're changing hotel mattresses and the AC machine

I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Property: Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing