We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel with real personality”
Review of Hotel San Clemente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Nice place, clean, friendly, very well decorated, terrific central location yet quiet. Rooms gorgeous but walls a bit thin so if there are loud guests, it may be rather noisy. I'd stay here again. Recommended.

Room Tip: The balcony is a foot deep. Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comercialpousadas, Director Comercial at Hotel San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, not all customers know reflect the strengths and weaknesses in a fair as he has done. We will seek a solution to the problem of soundproofing time this winter that the hotel is closed.
Thanks for think in Pousadas when you think in Compostela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is really great hotel!
Small, friendly, clean, nicely located, ets, ets. Staff is very hospitable, ready to help at any moment.
Rooms are elegant. From several rooms you could enjoy wonderfull view of the Cathedral.
Can recommend everybody.

Room Tip: No diffrence! Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Customer,

It was a pleasure to accommodate you in our establishment. Thank you very much for your comment. We hope you have the opportunity to revisit Compostela. We will appreciate that you check our website to take the advantage of the best prices.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is such a quaint hotel situated about 3min walk from the Cathedral and 2mins from main cafes and bars of Santiago de Compostela. As you enter the hotel you notice how clean and tidy it is and the extremely helpful and friendly staff are an asset to this establishment. I stayed in the attic room with the view of the Cathedral. Very pleased with the cleanliness and quality of bathroom. This hotel also offers a buffet breakfast for 6.50Euro which is WELL worth it as there is pastrami, salami, chorizo, breads, fruit, cereal, teas, coffee, cheeses etc. EXCELLENT value for money.

Room Tip: Twin room on top floor with Cathedral views is hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaritaTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you very form you kind comment. If you want to have the same room in the next stay in Santiago, please inform us and we will try to keep for you.
Thanks for thinking of Pousadas when you think of Compostela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

That was my second time at San Clemente! A quite nite cozy hotel! There isnt a 24h reception, however there were always someone when I needed it! near the city center, on a walking distance from the cathedral! Rooms were nice and clean! Would definetly come again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in the 3 sleeper "apartment" which was nice and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although their English wasn't too great. The bathrooms was a little dirty (mouldy), but everything else was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaanWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel is part of the Pousadas de Compostela group. I originally booked to stay in Hotel Airas Nunes and Hotel Virxa da Xerxe but very close to travel I was told that the Airas Nunes was closed on my dates and I was swapped to Hotel San Clemente. I arrived early and was made very welcome, being given a choice between 2 simple but very nice, clean, stylish rooms. I chose one at the back overlooking a small courtyard. The hotel is very conveniently placed, offers a simple buffet breakfast and the staff are extremely helpful but not obtrusive. There was a little noise in the neighbourhood (dogs) during the night but it did not cause me any disturbance. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank T0nyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2007

Spent two nights here after a few days on the coast. We had not seen blue sky whilst on the coast but once we reached santiago it brightened up and we had two great days.
Our room was fine..nothing grand but you are not paying grand prices. Good view over to the cathedral, less than a 5 min walk away. Who would want to be in the heart of the old town anyway?
Agree with other reviews..breakfast was not much to be desired in a featurless celler...
would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#38 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Entrecercas
Hotel Entrecercas
#31 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Belvis
Hotel Mirador de Belvis
#19 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Airas Nunes
Hotel Airas Nunes
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#34 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Clemente

Address: Rua San Clemente 28, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Clemente 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar and cozy hotel in a building that is part of the historic-artistic centre of Compostela, 150 meters away from the Cathedral and in front of the emblematic building of the Colegio de San Clemente de Pasantes, funded in the beginnings of the XVII century by the Archbishop Juan de San Clemente y Torquemada.In the ancient times this street was one of the places with more student activity, especially during the second half of the XVII century and part of the XVIII.The origin of this school ended with the privileges of the students of Fonseca, the only hall of residence of the University of Santiago until that moment. It has 10 rooms decorated with antique furniture and fully equipped type, with exclusive bathroom, TV, radio, wifi, telephone, desk, safe, minibar, air conditioning and heating.With the possibility of extra beds or cots (on request) in the room, max 2 services Newspapers, terrace, heating, laundry, elevator, small lounge, parking (fee), free WI-FI throughout the hotel. At the reception desk provides advice on car hire, tours, activities, museums and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing