We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal”
Review of O Curro da Parra

O Curro da Parra
Reserve with
O Curro da Parra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Best Galician modern cuisine next to Abastos'local market.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We tried this restaurant after seeing other reviews on T/A. Although we were looking at what was near our hotel and not the top-rated - this just happened to be both so we tried it. The food was amazing. We had battered prawns and crab served with avocado mousse to start - delicious. For main I had chicken ravioli and it was incredible - the filling was so smooth and tasty. My husband had belly pork. For dessert we both had the chocolate fondant served with mohito ice cream - the fondant melted in the middle and my husband loved the ice cream. The service was attentive - even though there was only one waiter for the upstairs. He was also good with recommending a wine for my husband. The whole meal came to around 30 Euros per head which is excellent value for what we had. The restaurant is off the main tourist track, being a 10 minute walk from the cathedral - but well worth going to - highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tartlette83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    372
    98
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This place was number 1 on trip advisor, the food was amazing, there friends ate great good and drank wine all for €50 in total. You can't boom through the website and it only opens at 8.30pm, but well worth the wait. Abit of the beaten track and hard to find. Yummy

Helpful?
Thank Sadie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Santiago”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had dinner here last night in the upstairs restaurant. Friendly well informed staff, helped us choose a different wine although we love Albariño. Starters of Iberican croquettes and crab with avocado mousse were light tasty staters. We followed with sea bream in shellfish sauce and chicken ravioli. The latter had the thinnest pasta I 've ever eaten in the most delicious sauce. Chocolate fondant with mojito ice cream was a good finish. Amazing food from such a little kitchen produced by people who know and care about food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hepzibah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A fantastic little restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our recent short break to Santiago de Compostela prompted some research into local restaurants and two or three clearly stood out above the rest. So on our first evening there we opted for the one rated number 2 by TripAdvisor O Curro da Parra. It took us a while to find it as the map provided by the Parador (I'll review that separately) was pretty useless but it was worth the search. The restaurant is small and cosy - basic furniture and table dressing but very comfortable. For once we decided not to go for a tasting menu but to order al la carte. The menu is short but with absolutely mouth-watering dishes.

As ever we ordered to share so our first course was the Fresh green salad with seasonal vegetables, orange vinegar and hazelnut crumbs - Stunning. The seasonal vegetables were baby root vegetables with loads os crunch and the dressing was sublime.

The wine we started with was Quinta de Muradella Alando blanco a Galician white. Just perfect with this meal.

Next we went for the Buey de Mar (crab) handpicked and served with avocado and pickled cucumber. Again just lovely. I would have liked a bit more pickled cucumber but overall it was a great dish with full on flavour.

The third of our starters was a dish of crispy prawn and basil rolls served with romesco sauce. Yum. It is difficult to find the superlatives to describe how good this meal was.

Our next dishes were chosen from the main course section of the menu but we asked for half portions so again we could have three choices. First up Salt baked cod with black beetroot puree and green peas. Those who know will recall that I loathe beetroot but on this evening I was enchanted by the way the beetroot had been cooked. it was pureed with squid ink which gave it a fantastic flavour. The cod was well cooked and if there was anything that let the dish down it was the rather large and slightly hard peas.

This was going so well we had finished our white wine by the third dish and had ordered a red to go with the mains. This was a very interesting one. Our waiter (who we understand is part of the team who run the restaurant) was wearing a T shirt with a decal on it saying 65 Road SW5. We asked why...as you do, and were told that it was where some of the friends who run the restaurant stayed when working in London. When they set up they restaurant they arranged with a vineyard to have a particular Galician wine made for them and named it after that address....so we had to try it. And it was very good.

On to our next dish. Wonderful chicken ravioli coked in its own juices and served with finely sliced sautéed French beans. Really delicious with thin ravioli and a very well made jus.

Our final dish in this section was a a slow braised pork belly with parsley mash and tomato chutney. Just divine. These guys are brilliant at getting the flavours right - intense but not overpowering. The pork belly was wonderfully tender and the parsley mash pale green, smooth and yummy!



This really was a first class meal but we were flagging a bit so decided not to have dessert. There was no cheese offered on the menu but a request to our charming waiter resulted in a great platter of Galician cheeses being produced with no trouble at all.

The whole meal had been accompanied by some wonderful home baked bread which went beautifully with the cheese.

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough but if you go, do make sure to book. They don't open the kitchens until 8.30 but by 9.00 it was full.

The overall cost for the two of us with 2 bottles of reasonably priced wine and a tip was under €100 and worth every cent!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GabbyStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great food and Friendly service!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A little off the track, found the restaurant through Tripadvisor and took a wander around to find the restaurant.Once I found it I made a reservation for 8.30- the time the restaurant opens.
Tapas type restaurant, everything was fab and the friendly waiters recommendations were very welcome. Very reasonably priced also!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Curro da Parra also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to O Curro da Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing