We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Santiago, both for tourism and business.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hesperia Peregrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Peregrino
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Santiago, both for tourism and business.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Ideal location in Santiago both for tourism and business. In my case, I arrived at Santiago de Compostela after my pilgrimage to the city. Very close to the city center (Cathedral and main attractions). The staff (reception, rooms and restaurant) was very attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_mayoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    324
    161
    39
    16
See reviews for
129
268
35
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
511 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

worst hotel we were booked in Portugal during our 8 day tour.... worn carpeting all around ..mini room to deal with besides the fact that it was practically below Street level ...didnt change it since it was only for one night otherwise ... absolutely needs refurbishing starting outside ... positive point is that its located near the center so you can walk down to the cathedral and city center ...food provided was adeguate but nothing exceptional

Room Tip: dont take the rooms at or below Street level ...and one day is enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybaloney187888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is very correct, clean and reasonably priced. Rooms are standard sized and service was friendly and efficient. Not far from the city center, and quite near the railway station makes it a good option for business travel. Without being super memorable, it is a good option when in Santiago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVedrenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Was on a group tour to this beautiful city. Hotel was a bit of a let down. Elevators were ridiculously slow. Staying on the 8th floor did not help. Room was comfortable. Bar was great with Jesus being outstanding. About a 10-15 minute walk to the city/cathedral. Internet access was terrible. Did not work except in lobby. Buffet had good choice but service was not the best I have seen.
Given choice I'd probably stay somewhere else next time. Pool was a definite assett.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

At last a good hotel on our coach tour. Lifts working ,and a nice room overlooking the swimming pool. The food was good, nice puds and the only minus was queuing for meals. It was a bit of a walk into Santiago, but it is worth it.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool are quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siennamember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights, when I checked in I was offered breakfast at a discounted price if I signed up for all three. Seemed like a bargain, but I wouldn't do it again. Although there was plenty on the buffet, it didn't all seem that fresh. The coffee was machine coffee, however, there was a wide selection of tea.
The room was of a reasonable size and clean, but to use the safe you had to pay a 30€ deposit and get a lock from the reception. I had a view that looked toward the old city. The television was old, and as tends to happen in Spain had limited English channels.
The swimming pool was only open from 11.00 - 20.00 and when I went to use it no one could find the key.
My room looked back over the old city, which is about a 15 - 20 minute walk up hill. There was a mini bar,but I didn't use it. The staff I came into contact with we're friendly. The occupancy of the hotel seemed to be mainly tour groups and business people.
A coat of paint on the outside of the building would tidy it up a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davcol_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had pre-booked this hotel for the final 2 nights of our self drive holiday. The main reason we booked this Hotel was for the outdoor swimming pool in the hope we would get decent weather, which we did. Had some difficulties locating it but that was down to lack of research on our part. Free car park out front, where we abandoned the car for a few days. The Hotel itself is modern and clean. Check in was very straightforward with English speaking receptionist. Well happy with the room which was comfortable and quiet. Nice poolside area, with bar & decent gardens. However, the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Also you couldn't get drink service to your sun bed. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Thought internet fees, bar beverages etc were on the high side.

The walk into the Old Town takes about 20 minutes. When you reach the old town you immediately enter the busiest part of the town with most of the restaurants, bars amalgamated around these few streets. The Old town itself is really lovely and its nice to wander along the narrow streets. Alternatively, turn right before going into the Old Town and you will be in the main shopping area of the city, which looks and feels like most other Spanish cities we visited in the area.

Was concerned that it might be an overly religious place and quite boring but this was not the case. A lot of students about bringing a lot of life to the area. Would recommend as a city trip and yes would recommend the Hesperia Peregrino.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Santiago
Gran Hotel Santiago
#31 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#19 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Peregrino

Property: Hesperia Peregrino
Address: Avenida Rosalia de Castro s/n, 15706, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Peregrino 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location in the new city area, the Hesperia Peregrino hotel puts you within reach of everything that makes Santiago so desirable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, NHHotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Peregrino Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Hesperia Peregrino Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing