We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The loveliest of osso buccos pero...........”

A Curtidoria Restaurante
Reserve with
A Curtidoria Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a fantastic evening in one of the most emblematic places in the heart of Compostela.Nineteenth century house, minimalism intelligently conjugated with the original structure, private room with a reminiscent of the art deco, antique Chinese furniture in red and black ... patterned wallpaper purchased at a fair in Lisbon and restored for the occasion. Floor boards brought from Russia, red lamps ...In short reverie and culinary art.
Higham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The loveliest of osso buccos pero...........”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A lovely little restaurant in Santiago with a warm atmosphere. I had the Osso Bucco and my wife the mushroom tagliatelle. The Osso was the most tender and moist i have had and the tagliatelle was fine. A good wine list and it is hard to spend more than 60 euros for two with wine. There is a lot to choose from in Santiago but try this and you won't go far wrong.

But......the staff were clearly trying to to cheer up - no doubt previous comments have been mentioned but somewhere the tone being set is clearly putting them off their stride. Come on management your staff are your best asset - it is not just about the food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtidoria, Gerente at A Curtidoria Restaurante, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your visit and for all your comments. For us, the opinions of our customers are very important and will be taken into account.
We are glad that the local and the food has been in his grade.
Hope to see you on a future visit to Santiago.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    203
    65
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Two out of three aint bad....”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Those famous Meat Loaf words were ringing in my ears as we left...

A snapshot:

Entree - grilled asparagus - very good.

Main 1 - lamb casserole - tasty and tender, not bad

Main 2 - ossobucco - dry, lacking in consisitency and below average.

Could have been a lot better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dropkick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACurtidoria, Gerente at A Curtidoria Restaurante, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your visit and leave your comments and ratings. They are very important to us and will help us to improve every day.
We regret not being able to leave a better memento of your visit to A Curtidoria and we'd love to try on a next occasion.
Receive a warm greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently dined here with my Galcian wife. The food was really good: a variety of starters with exceptional prawns. The rice dish did not disappoint either and I can understand it being the speciality of the house. The wine list is varied and well balanced.

But what should have been a fine ambience in a great location was marred by the aloof and disinterested staff. It costs nothing to ask "is everything ok with your meal?" or "would you like anything else?" In this place it was difficult to attract attention and their long faces never once broke into a smile. We were left with the feeling they though they were doing us a favour serving us!

Overall the food made the visit worth it and we will go back on our next trip north but this place needs to lose the attitude.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtidoria, Gerente at A Curtidoria Restaurante, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments.
We are glad that you liked the food orders.
We regret that we have disappointed our service waiters. It is an aspect we seek the special care and usually will congratulate us.
We sincerely wish your visit, and I guarantee you will leave very satisfied with it.
Thank you very much again and received a very warm greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and dervice”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Well prepared straight forward food served by attentive staff in a great location. You will be able to sample finer food in Santiago but for a dining experience this takes a lot of beating.
The risotto ananda was cooked to perfection and I can recommend the Gomariz Albariño to go with it. An excellent evening including drinks for 60 euro before a gratuity.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthLincsPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACurtidoria, Gerente at A Curtidoria Restaurante, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to write your comments. It is important for us to know the opinion of our customers.
We are delighted to know that the local, the food and service have been satisfactory. We strive every day to be well and be recognized by our customers, is the greatest satisfaction that we can have.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks and cordial greetings ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food... but the service still leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've been to this restaurant three times now...each time the food has been good with the rice dishes exceptional but the place lets itself down very badly with the unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of their staff. For example we had reserved a table for 4 in advance and there was a place setting for four people but only three chairs. The restaurant was busy and no attempt was made to help us find another chair or take our coats which then had to be draped on the chairs. The food service was slow with an inordinate amount of time between courses. The food arrived on stone cold plates and it was obvious that some dishes had been waiting on the pass for others to arrive.

I like the situation and atmosphere of this restaurant but I feel the waiting staff let the kitchen down badly. Each time I go it is no better.

The menu is varied and some dishes are excellent. but don't expect service to match the prices.

Room for considerable improvement.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalkerSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtidoria, Gerente at A Curtidoria Restaurante, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your visit and leave your comments. They are all taken into account and help us to improve every day.
Special thanks their high valuation of environment of our restaurant and the quality of our food.
All our staff (some already known to you), perfectly remember your visit to our restaurant and when you came to your table, the restaurant was full and our staff had no time to realize the late arrival 4th person and to place your chair on time. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused.
Then everything seemed to have discoursed normally, with positive feedback from the guests to leave the restaurant.
We hope to continue his visits in the future and that these situations are compensated with the quality of our food and the general atmosphere of the place.
A greeting. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Curtidoria Restaurante also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to A Curtidoria Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing