We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING, WONDERFUL, UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got way more than we paid for here. The prices are quite reasonable since the hotel is a few minutes out of the city center. This is great because, not only do they have a free shuttle to take you to and from the city center but you have the bonus of a truly lovely place with fabulous gardens and a peaceful sleep.

We were stunned at the room we got...it was more like a townhouse...with a living and dining area and bathroom downstairs and a bedroom and bath upstairs. French doors from the living room led out to a screened porch area overlooking the gardens. It was in the building across from reception.

What a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mojaquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The essential feeling of being a valued guest is completely missing. You're not really welcome here, you're simply a necessary inconvenience from which the hotel makes money. The city of Santiago da Compostela is based on values which this hotel completely lacks. The junior staff seem friendly enough but management practices are based on the hotel's agenda, rather than guests' experience and needs. Different departments don't talk to each other: for example, reception can't give you information about catering.
Considering the relatively high costs and the fact that the hotel is several kilometres from the centre, you can find much better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are a choir, visiting Santiago to sing two concerts and take part in the Pilgrims' Mass at the cathedral. Whilst rooms are excellent we have found the staff unhelpful, unaccommodating and brusque. We aren't allowed to use the breakfast room with the other guests but have been relegated to a back room with inferior food and preremptory service - and only have an hour in which to eat it; at the end of the hour a waiter hovers over you until you have eaten your last mouthful, then whips away your plate. We are definitely treated as second class guests. The set dinner menu in the restaurant is excellent and good value, but beware the price of drinks in the bar - make sure you find out the cost before you buy (there's no price list)!
We are very disappointed, particularly as we received such excellent service at the CarrisMarineda hotel in A Coruna before we came here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SloniaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Chose this hotel because it was one of the few with a pool, a must if you are travelling with children. Bedroom was nice and spacious and well maintained. Food in the hotel was good and there was a great choice for breakfast in the morning. The hotel was well kept and there were nice grounds that you could walk around. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

After a long and demanding Pilgrimage, we finally arrived in Santiago de Compestella and spent our first night in an Albergue, received our Compestella, and decided to spend the next night in a hotel. While on the Way, we picked up a brochure (I don't remember where) for the Hotel Los Abetos which offered a special rate for Pilgrims. We could not have been happier. The accommodations were excellent, the room was clean, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the spa, but if it is anything like the rest of the hotel, I am sure it is stellar. They offer a free shuttle service to the city center and have a pool, gym, sauna, tennis court and free wifi. I would highlyrecommend this facility.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Easily the best value of our trip through Spain and Portugal at 72 euros including breakfast. Luxurious room and bath, excellent view. Comfortable beds. We were wowed by the multiple English speaking stations on TV - a far cry from the usual 1 or 2 in most hotels. Dinner menu was limited but the servings were well prepared and tasty. Breakfast was bountiful. Easy on/off the freeway. Free shuttle/return from the city center. Quiet. Our go-to hotel when we return.

Room Tip: Visit Santiago when it's not raining cats and dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our 4th stay in the hotel did not disappoint.
Although a 10 minute drive from the city centre, the free shuttle bus until 9pm makes the hotel perfect for this location.
Beautiful well appointed large bedrooms with two twin beds in each. Massive baths in the en-suites and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Chipaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#20 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
2.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
623 reviews
2.7 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Los Abetos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Los Abetos

Address: Calle San Lazaro, s/n, 15820, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#6 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Los Abetos 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Los Abetos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abetos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing