We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, nice restaurant”
Review of Hotel Ruta Jacobea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ruta Jacobea
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was another slightly larger hotel, not necessarily geared for camino people. Staff was ok, not overly friendly. The room was reasonable. The restaurant was higher priced but they were able to serve some by nice meals. Location was ok and easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here on the last full day of my Camino, stumbling in after 35 km of walking. I was received courteously at the front desk despite my shattered appearance, and was surprised at the very reasonable price for my large comfortable room. The modern bathroom was spotless and functioned perfectly. The enormous bed was comfortable and the room was plain but quiet and pleasant, with lots of natural light. Only drawback to the room was the lack of English language channels on the TV. A bigger drawback to the hotel in general is the lack of any surrounding neighborhood, meaning you're pretty much obliged to eat at the hotel restaurant, which is very good but quite pricy. This place is more targeted at business travelers than pilgrims, however they do offer a discount on the room rate for pilgrims with credential. This makes a very convenient stop if you want to clean yourself up for a rested and refreshed early arrival in Santiago, as it's only 10 km from town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnwitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel had been booked for our group of 10 as part of the Camino. The bedrooms, bar area and dining room were average - no hot water though after a long day's walk. Apart from one waiter, the rest of the staff were rude and dismissive. We knew that we would have no choice of menu but did not expect to have a three course meal virtually dumped on the table in front of us, plates whipped away whilst we were still eating and ice-cream given to us whilst other friends at the table were still eating their main course. Only one waiter spoke directly to us and was pleasant. Service at the bar was non-existent - we had to hunt around the hotel to get service. Breakfast was the biggest joke - broken coffee machine, 2 croissants, 3 muffins, 2 small packs of Special K and a small amount of fruit between 10 of us. When we complained, the only waiter there said that was all there was and walked away! He said he didn't speak any English. We felt like we were an inconvenience being there. We would advise that you seek alternative accommodation when walking the Camino - anywhere would be better than here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathEmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Was quite surprised to find this hotel charged us 50 euros for two salads and an appetizer sized plate of broiled scallops. No drinks but also charged us for regular water and bread that seemed to come with the dinner, but were itemized on the bill.

The room had an absurd shower that sprayed on the floor rather than in the tub, a worn dirty carpet, and truly uncomfortable beds. On a really cold night there was no heat in the room. Most of all was that this room cost twice what other hotels that were in walking distance of it (and so much cleaner and more comfortable) are charging.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara22448800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here on our last part of the Camino. We preferred the earlier places we'd stayed (Hostal Teodora in Arzua, O Acrivo in Rúa). It was nice, but a bit impersonal - bigger than the previous two, bit more up-market. Drawback for us was that the heating was aircon rather than radiators, which made it harder to dry our wet clothes. Bedrooms were clean, if a bit small. Could've done with more blankets too. Good overall.
:)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Its location near the Santiago de Compostela’s airport makes this hotel not a common stop for those doing El Camino. For us resulted in a different and nice stay. If a little dated our room was big at any standard, a welcome change after several nights in small modest places. In fact it had even an emptiness feeling because the furniture was insufficient for the space. I guess that this hotel is more oriented to business and conference travelers so the restaurants level and prices were established according to such clientele. Then, beware that the town’s alternatives for dinner are very limited so you have to go early if want to avoid the hotel´s prices. However the room rate was fair offering a good value as a whole.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

No such thing as a pilgrim special discount price like they advertised on camino. They charge €54 for one person room in April. 3 star hotel with no mini bar(they took out the fridge),dirty carpet,and not so hot water temp in the shower which any pilgrim would desire at the end of the wet and cold day. And most importantly no wifi in the room(at least the one I got). You gotta go out in the hallway or in the lobby. They shouldn't advertise wifi is available in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gally990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurante San Paio
Hotel Restaurante San Paio
#64 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
43 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#23 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
414 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Santiago Apostol
Hotel Santiago Apostol
#56 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel San Jacobo
Hotel San Jacobo
#55 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente
Hotel San Vicente
#57 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
44 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#41 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruta Jacobea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruta Jacobea

Address: Rua Lavacolla 41, 15820, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £42 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruta Jacobea 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ruta Jacobea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing