We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go straight to Santiago…. Don't stop here….”
Review of Hotel Ruta Jacobea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruta Jacobea
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go straight to Santiago…. Don't stop here….”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is located few km from Santiago. A friend recommended me stay here and arrive in Santiago next day early morning…. Does not worth. Plan better to stay in a city before and go straight to Santiago. There is NOTHING to do and the pilgrim rooms are so used….
It is more a hotel to whom go to the airport…. Nothing to the spirit of the Camino….

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabbaticalBrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    34
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
24
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good choice if you want a high standard hotel close to the airport. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from the airport until 11pm. I chose this hotel because I had a late 10pm check-in and a flight the next day.

Rooms are clean, very spacious and modern. Good WIFI reception. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Eating monkfish at 11pm with a glass of Rioja vino tinto was memorable after a long day of flights. Fairly good selection on the buffet breakfast.
Most impressive was the level of service from the staff (especially the young lady who worked both in the restaurant and reception).

Note for Camino walkers: I do not recommend this hotel if you're on your way to Santiago because it is located on the outskirts of the city near the airport on a main road. The location is excellent as an airport hotel. I have walked the Camino and there are better accommodation options for that purpose.

Room Tip: Free shuttle service to and from the airport offered by the hotel until 11pm (you need to call the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was another slightly larger hotel, not necessarily geared for camino people. Staff was ok, not overly friendly. The room was reasonable. The restaurant was higher priced but they were able to serve some by nice meals. Location was ok and easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelownatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here on the last full day of my Camino, stumbling in after 35 km of walking. I was received courteously at the front desk despite my shattered appearance, and was surprised at the very reasonable price for my large comfortable room. The modern bathroom was spotless and functioned perfectly. The enormous bed was comfortable and the room was plain but quiet and pleasant, with lots of natural light. Only drawback to the room was the lack of English language channels on the TV. A bigger drawback to the hotel in general is the lack of any surrounding neighborhood, meaning you're pretty much obliged to eat at the hotel restaurant, which is very good but quite pricy. This place is more targeted at business travelers than pilgrims, however they do offer a discount on the room rate for pilgrims with credential. This makes a very convenient stop if you want to clean yourself up for a rested and refreshed early arrival in Santiago, as it's only 10 km from town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnwitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel had been booked for our group of 10 as part of the Camino. The bedrooms, bar area and dining room were average - no hot water though after a long day's walk. Apart from one waiter, the rest of the staff were rude and dismissive. We knew that we would have no choice of menu but did not expect to have a three course meal virtually dumped on the table in front of us, plates whipped away whilst we were still eating and ice-cream given to us whilst other friends at the table were still eating their main course. Only one waiter spoke directly to us and was pleasant. Service at the bar was non-existent - we had to hunt around the hotel to get service. Breakfast was the biggest joke - broken coffee machine, 2 croissants, 3 muffins, 2 small packs of Special K and a small amount of fruit between 10 of us. When we complained, the only waiter there said that was all there was and walked away! He said he didn't speak any English. We felt like we were an inconvenience being there. We would advise that you seek alternative accommodation when walking the Camino - anywhere would be better than here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathEmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago de Compostela hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Was quite surprised to find this hotel charged us 50 euros for two salads and an appetizer sized plate of broiled scallops. No drinks but also charged us for regular water and bread that seemed to come with the dinner, but were itemized on the bill.

The room had an absurd shower that sprayed on the floor rather than in the tub, a worn dirty carpet, and truly uncomfortable beds. On a really cold night there was no heat in the room. Most of all was that this room cost twice what other hotels that were in walking distance of it (and so much cleaner and more comfortable) are charging.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara22448800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here on our last part of the Camino. We preferred the earlier places we'd stayed (Hostal Teodora in Arzua, O Acrivo in Rúa). It was nice, but a bit impersonal - bigger than the previous two, bit more up-market. Drawback for us was that the heating was aircon rather than radiators, which made it harder to dry our wet clothes. Bedrooms were clean, if a bit small. Could've done with more blankets too. Good overall.
:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Compostela
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcas
Hotel Garcas
#2 of 2 in Lavacolla
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurante San Paio
Hotel Restaurante San Paio
#60 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#58 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente
Hotel San Vicente
#59 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
42 reviews
5.5 mi away
Nest Style Santiago
Nest Style Santiago
#50 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
239 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel San Jacobo
Hotel San Jacobo
#54 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruta Jacobea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruta Jacobea

Property: Hotel Ruta Jacobea
Address: Rua Lavacolla 41, 15820, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruta Jacobea 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ruta Jacobea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing