We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If location isn't important”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If location isn't important”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I agree with all that previous previewer joshuatrumpets has written, with the exception of the location. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the centre of the city (the bus only costs 1euro) from the café area down on the main road. The council offices are opposite the hotel with the local football stadium close by but there is nothing of any attraction anywhere. Nowhere to walk on an evening, unless you would like a coffee by the main road. The hotel has a small garden area at the back with the pool, but other than that there is nowhere outside you would want to spend any time.

Room Tip: All appear to be excellent but if you want something to look out on chose one at the side behind rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindylooCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    156
    47
    6
    7
See reviews for
67
111
8
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel is perfectly lacated in walking distance to the most of restaurants, pub, tapas bars... close to the night life of Pampluna.
As it is mentioned in the title, rooms are very small here (at least I had very small) with as well small bathroom.
Beautyfull building in very nice city;-))

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merano, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The spacious lobby is the first good impression of this hotel. Nice rooms and quick elevators another. As part of a large group of tourists I was a bit surprised seeing how the buffet dining room was managed: the crammed space for the buffet lead to a long and continuous queue for food, with some quickly running out. This should not happen in a hotel of that level. Besides that the rest was definitely up to my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here in early July as part of a tour group.

The hotel looks a bit off-putting from outside - like a shoe box on its end - but inside it is a different world. The lobby is spacious and cool, with various lounges and bars at different levels leading off it.( One reception room has a piano, one of our tour party played it one night, and the hotel was treated to the spectacle of a party of British people of a certain age dancing and singing for about an hour - not in a rowdy way, of course!) There are also meeting rooms and a restaurant at a lower level.

We thought our room was lovely; with large twin beds, a separate dressing area with huge wardrobes and a small but clean bathroom. The twin sinks with large mirrors over are outside the bathroom - in the dressing area in fact - something which we saw more than once on our tour of northern Spain. It's actually quite handy as one person can use that facility while the other is in the bathroom. We also had a safe, mini bar and small flat screen TV, all pretty standard.

Our tour included evening meals with wine, and we could not fault the food. There was a large buffet so you could help yourself - Spanish hotel buffets ae usually very good - with plenty of choice and everything fresh and tasty (and frequently topped up). Unlike some other hotels we stayed in, our tour party was catered for in the restaurant, rather than in a "function" room; and we seemed to have the same menu choices as other people, albeit a bit limited. Having the wine thrown in was a big plus, and they weren't mean about it either as a request for another bottle was speedily met!

On our last day, we did not have to check out till about 3pm, and the hotel obligingly provided our group with a large buffet lunch (including hot dishes) in an upstairs bar, wine included, for about 12 euros per head.

Breakfast was also buffet style, with a huge range of things to choose from both hot and cold and a good selection of freshly prepared fruit.

Staff were all polite and friendly, air-conditioned rooms were cleaned to a good standard every day, beds were comfortable and the sun shone; what more could you ask for?

The hotel also has a nice outdoor pool. I don't think it is heated, but after a day in the sun, it was pleasant enough and several of our party used and enjoyed it. There is also an outdoor terrace attached to a bar where you can enjoy an after dinner drink.

The location is a bit out of town, but there is a small shopping area about 5 minutes walk away with a few bars and cafes, and a very good hardware type store. There are frequent buses which pass close by, and a taxi into Santiago costs between 6 and 8 euros.

Although this seems to be a business type hotel, it caters for tourists very well, and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshuatrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed as part of a motorcycling tour, one of the best hotels we visited. Secure parking, great location close to the old town/ restaurants/bars.Rooms were excellent with full facilities. Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A large fairly modern box like building, 2 kilometres from the centre of town. From the outside it looks like a giant lump of concrete, but don't judge a book by its cover. You walk into a large reception area, where booking- in was efficient. There are several lounge areas leading off which are large and comfortable, and there is a bar and restaurant area on this floor too. Further eating areas are downstairs, which is where our breakfast was served each day. The rooms are on about nine floors and are reached by good lifts. The rooms are modern and scrupulously clean and well appointed. The beds were two large singles with a table between them, and there was plenty of space all round. But...we had great trouble sleeping. The bed covers comprised a heavy blanket, and an even heavier bedspread. When we first got to the room it was very cool from the a/c which worked fine. When we finally retired for the night, we removed the bedspreads because they were ridiculously heavy, and left the sheets and blankets in place. But unknown to us, the hotel switch off the a/c to all of the rooms at night, and it wasn't long before we were awake, sweltering, fiddling with the by now useless a/c controls and removing blankets. After many complaints, our tour rep 'had a word' and the a/c was left on the following night. My wife and I ask only that a hotel should provide a comfortable nights sleep in a clean room, nothing more, and it is surprising how many fall down in this area in preference to providing unnecessary bells and whistles. In the room was a bath with shower over, wash basin and a separate room with w/c and bidet. There was plenty of wardrobe space with a room safe which was a doddle to use, being locked and unlocked with the room key card. Whilst talking of key cards, you are given just one room card on booking- in unless you specifically ask for two. On arriving at your room, you will find a second card in the switch inside the door keeping the a/c going. Leave it there. Do not take it out. It looks like your standard room card, but it will neither open the door or the room safe, so don't get it mixed up or you may find yourself locked out! There was a large outdoor pool where towels are provided, and a changing area for after your swim, a FEW tables and chairs and sunbeds. Buffet style breakfast was adequate. The only gripe we had, apart from the a/c fiasco, was the room lighting. The décor is fairly dark with lots of wood, and the lights were mainly small down-lights which were very poor particularly in the wash basin area, which made shaving difficult. As stated, the hotel is 2 kms from the centre of Santiago, but there is a bus service into town. There is not much around the hotel except for further hotels, other commercial buildings, and the local football ground. But the area is clean and open with bits of green, and if you turn right out of the hotel, cross the road, and walk about 100 mtrs to the bottom, there are a couple of bars on the left, and an excellent Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenunkinoodlenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My brother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However, at check-out time, we saw a charge for 9 euros for items taken from the refrigerator. The desk clerk produced an inventory of the items taken, but when we assured him that we did not use anything, we were promptly given a refund. However, after we left the hotel, we checked our bills again and noticed a charge for 2 meals which we did not make. Other than that, great facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#18 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Congreso
Hotel Congreso
#40 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Santiago Peregrino
NH Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eurostars Gran Hotel Santiago
Eurostars Gran Hotel Santiago
#32 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino

Property: Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino
Address: Rua Miguel Ferro Caaveiro s/n, 15707, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#12 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#14 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oca Puerta del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Camino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing