We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Compostela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here as a treat on the last night of my Camino trip and it was well worth it. A Wonderful hotel in the old quarter of Santiago and a few minutes walk from the Cathedral. My room was large and airy with a very comfortable bed and a huge luxurious bathroom. The staff were all welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was the best one I have had in Spain! I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a touch of luxury at not too high a price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geenie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    249
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
89
209
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

At the price around 90€ in top season (august) you can get all you need visiting Santiago de Compostela. Hotel is located between old town and new town and on the train station side. Most of the crucial town attractions lays in the range of 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.

Rooms are nice, clean, relatively big and with nice small balcony. AC works quiet and very good windows do not let outside noise to disturb you anyway.

Special thanks to the reception staff. They gave us 10 minutes to explain the map and location of main important object. Their restaurant recommendation was also valuable.

Breakfast is very cheap - 5€ per person and worth the price.

On and on, highly recommended hotel in the center of Santiago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

5 of us stayed for 1 night here last week and was exactly what we needed. Location is superb, right on the edge of the old town and next to the car park where we parked. Rooms were spacious, air-conditioned with nice bathrooms and good wi-fi. Breakfast was simple but reasonable (make sure you book the €5 breakfast at reception beforehand).
Above all though was the service. We didn't have anywhere to stay for the next leg of our trip. However, the receptionist spent around an hour for us ringing round hotels in the Orense area to find us a decent place to stay the next night. Not sure what her name was, but she could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

It's a very nice hotel, staff is very friendly. the location is very good, just outside the old town, just crossing the road and you are in the old town streets. The rooms are big and nicely decorated. Bathrooms big as well. the breakfast was ok, the quality wasn't too good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monito_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is located right on the edge of the old town and about 300 meters from the Cathedral. It is also right next to the plaza from where buses to Santiago Airport depart which we utilised when leaving. The hotel reception was excellent providing plenty of information when requested. They also helped by printing off our boarding passes which we received online via email.
We had the Buffet Breakfast included with our stay and it was very extensive offering plenty of variety from bacon and eggs, to fresh fruit, yogurts, cold hams and cheese, cakes and croissants.
We had a double room which came with a separate bathroom. There was also a safe for valuables and a bar fridge. The room was excellent and provided us with else try of room. We even had a balcony that we could sit on overlooking the plaza.
Great Hotel, Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I spend seven nights in this centrally located hotel. We had an Air - conditioned room with ample space, nice furniture, efficient bathroom and fast Wifi internet service.Breakfast was decent and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
292 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Yes there is a porter. But the required steps from the reception desk to the elevator are terrible. Everything else is great -- but you keep coming back to the stairs every time you come or go... Would be a 5 if not for the challenge of the entrance...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Compostela

Property: Hotel Compostela
Address: Rua Horreo 1, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#15 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Compostela 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its wonderful location in the centre of the city, makes it the perfect place to your stay in Compostela, whether if come for tourist reasons or business. located in an hystorical building you will discover a cosy and warm atmosphere full of details like individual air condicioning, free wireless,minibar,safebox..to have your room as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Hotel Santiago De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing