We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice suites in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catedral Suites Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We picked these suites as we intended to cook with local produce whilst staying in Santiago. In the event we never did stay in and cook because it seemed such a shame not to venture out down the streets around the cathedral. However, the suites are kitted out to a very good standard and it would not be a problem cooking for 4 people.
The staff were very friendly, they even came out in a car to lead us back to the suites as we had trouble finding them. That said, they are in a great location, just beside a quiet park area and only a five minute walk to the cathedral.
Unfortunately our rental car did get keyed in our private allocated slot in the underground (guarded) car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John.Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a ground floor apartment, with garden which was an unexpected bonus. The accommodation was fine, particularly wanted the 2 bathrooms since we were 4 friends cycling the Camino de Santiago.
The location was particularly good - a short walk through a park to the town and cathedral.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in the basement apartment. It has a garden which is very nice for eating breakfast etc.. rooms are very clean and modern. the location is approx 5 to 10 min walk from the cathedral and centre of Santiago. it is on the edge of a very attactive park with fantastic s views all around. Would highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I rented two apartments here in late May. The apartments are spacious and very clean. The beds and living room couches are very comfortable. For the price, really, this place cannot be beat. Plus you can do laundry there! The location is good - an easy walk to the cathedral and Alameda park is right across the street. Also there is an excellent restaurant just down the street - Acio. We had the tasting menu here and it was fantastic - they also do a fixed price lunch.

The owner is very helpful and kind. I will definitely return to the Catedral apartments next time I am in Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rialtogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a week. Our apartment has been beautifully renovated, is very clean, well furnished and well stocked. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows excellent. The great location meant an easy walk to anything and everthing this lovely town has to offer. Brilliant. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Santiago de Compostela and can recommend these apartments. They are in an excellent location, near Alameda park and only a 10 minute walk to the cathedral. Having been recently refurbished, the decor is good and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, although storage space is a little limited. Whilst a stock of milk, water, tea and coffee was provided in the kitchen, together with a price list for its use, it would have been nice to be provided with a street map and the locations of grocery stores.

The Wi Fi can be temperamental and only works in certain parts of the apartment. As mentioned by the previous reviewer, the central light well transmits noise throughout the building, which can cause disturbance at night. The doors within the apartments close with a bang, and this noise travels throughout the building. The noise could be reduced if the owner fitted rubber bumpers to the doors.

The road at the front of the building can sometimes be busy and, consequently, traffic noise can be heard in the front bedroom and adjoining living room. The rear bedroom, however, is extremely quiet. On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again when re visiting Santiago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Our initial booking here was for three nights, but we loved Santiago de C so much we ended up spending five nights.

First the pros:
The apartment is very stylish and well equipped, with full kitchen facilities, including a Nespresso machine and a washing machine. It is spotlessly clean. The bed is very comfortable. There is plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The location is excellent being on the edge of a lovely park and a very easy stroll to the sites of the old town, lots of restaurants and bars, the daily fresh food markets, small convenience store and supermarket. The views from both sides of the loft are beautiful, with the living room looking over the park to the cathedral.
Now the cons:
The host didn’t live on site. He arrived only to check in new guests and receive payment. He told us that we could get him at all times by SMS which didn’t prove to be the case as we sent a couple of texts to which we got no reply. He spoke barely any English, and as I imagine a lot of guests come from English speaking countries some grasp of the language would certainly have been helpful!
From a self-help perspective there was no compendium, no local maps or brochures and none of the equipment had operating instructions in English. The Velux roof windows which provide such lovely outlooks have remotely controlled external screens. We asked how to work the screens so as to avoid bright sunlight streaming down on the bed early each morning. Our greeter pushed several buttons on the complicated remote control and said something unintelligible in Spanish before leaving. Unfortunately when both our great minds applied themselves to this remote device, all we succeeded in doing was bringing down one screen on the living room side and pressing so many buttons that the little electronic egg timer on the remote went into overdrive – obviously it was as confused as we were by this time. An emphatic SMS to our absent greeter saw him driving back in traffic much to the chagrin of all parties!
If you’re tall you’re going to spend a lot of time walking in a crouching position because of the very steeply sloping ceilings! Also the central light well of the building conducts a lot of noise from other apartments, especially if they have windows into the light well open.
Oh – and watch out for hidden costs. There was a fairly tatty price list for “mini bar” items but it was printed in yellow which had faded – thus was illegible. We were charged for the milk we used, and even more surprisingly for every Nespresso coffee capsule! Had we know this would happen we’d have had more coffee out – it would have been better and cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blanco Apartamentos Turisticos
Blanco Apartamentos Turisticos
#1 of 61 in Santiago de Compostela
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bolboreta Suites Boutique Apartments
Bolboreta Suites Boutique Apartm...
#4 of 61 in Santiago de Compostela
77 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Suites Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Suites Santiago

Address: Travesia Cruceiro do Gaio no 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catedral Suites Santiago 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catedral Suites Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing