We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot rooms, loud cars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and I were pleased to see that the rooms were a little bigger than the typical European rooms. Decently cleaned. The hotel is located about 10 min walking distance to the old city. Good luck trying to find parking on the street. You are better off paying the 8 euros to park in the hotel garage, which is super tiny! You better have your best driver handy for this one. The worst part about this hotel is that there in no A/C! Even for late September, the room was hot, and I am not the type to complain about heat. I couldn't even sleep! We decided to open the window, but now you're faced with another battle....the loudness of the endless cars passing by. Needless to say, we did not sleep a wink. Good luck.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that does not face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is accessible for those arriving by car, but the rooms are quite small and there's no A/C!!! it was awful we couldn't sleep - with windows closed and no air it was too hot, but with windows open it was very noisy because of the cars constantly passing by.
In our first room there was blood on the sheets and the overall impression was that it wasn't clean enough. Another room that they gave us was a bit cleaner though

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenshoesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

There are two Santiago de Compostela city: The old, which has in
its main tourist attraction the Cathedral.
And the other, cosmopolitan, current, day to day.
Hotel Ciudad de Compostela is located
practically on the border between old and new.

Santiago is just all up and down, and steps for all
sides. To go to the Cathedral there are two paths: to climb a ladder
of 75 steps or get around by av. Lugo.

The hotel has paid parking places, but you can park on the street free.

The breakfast buffet, paid, may be taken at the hotel.
There is a cafeteria at a more affordable price, too.

The receptionist Juan is very professional and help with information
tourist, especially on the Cathedral.

New hotel with comfortable apartments, mini-bar, safety box.
The drinks in mini-bar has a fairly low price,
difficult thing to see in hotels.

Excellent lighting in the room. The cost-benefit ratio is very good.
Easily accessible for those arriving by car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfredo_Pinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel is not far from the centers, only be prepared for a lot of steps to get there.
The rooms are OK, only the traffic light are quite loud :-)
The breakfest is an express one, so don't expect much.
Near of a shoping center if you need one.
For parking there is a garage or you can find free one near the hotel (we found it in front of the hotel)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This hotel, part of a large Spanish chain, is located on a main road approximately 500 metres from the Santiago old town. The walk to the old town would take an average person around 15 minutes, but there is a very steep flight of steps immediately after the hotel which older or disabled visitors may find difficult.
The hotel has a reasonable, if smokey, restaurant/bar and the staff were all friendly. The rooms are adequate if not especially exciting. The room's minibar was good value - a bottle of beer was only €1.80, which is less than half the typical price in my experience. Breakfast a very basic but large croissant with good coffee. There is no need to pay to park in the cramped car park as there is ample parking on the Ave. Lugo or the residential/business estate beyond the Ave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is a modern comfortable hotel just outside the historic centre. It’s a bit of a hike up to the old town but taxis are plentiful and cheap. Our room was fine and was comfortable enough for a couple of nights. It was at the front of the hotel and overlooked a fairly busy main road but we slept OK despite the fact there was no aircon so we had to leave the window open slightly. The beds were fine and the bathroom good, the walk in shower was great.

The staff though were excellent. We didn’t arrive until fairly late and we hadn’t eaten properly for a while so it was great to discover the café at the front of the hotel served food till 11.00 pm. We had a pretty decent meal and the waiter couldn’t have been more helpful. We were the only ones eating and I can think of umpteen hotels I’ve been to in the past who wouldn’t have been bothered under those circumstances. He even popped back a couple of time to ask if everything was OK and was the wine he’d chosen to our taste. He was a really nice bloke. The reception staff were also very good and found a continental adaptor for us when we said we’d brought an Egyptian one by mistake.

All in all, an excellent start to our holiday and just what we needed to kick things off. Despite the fact the hotel’s not central, I’d recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RossyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Liked hotel. About 10 to 15 minutes stroll to City center. Rooms on top floor do not have access to lifts. But attic rooms were spacious. I had read helpful advice about underground parking. It did not prepare me for surprisingly steep and twisting access to hotel underground parking. Almost 1:1 slope. Caution needed for motorcycles. Even my friends on GS's were wary. On exiting, Get a friend to walk up to open exit shutters before accent. Parking 3 bikes in one generous car space cost only 8 Euro. Lift went down to garage.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AppleSucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Exe Area Central
Hotel Exe Area Central
#37 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Jacobo
Hotel San Jacobo
#55 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santiago Apostol
Hotel Santiago Apostol
#57 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#59 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#22 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#35 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Compostela

Address: Avenida Lugo 213, 15703, Santiago de Compostela, Spain (Formerly Husa Ciudad de Compostela)
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £28 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Compostela 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel located just 10 minutes walk from the historic town centre, via the renowned Rua de San Pedro, the last part of the French 'Camino de Santiago', which, over the centuries and still today, is the natural entrance to Santiago for the Pilgrims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Ciudad De Compostela Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing