We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good service”
Review of Hotel Entrecercas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Entrecercas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Good location and good service”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Nice little albergue close to Cathedral at Santiago de Compostela, the end of the Camino. Nice, very welcoming and friendly staff, including Veronique, who was both helpful and knowledgeable, as well as fluent in a number lf European languages - a great resource! All up, a good little find.

Peter ORourke

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPepperMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    35
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
33
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We read the reviews on this website and booked on the strength of them but I cannot believe that nobody else has commented on the noise from the narrow street on which the hotel is situated! The hotel owners are lovely and as previously stated by many here are VERY friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 1st floor overlooking the street (No. 12 - be warned!) and OK it was Saturday night when we arrived so you might expect it to be be 'lively'. The revelry went on until about 4 in the morning and we later found out there is a club a few yards down the street. We had the windows and shutters firmly closed but were still kept awake. The next two nights were slightly better but there is still the noise of the bars clearing up and the dustbin lorry doing its job and then quite early in the morning the street being washed down.
The shower was 'hit and miss' It was either too hot or very cold if other guests had been using theirs!
The breakfast provided is minimal - jug of orange juice, bread and croissant, tea or coffee and on two out of the three mornings we had plain yoghurt as well - don't know why it wasn't provided the first morning! It would have been lovely to have some fruit with it. However, to be fair we were asked each day if we wanted more.
There was no hairdryer in the room but by using a bit of sign language and the spanish phrasebook the older gentleman on the reception desk was more than happy to provide one. This is an extremely patriotic area and (rightly so) English or any other European language are not widely understood so be prepared to use your phrasebook and attempt to converse in Spanish or indeed in the local Galician dialect.
The hotel is in a great location for exploring the old town which is beautiful and there are numerous bars and restaurants nearby, although I would recommend that you walk just a bit further beyond the street immediately behind the hotel which seems to be "tourist alley"! with its tanks of octopi and lobsters. It is a fish/seafood lovers paradise here by the way!
We had a lovely short break, the weather was fantastic, the people are very friendly - would I use the same hotel again-probably not because of the noise from the street and on walking around we saw others within the old city that seemed to be in quieter locations. Would I recommend Santiango de Compestela as a place to visit - DEFINATELY!
One other bit of advice - don't bother with the land train that runs from the Cathedral Square. It costs 5 Euros each - not much granted - but its hard to understand the English translation, takes you round the bits beyond the old city and through a lot of the modern university campus - well you can do that at home when you take your son/daughter to any uni in this country!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank suepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Just returned from a 4 day break in Santiago de Compostela, staying at Hotel Entrecercas, and the staff were probably the most friendly, helpful and pleasant people one could ever wish to meet.

We arrived late at night and were shown to a ground floor room, which we were uncomfortable with, but upon asking if there was another room available we were quickly shown a room on the top floor without any problem whatsoever, which was great.

Although the building is old, which means the rooms are not massive, the showers, facilities etc are all very modern.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable price, and although limited to orange jucie, croissants, coffee etc, this was enough to start the day with, especially as there are so many bars, cafes & restaurants in the surrounding area.

If you intend to visit and arrive by taxi, make sure you asked to be dropped in the Avenida Rodrigo de Padron, close to the police station, and the hotel is probably only 100 metres walk away. Our taxi driver chose to drop us some distance away which entailed a lengthy walk, through the narrow streets, which at 22:30 we could have done without!

SdC is a really nice & hospitable place, especailly, the old part, and the bars near to Entrecercas are all really good, Marte, Las Vegas etc. If you want to push the boat out a bit, the restauarant in the San Clemente is excellent, tough a little more expensive, but excellent food ( I think I had the biggest steak ever here!) Again, very close to the hotel 500 metres or so.

We can recomend the hotel and it's staff most highly following our stay, and hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Rob & Maria

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

After an extended week in Galicia we spent a few nights in Santiago and stayed here based upon the existing reviews. We were not disappointed.

The hotel made my wife and me and (more importantly) our two children extremely welcome. We had a top floor room with two double beds which placed at either end of a room that stretched the length of the front hotel ensuring we all had our own space.

The location was perfect as, given the hot weather, it enabled us to go out for short walks before the children got too tired and experience the atmosphere of the city. On our first night there was a major street theatre that ran throughout the weekend culminating in a big shown in one of the squares, something that I am sure would have missed if we had been staying further out of town.

The breakfast was typically Spanish (croissants, cereal, coffee, orange juice etc) and the children were given hot milk and cao coca (?) powder which they loved playing chef with. These were the little touches that made our stay memorable.

The hotel is a small family hotel and the staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome and with young children that makes for a perfect holiday

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blacksheep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Having completed the Camino from Leon to Santiago, we had pre-booked two nights at hotel Entrecercas, having had quite a bit of difficulty finding centrally located accommodation for a group.
We were able to check in at midday, which was very convenient, and the hotel has a great location within the old town, with lots of restaurants, bars, shops, green spaces, and the cathedral all very near by.
Breakfast was included in the rate, and was acceptable.
All in all, I felt that it offered poor value for money: the rooms could do with some renovation, the dining space was poorly lit and common areas seemed below par to me.
However at a cheap rate, it might be worth checking out.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MulberrySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We had a great deal of difficulty finding this hotel on the rainy night we arrived in Santiago de Compostela, but when we we did, we were delighted by the friendliness of the staff and its lovely, sophisticated ambiance. My family of four was given a room on the top floor. The severely slanted roof was a little bothersome for my 6'3" husband. Other than that, the room, with two skylights, was very pleasant. Breakfast was a pleasure with gracious, warm service. My two children ages 12 and 13 were made to feel very welcome and especially loved the hot chocolate in the mornings. A favorable New York Times review, which advised booking early, prompted me to contact the hotel and I'm glad I did. The location of the hotel was fine and we had no trouble getting around.
Since we were traveling on a budget, many of the places we had stayed traveling throughout Spain were very basic and forgettable. This hotel, however, seemed more upscale but at an affordable price. Entrecercas was the last place we stayed in Spain and it left a wonderful and lasting impression.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Cloverbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

what a wonderful little hotel perfectly placed and spotlessley clean. stayed for 3 nights could'nt fault it, its very cheap but that doesnt reflect in the service all staff members very helpful( it does help to speak alittle spanish ) The breakfast was orange coffee toast and brioche and you can ask for as much as you like!
costa vella may be the number one place to stay but i would save money and stay in entrecercas (you can go up to costa vella for coffee in its beautiful gardens) cant rate entrecercas highly enough.

  • Liked — comfortable clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#37 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rua Villar
Hotel Rua Villar
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Airas Nunes
Hotel Airas Nunes
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Clemente
Hotel San Clemente
#47 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Entrecercas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Entrecercas

Property: Hotel Entrecercas
Address: Ruela Entrecercas 11, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Entrecercas 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Entrecercas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing