We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travel a lot and rely heavily on tripadvisor to help us decide where we should stay. Therefore, I know how important it is to be as honest and balanced as possible when writing reviews, so please don't dismiss my overwhelmingly positive comments - they are true (I've made equally negative comments about other places I've stayed)!

The staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and relaxed, yet also really professional and efficient. I can honestly say that I've never felt so welcomed and so at home as I did here! We stayed for a week, using Santiago as a base to explore the region and the staff really went out of their way to help us plan day trips and make the most of our stay. The staff really seem to take pride in providing the best service possible here and this is what sets them apart from other hotels. Customer service is simply excellent here!

The hotel is really well located, our room was spotlessly clean, the garden is just lovely and overall the atmosphere is very warm and friendly! As much as anyone can, staff always did their best to anticipate our needs and make us feel as at home as they could. For example, we happened to stay during a heatwave (34 degrees - really unusual for the region) and as the building is dated there is no air conditioning and we got the sun directly into our room in the evenings. However, without even having to ask, we were given a fan for the room and told that if we wished to move to another room if the one we were in was too warm, that could be arranged.

Rooms at the front can be a little noisy but this dies down later at night - this is really the only tiny fault I can find with this hotel. If you go to Santiago, stay here!

Room Tip: Room 205 is at the back of the building and a little quieter than rooms at the front. Plus you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AidenCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    105
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
301
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A lovely hotel!!!! Small and personal (the staff could not be more helpful!). Felt like home and the staff made me feel at home. A great room / bath - spotless, peaceful and relaxing. The best breakfast in an amazing garden setting. Drinks in the garden a joy as well! After 35 days on the Camino this gem was perfect. A very short walk to the Cathedral but away from the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem only stayed 2 nights had the room on ground floor a bit small but spotless and quaint. Gardens fab and breakfast best I have ever had staff lovely and work so hard will be back Anna

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I have done 5 days of the Camino de Santiago through "Walks in Spain". We spent the first night and last 2 nights of our excursion at this hotel. It's a small family run hotel with a real personal touch. It's been transformed into a boutique style hotel but not one bit pretentious. The service and attention of all the staff has been superb. I'd highly recommend to anyone coming to Santiago de Compostela whatever the reason. It's in the old part of town and everything is reachable on foot, including the Cathedral where we witnessed the spectacular Botafumeiro after the Pilgrims mass. If you want a taster of the Camino, this 5 day trip (with as long as you like at either end) is. Well worth doing if you can't afford the month off to do the whole 500 miles. Walks in Spain organised the trip to the letter including sorting out all hotels and transport.

Room Tip: There are rooms over looking the gardens which get the sun in the afternoon. There are also balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimhatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I went to Santiago on a business travel and I will definitely stay at the Costa Vella again if I have the chance. The staff was very kind since the moment of making the reservation. I needed a room for three nights but they did not have enough rooms available at the moment, so they told me in their first email that I would have to move to a different room on my 2nd and 3rd nights. As a compensation, they offered a 10% discount + free breakfast for the 3 nights. After making my first reservation, my plans changed and I decided to stay for 2 extra nights in Santiago but all the rooms were already booked, so they offered the possibility of staying at the Hotel Altair, which is 30 metres away from the Costa Vella. Again, they offered a 10% discount and free breakfast.

- Staff.
They were always helpful and their behaviour was always exquisite. Competent people willing to help.

- The rooms.
I stayed in a single room the first night and then I moved to an attic room. Both of them were spotlessly clean and so where the bathrooms, which were relatively new, since the whole building was refurbished not very long ago. The bed is comfortable and there is a small desk where you can work with your laptop if you need to. Amenities are provided. There is also a small library on the second floor where you can work or relax. Books and travel books are available for the customers to use. The only disadvantage, if you are a light sleeper, is that the rooms are not soundproof, so you might hear the noise of people going up or down the wooden staircase.

- Breakfast.
Here comes the best part. The breakfast includes a hot beverage (coffee, a selection of teas, hot chocolate, etc.) + freshly squeezed orange juice + 1 croissant (grilled or not) + 1 or more pieces of toast made of homemade Galician bread, accompanied with a selection of jams or olive oil and grated tomato or honey or Galician cheese. All this for 5€. You can have breakfast in the small restaurant or out in the beautiful garden. If it's too cold to be outside, you can also have breakfast in the gallery overlooking the garden.

- Location.
The hotel is less than a 10-minute walk from the cathedral and is close to many nice restaurants where you can enjoy local specialties.

In sum, it's good value for money. More than recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volandovoy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is a true oasis. Location is perfect, rooms are spacious (we had attic room). We stayed here for 4 nights in total at the beginning and end of our Camino. The staff here are amazing and so friendly - they cannot do enough for you. Roberts should be proud of himself and team here as they have created an wonderful establishment. The garden is so amazing I almost don't to mention it as it should remain a secret! Many a beautiful sunny afternoon spend in the garden soaking up the sun.

Room Tip: We had the attic room on both stays. 303 Was larger and preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorpe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

to our Camino experience was the Hotel Costa Vella. We stayed 3 nights, 2 of which we had reservations, but arrived early from our pilgrimage to find they had an attic room available. Next day they moved our gear to a room overlooking the gardens. All the staff, particularly Roberto, makes you feel special and all went out of their way to be helpful. Great breakfast, fresh and of a regional flare, 5 minute walk to Cathedral and all the areas to visit and eat are close. We walked to bus station, also very close by. What a great way to end our Camino.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegleg1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing