We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I book this lovely hotel each time I go walking in Spain. I cannot imagine anywhere nicer to end a Camino. The staff are lovely and the breakfast is amazing. There is nothing better than sitting I the bar or their beautiful garden and enjoying a glass of local wine.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a little noisier than the bigger rooms at the back. The rooms at the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    114
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
81
315
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife stayed here for two nights when having finished a long walk on the Camino Portugues. She was so impressed with both the hotel itself and the service performed.
This small hotel is absolutely charmingly decorated. My wife had a room to the street with a small balcony and her very own window box with flowers. There were common rooms with the most wonderful views to the city and the landscapes behind. And views to the fabulous garden. When my wife arrived late afternoon there were many guests - all having a great time between trees, flowers and different works of art. The strongest impression of this beautiful garden was early in the morning - just as the city was waking up. A haven of peace and tranquility - and then outside the walls the tourist-buses were already beginning to unload thousands of visitors.
Also my wife was met with great kindness and helpfulness - instantly feeling welcome and at ease. She had great information on restaurants in the city and was given a much welcome explanation of Spanish tapas-tradition. Also check-out was super - arranged the day before since she was leaving early- and my wife was served a perfect tostada, juice and coffee waiting for the taxi to arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived very early, but received a warm welcome and complimentary coffee in the lovely garden while our cases were whisked away up to our rooms. It is definitely worth paying a little extra for rooms facing the garden - every morning, we could hear the resident blackbird singing in the apple trees, and during our week's stay, we watched the garden coming into bloom. The rooms are compact, but full of character, with a gallery and floor to ceiling windows, and a sofa so we could sit and watch the cafe customers in the garden below. There is a lovely sitting room with lots of books on the second floor. Breakfast was wonderful, coffee and fresh orange juice, toast with cheese and tomatoes, croissants with honey and Santiago tart.
The real jewels in the crown of this hotel were the staff, who just couldn't have done more for us and made us feel like family. They recommended restaurants, booked us a trip to the coast, lent us a knife for our picnic, booked our taxi and gave us a free breakfast when we left, unable to bear the idea of us flying home without a final slice of toast.
You could say that the wooden floors make things a bit noisy at night and that opening the windows means you hear people talking in the garden. Or you can just accept that it all adds to the character of this brilliant little hotel

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I needed somewhere to stay for one night having finished the Camino de Santiago earlier than planned. I had a room on the top floor which had character and was just what I was hoping to find in Santiago. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast which I took in the beautiful garden which has views over the San Francisco monastery. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and loved being so close to the Cathedral and bars/restaurants in Santiago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for one night in September 2013 and it was even better than I anticipated. It is a lovely small hotel with a gorgeous patio/garden. Service was very good and the hotel was clean and comfortable with lots of character and ambiance. It is in an excellent location in Santiago, easy walking distance to everything.....l simply loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubeAncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Had read some great reviews of this small hotel so decided to book. It was a great choice, really friendly staff, lovely breakfast, fantastic views and comfy beds. Good location too being in the main historic pedestrianised area of the city. Shame we had lousy weather but the warmth of the local people made up for it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It was with some trepidation that I arrived in Santiago de Compostela, as my husband revealed he had not actually booked a hotel for our 5 night stay. A visit to the tourist information soon rectified this and the Costa Vella turned out to be a lucky find.
The manager gave us a great deal and our room overlooked the beautiful garden which was full of statues, a pond piled high with fallen apples and plants still in bloom in November.
The room was very clean and comfortable, staff very welcoming and breakfast was continental but very good.
When the bar opened at 8am, it was well frequented by locals who popped in for coffee and cake on their way to work.
We loved our stay at this small, intimate hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,402 reviews
6.7 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing