We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and hospitality in abundance”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is difficult to find but well worth the effort. This hotel was as good as the Paradors due to the most wonderful hospitality by the family owners and the perfect location. If weather permits have breakfast or coffee in the outdoor gardens. Rooms were smaller than Paradors but ambiance and location of hotel is unbeatable. Ask the owners for recommendations on restaurants!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the magnificent gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredtotravel34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this charming hotel based entirely upon previous reviewers' comments and we were delighted to find that we were not in the least disappointed.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the quieter part of the old town but nevertheless very handy for everything you would want to do (5 mins from the cathedral).
The rooms were small but perfectly adequate and for a touristy popular place like Santiago, reasonably priced.
The real selling point to my mind, however is the quality of the staff the friendly welcome and the overall feeling that they truly valued you choosing to stay at their hotel and the pleasure they took from being able to make your stay a happy experience.
The slight downside is that the hotel is a little difficult to locate in a car as it is in that part of the city with restricted vehicular access but, knowing it as we do now, it is possible to get ,more or less, to the front of the hotel for unloading purposes but then to park the car in a public car park 10 mins away.
The Manager recommended us to a tapas bar for lunch and a smart restaurant for dinner both of which proved to be real finds.
All in all a great experience and somewhere that we would without doubt stay again if visiting Santiago.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RoddersDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed one night in this very charming hotel. We reserved a room with a "galleria" that overlooked the garden and loved it. The bedroom itself was a little small, but the galleria added a nice little reading area and the floor to ceiling windows looking out over the garden and the monastery in the distance were really lovely. The breakfast was outstanding and we really enjoyed eating on the porch overlooking the garden. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Only drawback for some might be that it doesn't have an elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

While walking from the bus station, I stopped to see if there were rooms available. The person on the front desk was very friendly and professional. He indicated a room had just become available due to a cancellation. The room,while small, had great finishes and a nice bottle of water along with a bowl of candy. Breakfast served in a room full of windows overlooking beautiful gardens was spectacular. It included fresh orange juice, freshly crushed tomatoes for toast along with cheese, honey and olive oil. The staff could not be more friendly and the facility is extremely well carried for. This truly is 5 star quality service at extremely reasonable prices.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank DeNiro57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Can't say enough about the friendly, hard working staff at this hotel! Antonio greeted us at the desk after a hectic drive into the city to find the hotel at the edge of the old town. As with any ancient old city the roads can be a puzzle until one becomes accustomed to driving even with GPS. Knowing our frustration, he offered to go with my husband to locate the underground parking lot several blocks away which was a great relief after haven driven for more than half a day. That being said the hotel is in a GREAT location with easy walking to the great cathedral & many sites & restaurants.
The hotel is clean, although our room was smaller than most we have had on this month long trip of northern Spain. Had a full length window overlooking street with a pretty window box of flowers, and I was relieved that the street noise wasn't bad with the windows & shutters closed which also allowed for better sleep. There is no elevator or air conditioner which I was concerned about since we had a couple of unusually warmer days than expected. The staff brought up a room fan which helped & it cooled down at night. Breakfast was great with fresh orange juice, good coffee, & many food items to choose from.
The highlight of this hotel is the beautiful garden with fountain & gorgeous flowers, ferns, & tasteful, artistic statuary all blending beautifully together with tables & chairs for guests scattered throughout for beverages & light snacks. What a great way to end the day!
I would gladly recommend to everyone.
Kathy B
NC, USA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The location on the edge of town is perfect. Not as noisy as I've heard some of the hotels closer in town are. Close to parking, where they have an arrangement for 10 euros per night. There is a small restaurant and a bar on site. The garden area is absolutely gorgeous. Great place to have breakfast or enjoy a drink on a day when it isn't raining too hard. The hotel is charming, quaint, yet modern and super clean. It felt very safe with a locked front door at night and then of course the locked room door. The front desk is manned 24 hours a day. The Antonio the owner went above and beyond for us and made our stay very easy and enjoyable. Roberto the breakfast waiter was incredible with his recommendations for things to do as well as giving ideas for breakfast foods. Javier was our nighttime waiter in the bar and he was wonderful too. If I ever return to this town I will definitely plan to stay here again. Oh, and you must try the grilled croissant! Yummmm

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms and all were wonderful. 200 is a gorgeous room with 2 twin beds and a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I book this lovely hotel each time I go walking in Spain. I cannot imagine anywhere nicer to end a Camino. The staff are lovely and the breakfast is amazing. There is nothing better than sitting I the bar or their beautiful garden and enjoying a glass of local wine.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a little noisier than the bigger rooms at the back. The rooms at the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing