We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is true!”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Forres
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything is true!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its easy to be sceptical about some of the venues which appear on tripadvisor, but don't quite living up to their reviews. This certainly was not the case at Costa Vella, which equalled and even surpassed in some places the excellent write-ups that have appeared here.

We were completely new to Santiago, just coming for an explore as my wife has a summer school here in July. We did a bit of research and liked the look of Costa Vella so booked it up and as ever, hoped for the best. Well, the best duly arrived as we got there early at this pretty little hotel and recieved a warm welcome in english (which didn't really serve our purposes as my wife is learning Spanish and finds it difficult when everyone insists on speaking English) and was allowed to store our cases while we went for a coffee and wander whilst our room was cleaned.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was lovely with a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and garden, where we had countless coffees, snacks and drinks. The whole staff were as charming as I've ever come across (just good business sense which does not seem to be that prevalent in this industry anymore) and keen to answer any queries about touring the town or area. We had breakfast each morning on the landing next to our room which had the same spectacular views. The breakfast is simple but hearty and they'll keep feeding you until you explode.

We will most certainly be back to Santiago, we loved the town and the people, but only if we can get rooms here.

Room Tip: We had room 105, great views and right next to the little landing where you can have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    116
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
88
320
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We really liked this hotel; the staff were great, even getting up at 5 AM to get us a taxi when we left. The room was not large, but very clean and with a nice bathroom and bottles of water. We had a room on the "second" (American third) floor, overlooking the street. My husband could sleep through the partying on the street (we arrived on a Saturday), but I used my earplugs. If I went back, I might ask for a quieter room on the garden. We enjoyed the breakfast a lot, with tomato and olive oil for the bread, several kinds of cheese, yogurt, good bread, some sweet breads, and a sort of smashed toasted croissant, and good coffee. They did a large bag of laundry for 9 euros, a necessity after walking. I'd go back. Very well located, a nice walk to the cathedral.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A beautiful Hotel in a tranquilly garden in just 5 minutes walks from the old town and cathedral!
Just the right setting after walking the Camino!

The Boss Mr. Roberto and his Team are going the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction.
This boutique Hotel is a model what Hotels use to be.

Guest are not processed like in chain Hotels but each and every guest is cared for individually.
The price is very reasonable and if I return to Santiago I know where I find a sweet home away from home .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a real gem and we would love to go back. We asked for a quiet room and we were on the top floor and it was lovely and quiet. Our friends had one of the rooms with a view over the gardens both were great.
The staff were wonderful. Breakfast good. I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, but this is a minor thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is difficult to find but well worth the effort. This hotel was as good as the Paradors due to the most wonderful hospitality by the family owners and the perfect location. If weather permits have breakfast or coffee in the outdoor gardens. Rooms were smaller than Paradors but ambiance and location of hotel is unbeatable. Ask the owners for recommendations on restaurants!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the magnificent gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtotravel34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this charming hotel based entirely upon previous reviewers' comments and we were delighted to find that we were not in the least disappointed.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the quieter part of the old town but nevertheless very handy for everything you would want to do (5 mins from the cathedral).
The rooms were small but perfectly adequate and for a touristy popular place like Santiago, reasonably priced.
The real selling point to my mind, however is the quality of the staff the friendly welcome and the overall feeling that they truly valued you choosing to stay at their hotel and the pleasure they took from being able to make your stay a happy experience.
The slight downside is that the hotel is a little difficult to locate in a car as it is in that part of the city with restricted vehicular access but, knowing it as we do now, it is possible to get ,more or less, to the front of the hotel for unloading purposes but then to park the car in a public car park 10 mins away.
The Manager recommended us to a tapas bar for lunch and a smart restaurant for dinner both of which proved to be real finds.
All in all a great experience and somewhere that we would without doubt stay again if visiting Santiago.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RoddersDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed one night in this very charming hotel. We reserved a room with a "galleria" that overlooked the garden and loved it. The bedroom itself was a little small, but the galleria added a nice little reading area and the floor to ceiling windows looking out over the garden and the monastery in the distance were really lovely. The breakfast was outstanding and we really enjoyed eating on the porch overlooking the garden. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Only drawback for some might be that it doesn't have an elevator.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
607 reviews
6.7 mi away
Casa Grande do Bachao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing