We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was what we wanted”
Review of Hotel Rua Villar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rua Villar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had a good experience with this hotel. We wanted something in the old town of Santiago, after we had finished the Camino, and this hotel was ideal. A bonus was that our room overlooked the pilgrims office, so we could look down and see pilgrims enter and relive our own excitement! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we were happy with it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

In the process of staying here nineteen days. Love the location, all of the staff, and the food. The rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable, and nicely appointed. The food is more than I could possibly eat and so delicious. Everyone is extremely friendly and accomodating. Location could not be better.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I found this hotel by providence, as it is located conveniently across from the office in Santiago that provides compostelas. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and -- for pilgrims especially -- the bath tubs are an incredible blessing. The food in the restaurant is wonderful, and the copas des vinos tintos y blancos es muy bueno. I appreciated the restaurant staff greatly.

Gracias Hotel Rua Villar

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank KKainz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

After walking the camino we decided to get a nice hotel and after seeing this hotel across the road from the credentials office we stayed here. First of all the manager had the manners of a pig, he shouted at people staying there, we were also talking to a fellow pilgrim outside the hotel and he told him if he is not buying something in the hotel to move away from it. The rooms were nice and clean but very low ceilings, the food was very expensive for the size of the meals. The room was €100 not including breakfast for the night, we went a 5 minute walk and got a 5* suite hotel including breakfast for €144 euro. Overall

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

In the old part of town, spitting distance from the cathedral and skads of restaurants. Nice sitting areas on each floor and confortable rooms. Very helpful staff. I ordered a glass of wine, and instead of the usual tapa, the waiter brought over a bowl of stew he was very proud the restaurant was serving. It made for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Had two glorious nights in this little haven right beside the Cathedral and the Tourist Office. For location you cannot do better, for comfort you will love it, for welcome and efficiency, they will not disappoint and for general satisfaction, this hotel ticks all the boxes. I would particularly mention the receptionist Christine who took care of some problems we had with late arrival of luggage and a problematic taxi driver, a charming girl and most efficient. We will definitely stay here when we return to Santiago.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachedwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Rua Villar after finishing the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage. Needless to say, I was exhausted and fed up with sleeping bags, rocky bunk beds and snoring. I initailly wanted to stay at the Parador next to the Cathedral, but walked into the cozy Rua Villar hotel on my way to the Praza do Obradoiro and couldn't resist its charm. Eventually, I spent two wonderful, relaxing nights there.

The hotel is located in a narrow street a stone's throw away from the Praza do Obradoiro and the Cathedral. The area is bustling with life: tourists, pilgrims, pigeons, souvenir shops and restaurants are plentiful there. It is not the quietest spot during the day but the noice is not unplesant - it is somehow appropriate and even romantic in a way. The nights, however, are mostly quiet.

My room on the last floor was wonderful: clean, homey, fairly roomy, stylish and practically laid out. I could see the bell tower of the Cathedral from my ceiling window. And hear the bells, too, which, as a pilgrim, I enjoyed very much.

The service was nice. The staff at reception always had a warm welcome and smiles for the guests.

In general, I would say that the Rua do Villar hotel provides great value for money. More importantly, though, it has this special feel to it that one comes to Santiago de Compostela to experience: inside the hotel you feel part of the old town, part of history and part of a beautiful tradition. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Airas Nunes
Hotel Airas Nunes
#43 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
#15 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#37 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rua Villar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rua Villar

Address: Rua Vilar 8-10, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £62 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rua Villar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rua Villar is located in the historical center of Santiago, just 15 meters from the Cathedral. Opened in 2004, which was an eighteenth century manor house, it maintains original features such as the wooden beams and impressive central skylight. It has 15 rooms equipped with bathroom, minibar, telephone, safe, plasma TV, CD and DVD, as well as air conditioning, climate control, free Wi-Fi service, room service, 24-hour reception and a panoramic elevator. It is worth highlighting our important permanent art gallery with works by the most renowned Spanish artists.The excellent location of the hotel is ideal for walking to all the sights of Santiago. The public car park San Clemente is 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rua Villar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rua Villar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing