We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and wonderful view”
Review of Hotel Pombal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pombal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

It was very nice smaller hotel with a beautiful view over the cathedral. It was located just in begin of the historical site of the city, only 5 minutes to go to the cathedral. The room was spacious and comfortable, clean and nice with 2 French windows so we had all the historical sites before us. We parked in one garage and became a discount from the hotel. The breakfast was good, it was buffet with quite much to choose.
Santiago de Compostela, I wish to have more time to stay there. It was wonderful city, stones city. And a little exciting with the pilgrims even if I think now there are not so many pilgrims going the whole way. But still there are who go Camino de Santiago year after year and it take around one month. I wish I could do it self, but 250km is too long for me J

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel Pombal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel.
The pilgrimages are very important to feel Santiago and the spirit of "el camino", but it is not necessary to do 250 miles, and it is not required to make the French way. You can make English way also leaving from Ferrol, which are few more than 100 Kilometers and sufficient to win the "Compostela". You should do it in 4 or 5 days.
We hope to see you soon and offering other time Pousadas.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here twice, before the start of our El Camino in Sarria and at the end of our walk. Great location 5 minutes walk away from the busy centre. Our rooms overlooked the magnificent Cathedral. We left the windows open all night to enjoy the view and the chiming of the bells. Helpful at reception and they spoke English. Breakfast was good value in a small room in the basement.

Room Tip: Book a Cathedral view room, otherwise you are looking over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLE19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were really pleased to have one of two rooms with a terrace overlooking the cathedral, which we really enjoyed. However, the room opened of the reception area and we were woken a few times by comings and goings, loud conversations etc. The hotel itself seemed a bit tired and uninspiring. Breakfast was in a windowless room in the basement and was completely self-service. Nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either.As previous reviewers have said, the location is good - near enough to be convenient and far enough away to be quiet. Would try the Costa Vella next time.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with terraces overlooking the cathedral. If you don't mind a bit of noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boycee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Hotel Pombal was a good choice for us. It was only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and also to the "old town" and all the shops and restaurants, yet away from the hustle and bustle. While on a "main" road and even though we had a room fronting that road, there was not a lot of traffic noise that entered the room. While our room (#11) did not have a view of the cathedral, we were opposite the park across the road. The room was very clean and of very good size. We had three floor-to-ceiling french windows that opened to "romeo & juliet-type balconies". The bathroom was also of reasonable size, a good-sized wardrobe, safe, and writing desk filled out the rest of the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we checked in we were given a chit for free tapas and wine at one of the Pousadas affiliated restaurants, Porta Faxeira.This was a great surprise and it turned out to be an excellent tapas place, so much so that we ate there a few times!
All in all, the Pombal was a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel Pombal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Customer

I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. I hope you will soon have the opportunity to stay another time in Compostela and visit other hotels in the chain, I'm sure you too will love.
I remind you that you could get the best prices through our website. Thanks for thinking of Pousadas when you think of Compostela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Average hotel, room was small but clean. Had a double with a friend and felt like we were sharing a bed the beds were so close together. If in a single a maybe. But the hotel has few amenities, but they do speak English quite well and try to help. Wifi was weak and had to go to the lobby to use.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padre67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. We will use your comments to improve our services, we will review the allocation of twin rooms and today will go to check that the wifi works ok. Thanks for thinking of Pousadas when you think Compostela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Comfortable hotel with a great location v near the cathedral and beside the park. Grand big rooms, some with enormous patios overlooking the cathedral. Nice breakfast with lots of choice. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppers-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel Pombal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy if you enjoyed Santiago from our hotels and restaurants. Thanks for thinking of Pousadas when you think Compostela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Arrived from this hotel 1 week ago and must say that is was the best hotel I have ever stayed in Europe! The staff and view of the cathedral was amazing and very central for all site seeing!! Will definitly stay there again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anxo B, Director General at Hotel Pombal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. Of course we are not the best 3 stars in Europe, but hope you enjoy the best city in Europe with our help.
We wish to see you soon in Santiago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Araguaney
Eurostars Araguaney
#27 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
#14 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#36 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Clemente
Hotel San Clemente
#43 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pombal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pombal

Address: Rua Pombal 12, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £43 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pombal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel, old family house of the compostelana bourgeoisie middle of the last century, enjoys a privileged situation, two hundred meters from the Cathedral, and the famous park "La Alameda", the most important point of reference for the walk and Santiago's leisure. Traditional and intimate court, recreated in every detail the charm of its bourgeois past, showing from most of its rooms, spectacular views of the monumental Pazo de Raxoi and the top of the magnificent baroque facade of the cathedral. HabitacionesCuenta 15 rooms of 2 types, standard and superior, all decorated with antique furniture type and fully equipped with exclusive bathroom, TV, radio, wifi, telephone, desk, safe, minibar, air conditioning and calefacción.Hab . Standard: comfortable and pleasant, with lots of natural light and a considerable size, being oriented to the main facade of the hotel, overlooking Pombal Street. Superior Room. Oriented towards the Cathedral and the park of the "Huertas". Noted for its splendid views, elegance, uniqueness and care details.As you possibility of an extra bed or cot (on request) in the habitaciónServiciosRecepción (24 hours) with walk-Fi and free safe, heating, air conditioning, services laundry, lift, social parlor, parking (charge 8 € / day), WI-FI access throughout the hotel. Welcome advice on car rental, excursions, activities, museums and exhibitions is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pombal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing