We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel on Edge of Old Town”
Review of Hotel Pombal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pombal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Delightful small hotel situated by a park on the fringe of the old town, just 10 mins walk from the Cathedral. The staff were excellent and we had a very pleasant room on the 3rd floor with stunning views of the Cathedral, especially at night!!! Lovely quiet place in a stunning City.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2008

Stayed here in July 2008. Had a large, airy room at the back of the building on the top floor. The staff were lovely , it is a short walk from the cathedral and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatrixIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Having completed the final section of the camino in the company of my eldest son we were booked in in advance at this delightful little hotel just minutes walk from the Cathedral. The reception was most efficient and our large airy room spotless, patio doors opened to a vast balcony with stunning views of the Cathedral. A comprehensive breakfast was served in a simi basement room and we were permitted to vacate our room at mid day which allowed us time to re visit the Cathedral before leaving. We made the mistake of dining the previous evening in the ' secondary' restaurant attached to Parador dos Reis Catolicos ( the main was fully booked) and it was a disaster! Indifferent servicewe have encountered in some Paradors but this was something else again! Add to that the poor quality of the actual food and our disapointment was complete,too late we discovered that we would have been spoiled for choice had we bothered to look, take heed- dont go there!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Pombal and quite honestly could not fault it. It is in a very handy location the rooms are tastefully furnished and above all very clean. The breakfast was very good indeed and the staff all very nice. We had a fantastic view of the city from our bedroom which had two large french windows. I have to add that maybe if you have a room at the front of the hotel - even though it is overlooking a very nice park - the traffic noise might bother you.

Santiago is a delightful city with plenty to do and see for a couple of days. We were very lucky with the weather - I do believe they have quite a lot of rain in that area (I've never seen so many umberella stands - every cafe/shop even the hotel rooms) the hotel will loan you one if it is needed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gwernymynydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2005

This is by far my favorite of any hotel I've stayed at in Spain. The hotel staff was so helpful and friendly, the rooms were beautiful and unique, and breakfast each morning was wonderful. To top it off was the stunning view of the cathedral; the large windows opened right up to it. It was hard to leave that room in Compostela and continue with the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rafagabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.4 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capitol Boutique Hotel
Capitol Boutique Hotel
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#41 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Clemente
Hotel San Clemente
#44 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pombal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pombal

Address: Rua Pombal 12, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pombal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel, old family house of the compostelana bourgeoisie middle of the last century, enjoys a privileged situation, two hundred meters from the Cathedral, and the famous park "La Alameda", the most important point of reference for the walk and Santiago's leisure. Traditional and intimate court, recreated in every detail the charm of its bourgeois past, showing from most of its rooms, spectacular views of the monumental Pazo de Raxoi and the top of the magnificent baroque facade of the cathedral. HabitacionesCuenta 15 rooms of 2 types, standard and superior, all decorated with antique furniture type and fully equipped with exclusive bathroom, TV, radio, wifi, telephone, desk, safe, minibar, air conditioning and calefacción.Hab . Standard: comfortable and pleasant, with lots of natural light and a considerable size, being oriented to the main facade of the hotel, overlooking Pombal Street. Superior Room. Oriented towards the Cathedral and the park of the "Huertas". Noted for its splendid views, elegance, uniqueness and care details.As you possibility of an extra bed or cot (on request) in the habitaciónServiciosRecepción (24 hours) with walk-Fi and free safe, heating, air conditioning, services laundry, lift, social parlor, parking (charge 8 € / day), WI-FI access throughout the hotel. Welcome advice on car rental, excursions, activities, museums and exhibitions is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pombal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing