We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located - comfortable hotel with helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

At the end of our Camino walk it was nice to lie down on a comfortable bed and relax. Hotel is small with breakfast served in a discreet dining area behind reception. My only complaint was access to & from our room. Unless you have a key you cannot exit the bedroom so ensure that all parties have a key of their own. Good value and very close to the location of the bus to the Airport. In spite of reservation expressed above do stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

The staff at this hotel were the rudest we have ever experienced. We have stayed in 2 other hotels nearby and the service was on a different league. the rooms are fine and basic but I could not abide the rudeness. The lady on reception actually rolled her eyes while I looked for a pen to take note of the Wi-Fi password. The weather wasnt great when we stayed and a friend called in to visit us in our room and the receptionist rang constantly to find out when said friend would be leaving and to remind us that the room was for 2 people only.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel location is great, just a few minutes from the Cathedral, the hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. Rooms have A/C and WiFi, so all you need to feel really comfortable. It was also quite, although we had the room facing the main street. All in all, very good for the price!

The only disadvantages were that our room was quite small and we didn't have enough space for our bags and the Tv had only one channel (!) and there was no breakfast pack available, as we did leave very early (before 7am).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serendipity84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

If you want fabulous furnishings, flunkies and bathrobes go to the Parador and pay 4-5 times more (breakfast not included). I paid 36euros per night for a good-sized room, with equally good sized bathroom, excellent continental breakfast included, stayed there several nights. By good sized, I mean not huge but not cramped either. Everything about this hotel is clean and well run and the staff very efficient. Location is just on the edge of the old town, 5 minutes walk from the cathedral. 100 yards from the much more expensive Hotel de Compostela. The two young women on reception, Maria Dolores and Raquel, both speak excellent English and are always ready to help, including train/bus queries, taxi bookings and the best shops for whatever it is you are looking for. OK, if your room is at the front you will get traffic noise but, if you want to avoid that, go and stay somewhere out of town. OK it doesn't have a pool or gym but if you've just walked 500 miles of Camino - who cares? This is a super little hotel and excellent value

Room Tip: Speak to Raquel or Maria Dolores about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel was much better than I expected the staff were very friendly and the breakfst was outstanding. The location is very cloe to the old town and the cathedral. The room was very comfportable and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after we finished hiking the Camino de Santiago - great choice. Just outside the old town and really convenient for everything else as well (buses, shopping, restaurants). Woman at front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice (and ours was quite large, although they varied). The breakfast was amazing. It helped that we brought a bunch of friends along, it was nice having everyone in one place. The price (40e dbl) made it an easy transition from cheap albergues.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

At the price you're paying for this room, you're probably expecting something clean, and reasonably comfortable. And probably, not much else. If you're smart, you're probably doing a quick check to make sure this isn't a dump.

Relax. It isn't a dump. It's pretty nice. It's well-maintained, and clean. There's no air conditioning if that concerns you. Bonuses at this price: The receptionists speak fluent English, and are very helpful. And you're very close to the old city.

Room size is standard European fare. The beds and linens are basic, but far from uncomfortable.

Overall, no complaints. And you get better service than you'd expect for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott_L42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lux Santiago
Lux Santiago
#27 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#18 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Entrecercas
Hotel Entrecercas
#32 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Windsor
Hostal Windsor
#35 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Rua Fonte de Santo Antonio 5, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Avenida 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing