We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant. ”

Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Santiago Center Cultural Bike Tour
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

By which I mean shiny and spectacular. Massive queues for lots and a slightly bouncy infant meant we just had a nosy but it's quite impressive. The amount of gold in there is quite incredible. Outside like many of the churches and public buildings the age of empire building is also evident as it merges into the old town.

Helpful?
Thank MaxOntourLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,174
    1,406
    320
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having travelled extensively round Spain I have seen many beautiful Cathedrals that outshine this one. The outside of the Cathedral is stunning. On the inside it was a mixture of styles and I expected more somehow of a "wow" moment so did feel underwhelmed. Perhaps on my next visit to Santiago when I complete El Camino next year I will feel and experience it differently - hopefully with Botafumeiro in full swing too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
292 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as Dramatic as expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

After walking 500 miles to get here we expected to be over whelmed. Problem is that you end the hike on the side of the building not in the big plaza. You really need to read Mitchner's Iberia first to realize what is in this church. We read it afterwards and we missed a lot of things!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank godofthearmadillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth visiting it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

One of the most impressive and wonderful cathedrals in the world. Worth visiting the roofs with the orgainised visit. It shows a different perspective of the building and the city, with spectacular views of it.

The cathedral is located in the old town, on the beautiful Plaza del Obradoiro square and surrounded by beautiful streets and alleys full of shops and nice places to eat and drink.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maiahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful city - amazing cathederal - the focal point for pilgrims who complete the camino walk - the noon time pilgrim mass is awesome - especially when the incense holder swings the entire length of the cathederal -

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing