We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's just ok but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“It's just ok but not 5 star”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I arrived there with my husband after the cammino. We were planning and hoping to indulge ourselves in a 5 star hotel with all the luxuries this comes with. When we arrived, the receptionist said the pool was not working. this was one of the reasons we had choosen this hotel even if a bit far from the city center compare with the other 5 star hotels. When we got to our room, we were surprised to see that everything was set for 1 person. It was just like the hotel normally uses this room for single use. It was quite big but certainly not a 5 star quality. I had to call 3 times to ask for extra towels, a pair of slippers and extra sampoo since it was 2 of us there!
Overall, not worth the monwy and certainly not a 5 star hotel!
They were polite and clean but certainly not at the level you would normaly expect.
Much better to choose a nice pension in the city (even a 2 star) that is clean and pretty but you pay only 50 euros or so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    194
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
272
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pros:
- underground free parking
- if you are a member you get free wifi and upgrade.
- close to the Alameda park (for running)
- spacious rooms
- good price (€90)

Cons:
- located on isolated area. There are no bars, coffees, or restaurants nearby. You need to walk 10 minutes to get to the center where the cathedral is as well as bars, and restaurants. You could possibly stay closer to the cathedral for the same price.
- bathrooms need an upgrade

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We planned a small travel itiniery in Spain and Italy. Our first stop was Santiago de Compostela, the capital of Galicia in the Northwest of Spain. We arrived from Dublin by Aer Lingus. We tried the new pre-order meal option. There is a choice of Irish breakfast, chicken or beef salad. We both had the chicken salad. The process worked flawless and the salad was delicious. The cost was 7.50 Euro (ca. 10 USD) per person and included a hot drink, like coffee or tea. The flight was pleasant and eventless.

We had informed ourselves about public transport and decided to take the bus operated by Empresa Freire to Praza da Galicia (Plaza de Galicia). The journey took about 45 minutes. A single ticket costs 3 Euro (ca. 4 USD), a return ticket 5.10 Euro (ca. 6.80 USD) per person.

We had a map with us and thought the AC Palacio del Carmen, an Autograph Collection property, was easy to locate. It proofed a bit more difficult than thought. We asked locals for directions. They were helpful, but unfortunately spoke only Spanish. Mine is non existent. We finally found someone, who spoke English. She directed us correctly and within five minutes we arrived at the Palacio del Carmen.

It nestles in a residential area on the outskirts of Santiago's city center.

The hotel is located in a former 15th century convent. In the two original buildings are the reception and small lobby with an internet corner, the bar, fine dining restaurant and meeting rooms located. There is also a new wing with additional rooms. Besides meeting facilities there is also a beautiful fairly large garden, indoor swimming pool, spa and a very small fitness center with Technogym equipment.

The check in was pleasant and conducted in German. The receptionist Karel is from Prague and spoke fluent German. My better half and I have forgotten most of it, since we have been very rarely back to our home country and speak mostly English with each other since we live in Ireland for nearly fourteen years. We were promised a big bed and were very happy about our comfortable king.

The room was located in one of the original buildings.

Each floor is glassed in, airconditioned and a bridge leads to each room.

The entrance category room was simple, but elegant and comfortable.

There were wooden floors and beams, the large bed, a luggage rack, medium sized TV, a large wardrobe and a writing desk. The colors were different shades of brown, beige and ocre. Our view was over the peaceful garden.

One night there was a wedding party and for a moment we feared we would be disturbed by the noise, but the soundproofing was good, so we heard nothing. The room's location guaranteed a restful sleep. It was really quiet.

The bath room was medium sized with a sink, Palacio del Carmen own branded amenities, a comfortable bath tub and shower combination, a bidet and toilet.

The bath tub was wide and not very high, making it easy to get in and out.

The mini bar contained orange and pineapple juice, Mondariz water, Nordic Mist, Coca Cola and Coca Cola Light and San Miguel beer (with and without alcohol). Prices were reasonable. The water cost 1.50 Euro, ca. 2 USD, the rest 2.50 Euro, ca. 3.35 USD.

TV channels were dominantely local. There was BBC World, RT and CNBC.

The air condition was easy to use. It kept up with the heat and worked fast and efficient.

The lightning was mellow, but added to the atmosphere.

24 hour room service was also available.

We went twice to the bar. There are nineteen dishes to choose from. A small selection is available during general opening hours, a larger between 13.30 hours and 15.30 hours and 21.00 hours to 23.00 hours.

We had refreshing sangria, chicken salad with cherry tomatoes and sherry vinaigrette, fresh tomato and tuna salad, Iberian ham in a bread roll with parmesan cheese and dried tomatoes and a seasonal fruit plate with green and watermelon, red grapes, kiwi and pineapple.

All was tasty, fresh and healthy.

Prices were reasonable again. We paid 29.60 Euro (ca. 39.30 USD) and 35.20 Euro (46.70 USD) respectively.

Breakfast was included in our rate. It was every day in the former chapel. The chapel can also be converted into a meeting room.

The room is beautiful with a large mosaic depicting the Archangel Gabriel visiting Mary to tell her she is going to give birth to Jesus.

The windows are high up, letting in the light in an unusual way. The plays between shadow and light are beautiful.

Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice are self service based. There are a Nespresso Coffee machine and three differently colored capsules (red, green and black) available. The colors indicate the strength of the coffee. Red is de-caffeinated, green normal and black strong. I had the last two and enjoyed them. They are smooth and have intense flavors as it is expected from Nespresso.

The buffet contains the continental breakfast, while egg dishes can be ordered a la carte and don't incur an additional charge. We tried the scrambled and baked eggs and French omelet.

Juices on offer were orange, pineapple, peach and raspberry.

The buffet is small, but has everything one could want beside fish. There are cold cuts, cheese, pastries, bread, Tortilla Espanola including condiments, jam, different types of cereal and much more.

All staff was warm, helpful and efficient.

The memories we took home are about a very different place. It's romantic, peaceful and tranquil. It can be as near to the action as you like, though. When you know your way around, you can reach the Cathedral and Old Town within ten minutes walk.

It's definitely on our return list.

Would we stay again here? YES!
Would we recommend this hotel to a friend? YES!

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden, but there are rooms available which overlook the city and cathedral too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Upon arrival the staff were helpful and attentive. We were immediately to my enjoyment upgraded to a gorgeous suite and let me just say WOW! The views from our living room were amazing. Taxi service was immediate to anywhere you wanted to go and very helpful as well. I would stay here again if we go back.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copiercorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Contrary to other reviewers, I found this hotel needs to improve certain features if they want to be rated 5-stars. Let me go over:

>>The hotel is located in a rather isolated area of the City. There is no public transportation available nearby. One must walk three rather-hiily streets to get to the main avenue. (Not so good when you are a Senior!), If you call for a taxi you are subject to a double fare.

>The Hotel should have a Concierge. It is unacceptable that guests must drag their luggage to the front desk and rooms by themselves;

The people at the front desk seems to be, at all times, solving some very "complicated" matters in their computers, because they hardly ever get their faces off the screens to see who passes through.

The rooms are soundproof-less. The floors are wooden with no carpets, therefore, one can hear a guest in the upper floor coming in at a late hour, walking, closing doors, flushing water, etc, etc. Furthermore, space-wise, the rooms are no bigger than any standard room at any 4-star.

>They advertise a Pool, it was not available.

>Given that there is no ready transportation available, the hotel should have a shuttle to take guests back-and-forth to the Cathedral, and the major shopping area.

The good side? Breakfast!, excellent and good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvaro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Similar to another reviewer. we stayed at the Palacio del Carmen at the conclusion of our 30 days on the Camino. It is a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral but the setting is a bit like the Camino itself...peaceful and surrounded by nature. Rooms were extremely comfortable, breakfast excellent, great front desk staff. The parador next to the Cathedral was much, much more expensive at the time of our stay. We will absolutely stay here again after we finish the Porto-Santiago Camino next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel feels luxurious but relaxed. The staff speak fluent English, are knowledgeable about the area and very friendly.

The rooms are on the smallish side, but thats part of the character of the place and you can sense it's history. Very comfortable rooms, nice bathrooms. Luxurious and enjoyable stay.

Great location 5 mins walk from the cathedral.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
Address: Rua Oblatas s/n, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#13 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Carmen, Autograph Collection Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotels Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing