We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality accomodation near Santiago's Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High quality accomodation near Santiago's Old Town”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The staff was very helpful and fluent in English. Nice, quite environment. The buildings are full of history. The room was very clean and big enough. You have a garden view. The bathroom was very big.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    200
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
92
276
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent a week in this wonderful property using Marriott Rewards points. A great base to enjoy Santiago and to tour around Galacia.

Arrival: we took a taxi (fixed price of €21.00) from the airport to the hotel. It only takes about 20 minutes but feels longer with all the twists and turns due to the one way systems. Note that tips do not seem to be a norm here when taking taxis.

Room: we were allocated a lovely room on the third floor with a king size bed. Rooms are well decorated in a style in keeping with the older part of the hotel. No tea/coffee making facilities which appears to be the norm in Spain.

Marriott Rewards: this hotel is a great use of Marriott Reward points and a great place for elites. Our room had a well stocked complementary minibar with beers, juices, sodas and waters. It was restocked daily. "Continental" breakfast is free for elites. This gets you tea/coffee, pastries and bread/toast. For €7 extra you could get the full "buffet": cold meats, fruit and cooked eggs. We were happy with the basic offering (probably as we were eating so late into the evening).

Food: we ate in the lounge and the restaurant. Food was really good and service was lovely. Staff in general are lovely in this hotel. If they wander off and you are waiting for an extra drink or to get the bill just get up and find them...the norm in this part of the world is that you get your coffee and sit at a table as long as you like....when you are done you let them know. Once you get used to it, it is actually very relaxing. Again, tips are not expected.

Location: this hotel has a great location. A short walk to the main attractions and to the train station for day trips to A Coruna or to Vigo. People with difficulty walking will find Santiago very hilly and would probably be better getting taxis from a to b.

Building: what a wonderful building. The breakfast is served in a wonderful light filled room built just off the chapel which is used for functions etc. but the doors were always open so we could walk in and marvel at our wonderful location.

Wifi is a problem. Free in the reception but no service at all was available in our room. This was quite a nuisance. It is funny how I know view wifi as important as hot running water! There appeared to be sockets for a wired connection but we could not check this with our iPad.

A other reviews have noted, the swimming pool is built but there is no water in it...a pity given that it is clear that millions were spent renovating this property.

Tip 1: get your souvenir biscuits in the supermarket across the road rather then in the shops in the old district or at the airport...you will save over 50%!

Tip 2: do a day trip to either A Coruna (30 min by train), or Vigo (90 min by train)...the renfe service was excellent.

Tip 3: finish your evening with tea and cheesecake in the "AC lounge" (it stays open until midnight)... The cheesecake was fantastic. Tea is only €2.00.

This would be a five star review if the wifi was sorted out.

We will return. A great place.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you you might be able to pick up wifi from the reception if you got a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MR_Gold_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is situated about 5/7 minutes from the Cathedral in the lower part of the hill. A very well appointed hall welcomes the guests with impeccably dressed receptionists. 3 lifts to the rooms which are situated along open plan corridors: one feels is on a bridge as one can see the floor below and one has to cross a bridge to each room. Our room faced the back garden. Free Mini-bar stocked with soft drinks. double sinks in the bathroom: him & hers (or his), stool and armchair, comfortable beds although the pillows as usual are too soft for our liking. Abundant breakfast: ham, salami, cheese, Yoghurt, variety of fresh fruit, croissants, toast making facilities, coffee & tea available

Room Tip: a room facing the back garden on the first floor: quieter and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. This hotel is lovely and in a really nice location (though a little hard to find if driving). The walk to the Cathedral is 10-12 minutes, the surrounding area is quiet with a small rushing creek nearby. The hotel staff is exceptionally helpful. The breakfast was excellent.
The decor of the rooms is very inviting. Our room (Rm 110) had a large armchair with ottoman, very comfy. The free parking is also a real plus! A suggestion for a lovely walk....follow the little river/creek in the direction away from the city center. One can walk for a long way, crisscrossing the waterway. The walk is absolutely beautiful and the path is easy. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Palacio del Carmen. It has a great location 10 minutes walk direct to the Cathedral Square. The hotel has ample parking and good rooms. We ate mostly in the bar area because dining in the evening didn't start until 9.00pm. Too late for us and for most folk, of a given age!! Unless you happen top be Spanish. A pity really because we ate lunch in the restaurant with was excellent and we would have eaten in the evening except for the late hour of opening. Annoyingly the bar area also had a restricted menu until the magic 9.00pm hour as well. In spite of that I give the hotel 4 "blobs" because the staff were all excellent and very accommodating. If they opened the restaurant earlier It would have been 5 "blobs". Santiago is a great place to visit and to walk around and we have also been at the height of the pilgrimage "season" when it was really crowded. We enjoyed it with crowds and without crowds! My only request to ensure a third visit to the hotel would be: "please open the restaurant earlier".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palacio del Carmen. As Marriott gold members we were upgraded to a suite - it was outstanding! We only stayed one night but found the entire experience to be first-rate. What really made our stay memorable was the fantastic welcome we received from Karel! He made us feel welcome immediately and served as a personal tour guide - showing us where to find everything on the walking map and giving us little-known tips about the city. Thank you, Karel, for making us feel special. We highly recommend the Palacio del Carmen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Santiago for the second time in April 2009 and stayed here. Fortunately the weather was fantastic and we were able to sit out in the lovely hotel gardens. The rooms were modern and nice. Unfortunately the pool was out of use but the steam room was good. The hotel has modern aspects but still some old characteristic rooms. Only a couple of the staff spoke English and it's very much a Spanish place but that was perfect for us.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1SebastianDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
758 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#1 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
Address: Rua Oblatas s/n, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#13 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Carmen, Autograph Collection Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotels Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing