We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to recover from "our walk"”
Review of Altair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altair Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel was very nice with a serene atmosphere and wonderful staff. Our room was clean and roomy and a great place to recover from our 148 mile walk in 12 days. It was a 10 minute from the cathedral so we went back and forth several times during our stay. Great breakfast. The staff was friendly and patient (we had lots of questions about how to return to Porto). We were also able to have our laundry done quickly. It was perfect! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni57_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is a 19th century house and has been totally and beautifully renovated. The rooms were large, clean and pleasant. The hotel is run by three women and is one of three hotels that they operate in the area. The breakfasts were wonderful and owners were very helpful and accomodating. There was an excellent selection of food items for breakfast and everything is made up for you on request, no self-service items here. The hotel is on located on the edge of the old town and is a short walk to the Cathedral. There are a number of very nice restaurants within about 5 min. of the hotel and the staff are very knowledgeable about the area and have many good recommendations. There is a large and modern parkade a few blocks away for those with a car. A wonderful experience and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were booked to stay at their sister hotel next door, Moure but as it was closed for the off season we were moved next door. The service was warm and friendly, rooms fantastic and breakfast a treat. Great coffee. They were spot on with their dinner recommendation too. Location is mins walk away from the centre but not in the touristy bit with parking not too far away. Highly recommended and thanks for the lovely stay!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked the Moure but were upgraded to the Altair as being out of season and the cancellation of a group booking, we would have been the only guests in the original hotel. We were very happy about it. The hotel is a 19th century house and has been totally redone in contemporary style and is beautifully done. The rooms were big and pleasant and what I particularly liked was that the only mirrors were in the ultra modern bathroom. The breakfasts are great but the three young women who were running it were a delight and could not have been nicer or more helpful. It is a small hotel and they bring you lots of different things for breakfast at your table. It is not self service.
Compostella is on the top of a hill and you need to make sure that your hotel is up in the old town unless that is you want to be climbing up and down quite steep hills. The Altair is ideally placed on the top of the hill but just at the edge of the pedestrian precinct so the taxi from the airport has no problem dropping you at the door - a fixed charge of 21 Euros.
For the price excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Wonderful. Yes, thanks tripadvisor reviewers I concur this is up there with the best. I loved staying at this 3 star rated hotel. Hotel Altair was my final accommodation on my Camino de Santiago walk. Stayed two nights booked through Booking.com.

Located an easy stroll (several minutes) from the Cathedral in the old part of the city.
Well appointed room with modern fittings. Spacious and clean. Excellent WIFI and cable TV reception. Complimentary bottled still water and bottled agua con gas in the minibar. Good quality bathroom products.

The English speaking staff were very helpful going out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. This is the main reason I rate this hotel highly.

For 3 star rating hotel I thought the price was good value.
I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you want to pamper yourself after walking 800km.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in this gorgeous hotel before moving over to the parador and boy were we sorry to leave! The staff were simply wonderful. They looked after us so well and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious, and their artisan jams are a delight. Earl grey jam was served as one of a trio one morning, wow..We wanted to stay in their sister hotel, cassa villa originally, however as they were full, they suggested we stay at the Altair, and we were not disappointed. The rooms were lovely and we could not find a fault. We had lots of lovely wine across the road in the beautiful gardens of the villa casa, and the staff there were equally lovely. We paid a busy back to get some jams to take home with us and the staff again came up trumps checking bus timetable and routes for us. I cannot offer higher praise to the staff of the altair or cassa villa except to say pay them a visit when you are in Santiago. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Deserving of it high rating on trip advisor. The hotel has a nice quiet location but still only a short walk from all the central attractions. The décor is stunning with lots of wood used throughout. Our room was at the top of the hotel and was very comfortable and clean with a very large en suite. The breakfasts were of a very high quality with plenty of choice and very good value, with lots of local produce. Especially enjoyed sampling the different jams and of course the freshly squeezed orange juice, ham, cheese, almond cake, muesli etc.
Do ask Teresa for a nice Spanish brandy from Jerez, a great way to round off an evening, and enjoy a drink in the garden before your evening meal at their sister hotel which is very close. All the staff were delightful and friendly and made our stay really enjoyable.
If I had a negative then it would be a bit too firm a mattress for our taste - maybe a nice deep mattress topper would be a good addition.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the large room on the top floor with a king bed - very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,550 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altair Hotel

Address: Loureiros Street, 12, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altair Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Altair Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing